Pakistan v SA

Proteas bat in Sharjah

2013-10-30 12:30
AB de Villiers (AP)
Sharjah - South African captain AB de Villiers won the toss and decided to bat in the first of five one-day internationals against Pakistan in Sharjah on Wednesday.

CLICK HERE for live commentary and scoring

The Proteas are without their frontline paceman Dale Steyn, who has returned home for a rest, and Hashim Amla, who has also returned home for the birth of his child.

Steyn will return for the third one-day match in Abu Dhabi on November 6.

Robin Peterson is suffering from a viral illness and was not considered for selection.

South Africa included leg-spinner Imran Tahir who took eight wickets in the second Test in Dubai, which the Proteas won to square the two-match series 1-1.

Pakistan included three pacemen in Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz and Sohail Tanveer.

The remaining one-day matches will be played in Dubai (November 1), Abu Dhabi (November 8) and Sharjah (November 11).


South Africa:

Colin Ingram, Graeme Smith, JP Duminy, AB de Villiers (captain), Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.


Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Hafeez, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Umar Amin, Umar Akmal?, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Irfan

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (ENG) and Shozab Raza (PAK)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

ICC match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more on:    proteas  |  pakistan v sa  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

03 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Perth 04:30
12 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Hobart 01:30
24 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Adelaide Oval 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Having shared their two-Test series, who will win the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and South Africa?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.