SA in Australia

SA rewrite history books

2008-12-30 10:05
Email | Print
Winning captain Graeme Smith (Gallo Images)

CLICK HERE FOR THE FINAL SCOREBOARD

South Africa completed a monumental nine wicket victory over Australia in the second Test at the MCG to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

Chasing down a total of 183 on the final day’s play, South African captain Graeme Smith, who led from the front with a gutsy 75, and an out of sorts Neil McKenzie who was still there at the end on 58 not out, made sure that South Africa inflicted a first home series defeat for the all-conquering Australians in 17 years.

Lacking penetration, the Australian bowling never looked like exerting any pressure on the Proteas batting line-up and when Hashim Amla hit the winning runs off Michael Clarke, it capped off one of the most extraordinary Test matches in South African cricket history.

In a match which ebbed and flowed throughout the five days, JP Duminy’s heroic 166 and Dale Steyn’s 76 in the first innings, will go down as the partnership that not only changed the outcome of the match but also the course of history as South Africa basked in the glory of their first ever series win in Australia and as a result, loosened Australia’s grip at the top of international cricket.

South African speedster Dale Steyn was named Man of the Match for his match figures of 10 for 154 and his 76 runs in the first innings.

The third Test in Sydney starts on January 3.

Your Comments

Anonymous User12/30/2008 5:21 PM
Today, you finally did it! How many thousands of hours of practice, planning and hard graft has it taken for you to realise this dream, the dream of engaging the mighty Australians in their own back yard, and with such calm, magnificent skill, without malice, cockiness or brash arrogance, completely and utterly crushing them? You must know that all that time, as you worked and dreamed and planned, there were thousands of people just like me, watching and waiting. Mostly, we were silent and invisible, but we were there nonetheless. We watched you grow and develop. We watched you push through the strange politics of transformation. We watched our much loved familiar hero's leave the game, and enjoyed seeing new young hero's emerge. And, most of the time you seemed to be winning, and we loved it! But every time you went to Australia, we would wake in the wee hours, that sickening mixture of dread and excitement in the pit of the stomach, hoping against hope that THIS TIME, just maybe, things would be different. Mostly, they stayed the same. I was there, clenching my cold cup of coffee, watching in horror as, test after test, especially when it really mattered, the magnificent Australians made the best we had to offer look mediocre! How I seethed at their shameless self-assurance, the way they so enjoyed humiliating us! But not today. In the early hours of this morning, I sat alone in front of the television, the ground outside covered in a hard English frost, so far from my old home in South Africa, and as the winning runs were scored, I wept. You all made me SO proud! It is not just the winning, but the manner of the winning. After Perth I was too afraid to imagine that you could do it again. But I should not have worried. With your magnificent captain leading the way, you showed not just great skill and determination, but all those other great sporting attributes – calmness, concentration, a well-grounded self-belief, and, above all, COURAGE. And in winning so convincingly, though it must have been tempting, I saw no gloating, no mocking, no arrogance; just pure joy. Well done boys. I hope you carry on playing this great game with such passion and pride.
Tony12/30/2008 1:45 PM
I'm a Saffa in Perth - and an extremely proud one today. What the Proteas have acheived today is incredible and full credit to them. I was at the game last week on Perth and could not have been prouder, I got to meet a lot of the guys (including my old mate Makaya) and told them so. But for all the Saffas on here slagging off Australia, note this: there is an Airbus a day landing in Perth full of Saffas moving here. I was in SA a few weeks ago and when I told people I lived in Perth, all they wanted to know is how to get in here. Fact. SA is a great country but Australia is a far, far better place to live.
jonno12/30/2008 1:04 PM
Well done SA, you won well again and showed fine sportsmanship in victory - a rare sight here. Seems the Aussies don't really support their team as much as they would like to have people believe - attendance on day 1 was 63000 and on day 5 was only 6300. Where were all those staunch aussie supporters for the aus team? Fair weather supporters, or just sooking? Well done SA - sterke
Andy Moolman12/30/2008 12:40 PM
Well done the TEAM !! Fantastic !!
Vinny12/30/2008 12:12 PM
Schweet ! No better way to see out a challenging 2008 but with a Bang - You delivered and did the rainbow nation proud ! Give it stick in 2009 ~ UR No.1
Bananna Branch12/30/2008 12:05 PM
Great win and a proud moment for all South Africans, the Aussies are too stupid too admit they lost to a better team, and will still exhibit arrogance in defeat, sad for OZ they all have a chip on their shoulders, wonder why??? Baaaaaaaaaaa Baaaaaaaaaaaa
Ivan12/30/2008 12:02 PM
Im so IMPRESSSSSSED!!!!!!! with the team, how we came back TWICE to WIN both TESTS, is out of this world and something we could only dream about even now feels like one. JP, I consider; is for CRICKET what NELSON IS FOR THE COUNTRY. I was one of the BIG mouths when it came to critizing Graham but I'm so HAPPY he made me swallow all my words. This Victory also helps to show the rest of the world that things are happening in the country the way suporters and players came together at the MCG. FANTASTIC!!! In the past we were never good enough to beat them, today we beat them NOT because they are not good enough but because we are a better TEAM.
Jay12/30/2008 11:54 AM
Just one question. If SA loses or draws the SYDNEY test, then does INDIA become the No1 Ranked Test Side? Surely SA has won more test series consecutively with better results? Please somebody, tell me, as i have a cousin in INDIA who is already starting to cheese me off.
Kantilal Dhanjee12/30/2008 11:49 AM
The arrogant Aussies thought that like the Titanic they would never sink. Our boys have shown them what stuff the SA team is made of. Congratulations to Graeme and the team. Well done. We always knew you could do it. Now for the whitewash to rub the arrogant Aussies' noses in the ground.
tsvangirai12/30/2008 11:47 AM
you see what happens when u clearly criticse Mugabe you start losing games.....the man is the devil i tell u ask me....soz aussies BOB MAGIC WORKS AGAIN.....
Eish12/30/2008 11:01 AM
Well, I"M PROUDLY SOUTH AFRICAN and if u want to be an ex convict so be it........TODAY WE KICKED SOME BUTT!!!! please stay where you are anonymous 7:16, we only need true South Africans in SA. If you wanna be a traitor to your country of birth you are in the right place... PS this is not directed at any other expats that is still supporting their country 100% It is for those who conveniently forget where they come from!!!! GO PROTEAS!!!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 10:43 AM
WELL DONE GUYZ. WE ARE PROUD OF YOU. SAFA MUST GIVE YOU A CHANCE TO PLAY FOR BAFANA BAFANA NEXT YEAR.
victor serifi12/30/2008 10:37 AM
well done guys that's is a good way of finishing 2008 great year you had, well done smith and the whole team, dimmy you rock chana.....
Sulaiman Salie12/30/2008 10:22 AM
What happened to Matilda. She is doing the gumboot dance with the Proteas. What a win. Just luuuuuuuuuv it. Congrat to OUR TEAM From OUR COUNTRY. I WE BELIEVE WE CAN ACHIEVE. Greame captian positive, leading the time from the front. Dale the distroyer, JP the Mr Cool. Agian well done Guys
Dennis12/30/2008 10:11 AM
To Anonymous at 7.16am and other postings. So glad you decided to go to Australia - we need positive and optimistic people in this country. I'm proud of being a South African and always promote my country and it's people wherever I go. Wins such as this are great for the morale of the country celebrate it, don't knock it.
Clinton12/30/2008 10:07 AM
I have to agree with "Daryn" to a point. Leave the Olympics out of it, different types of sport. Yeah we won, but somehow we NEVER do it when it really matters. The only CWC we can say we did well in was in 92, if it was not for the 22 runs of 1 ball...we would have taken the crown. Nice one Proteas!!
ian12/30/2008 10:02 AM
anonymous aussie give credit where its due!! and i don't blame you for staying anonymous (after voicing your support for Aus you must be sooooo ashamed!!!!) aussie aussie aussie, oink oink oink!!!
Andre12/30/2008 10:02 AM
Wonder if the Aussies will use the word "chokers" again
Anonymous User12/30/2008 9:54 AM
100000000000000000000000000000 kudos to Proteas!!
Daryn12/30/2008 9:51 AM
"Mate, I haven't needed to fit in, unlike your other fellow countrymen who feel the need to group together, waving their silly rainbow flags claiming they love for SA, when they live in Australia - I am true blue Australian. Whether you win the 3rd test match or not. We have the last laugh. We're in Australia, and you're not. And how many medals did you guys win in the Olympics again? Hmmmm..... " How did you guys do in the Rugby World Cup? (seeing as you seem intent on swaying away from the cricket) Well done to Smith and the boys! Sterling performance allround!
Pdw12/30/2008 9:40 AM
Well done, boytjies! And to all that are talking of the "invincibles" - I reckon you're the people that say Tyson wouldn't have been so great in the "Golden Age", or Poms lamenting the"hand of God"? TULA WENA, man! I'm just happy SA's got something going, exept WC '07!!! Weereens, mooi, manne, ons is almal trots op julle!
whips excite me12/30/2008 9:26 AM
Wow!! I had a lump in my throat this morning. The dam wall has broken, Aussie now for the taking. JP, Dale, Graeme - you guys stood out. Jacques, Hashim, Neil (finally), Morne, Mark, Makaya, AB, Paul - you guys were solid. I'm proud of you. We're all proud of you.
Eliza12/30/2008 9:25 AM
Australia... who's that?... oh ja, it's that country whose arrogant cricket team just got their butts KICKED!!!!!!!!! by the wonderful SA Cricket team. Well done and hope this winning streak continues into the 1 day series too.
David12/30/2008 9:25 AM
Well done Proteas. I am very proud of your achievements. A small message to Sizwe (Cricket Analyst) all teams lose players (nobody reamins young and able for ever) . In this regard the Proteas have also lost some greats i.e Shaun Pollock (who would still be able to walk into any team), Herschelle Gibbs (unfortunately by his own ill discipline), Allan Donald. This just proves that the Proteas have better depth.
Anonymous Aussie - TO KB @ 8:19am12/30/2008 9:11 AM
Mate, I haven't needed to fit in, unlike your other fellow countrymen who feel the need to group together, waving their silly rainbow flags claiming they love for SA, when they live in Australia - I am true blue Australian. Whether you win the 3rd test match or not. We have the last laugh. We're in Australia, and you're not. And how many medals did you guys win in the Olympics again? Hmmmm.....
kitty12/30/2008 9:10 AM
Well, done boys..You have made us proud...We can only go from strength to strength Shame, poor anonymous..this "god forsaken country" as he put it, beat the supposed "best country in the world"..makes you wonder how great they are after all..Why are you on this site anyway, don't they online news sites in OZ..shame-pies
Piet Geyer12/30/2008 9:10 AM
Now for a whitewash of these bandits!
zingi12/30/2008 9:06 AM
you have done the whole country proud.welldone gremmmmmmmie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pedro Spangenberg12/30/2008 9:02 AM
Congrats Proteas - you did our country proud.
Sizwe CRICKET ANALYST12/30/2008 8:56 AM
What a fantastic win - Q'dos TO SA -- tHO' IT MUST ALSO BE HIGHLIGHTED THAT THIS WIN, HISTORIC AS IT IS, HAS COME AFTER THE AUSSIE 'INVINCIBLES' HAV RETIRED! ... WE CUDN'T COME ANYWHERE CLOSE TO THIS BACK WHEN McGRATH, WARNEY, GILCHRIST, WAUGH BRO'S, HAYDEN & Co. WERE IN THEIR PRIME - THEY ARE MAINLY GONE NOW & DA CURRENT AUS TEAM, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF A FEW LIKE HAYDEN & PONTING, ARE HONESTLY SPEAKING, AVERAGE PLAYERS - AFTER 16 YRS AT THE TOP, THEY WERE FINALLY BROUGHT BACK TO EARTH IN INDIA, AND NOW BY US AS WELL. Q'DOS TO THE SA TEAM THO' - LEGENDS IN THE MAKING, LIKES OF STEYN, DE VILLIERS, DUMINY, AMLA, MORKELS & Co. LET'S HOPE WE CAN TAKE THEIR PLACE
Ian12/30/2008 8:54 AM
Well done gents, well deserved and a memory for life. As most said, clinch the white wash while you on top and drive home that momentum to be No 1. As Mr Mandela said, only sport brings people together and look what it has done for us in SA with Rugby World Cup 95 & 07, Cricket series against England and Australia this year, the best 1 Day International at the Wanderer', our sevens Rugby Team, the African Cup of Nations in 97 or 98 I think it was, gold medals at the Para Olympics, our young BMX rider that made it to the final in America but to name a few. It's so relaxing and pleasing to be a proud SA once again today and to have a postive outlook instead of hearing of all the killings, crime, political warefare, poverty, abuse, economic depression etc that we hear of everyday although it' a reality. Let' cherish this moment for a while as it is a proud one!
flaker12/30/2008 8:53 AM
when i see Duminy play, ijust think of the injustice to D'oliviera. well done proteas
Helen12/30/2008 8:50 AM
Well done Proteas. Without Glen McGrath and Shane Warne, Australia aren't a force to be reckoned with. Can't wait for the English to whip their butts in the Ashes.
kevin12/30/2008 8:46 AM
As a south african on holiday here in oz, what a proud moment it was for me. After watching test after test where we got our asses handed to us by the auzzies we showed our fighting spirit and guts. WELL DONE!!
Jakes Qatar12/30/2008 8:45 AM
This was great, watching every morning from 2 am was worth it
Ming 12/30/2008 8:44 AM
Just 1 more for the top spot guys ....what a way to start the new year =D
Andrew12/30/2008 8:39 AM
What a truly lump in throat experience! To see a united team acknowledge and united supporter base in the stands - really what the new SA is about. The team has excelled at the highest level and remained dilpomatic in their achievements. What role models for all in SA. Well done boys - truly a proud day for SA! Now off to get more coffee to deal with the last 4 days of getting up at 01h00 to watch the game - such a small price to pay though.
To Anonymous at 7.16am12/30/2008 8:39 AM
god-for-saken....country will get better when more negative people like you leave!! Go SA!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 8:38 AM
I'm proud of the South Africans. Just been in Melbourne for a few months, but still and will always be a SA supporter. I was there to watch them and they did themselves proud.
CLINT12/30/2008 8:36 AM
WELL DONE BOYS TRULY FANTASIC
end result optimist12/30/2008 8:33 AM
As we celebrate this awesome result, remember also the greatest one day game in history when SA achieved the seemingly impossible by scoring a world record 435 runs against the same Aussies. This is when the tide turned because it removed the limits on what the potential of this team is. This is truly a great TEAM (Together Everyone Achieves More) because individuals can rise to great heights and their talents unleashed when the right environment is created. This is a reflection on the administrators, the coaches and the captaincy. What a great example to the country, to inspire us all to greater things in 2009!
Ben12/30/2008 8:32 AM
Without getting carried away, this side is destined for greatness. The balance is just about perfect. I still feel Dale is not yet firing on all cylinders in this series. I shudder to think what will happen when he does. Morne is not yet there- again I shudder to think what will happen when he gets on top of his game. Amazing how Makhaya's experience (having lost pace) has come through in this series.
Desrae12/30/2008 8:29 AM
I have waited so long for this day!!! Well done proteas!!!! At last the Aussies are licking their wounds. Go for 3-0!
Suren Chetty12/30/2008 8:29 AM
Awsum stuff guys!!!now i need to get some sleep before the next test...more early mornings...it was so worth it!!!
KB12/30/2008 8:19 AM
To Anonymous at 7.16am - you're obviously fitting in well there in Oz, just another sore loser! Now we just have to win the 3rd test to take over the number 1 position from them and really rub their noses in it, and I believe that the team can do it. Well done to all of them, they've made me feel very proud!!
Moses - played with Dale for the then N.Provincial U/16 team in '96.12/30/2008 8:18 AM
Let me help with the ministerial positions: Smith-president, Neil-min of health(stress relieved), Amla-Water affairs & forestry(no sweat), Kallis- finance(we'r still in the match), AB- intelligence(catches all his way), JP-education(pass rate 100%), Boucher-Safety & security(no byes allowed), Morkel- Home affairs (getting there 4 sure), Harris- Scorpions/Justice/NPA(ask ponting how many cases against him), Steyn-defence and ATTACK(anonymous called it right), Makhaya-foreign affairs( no mo monkey sounds from the aussie crowd....Ha, ha), 12th man + staff( choose anyone u like & I will appoint u a.s.a.p). Thanks lads for we are in this HISTORIC generation.
Easy E 12/30/2008 8:16 AM
2 words Dale Steyn the best fornt line pace bowler today! Well done boys you sure made those Aussie to eat that humble pie in thier own back yard what a whipping! Just keep it comin'
Anonymous User12/30/2008 8:14 AM
It is now time to give the undeveloped talent a go in Sydney, we do not have backup for Dale, that is extremely worrying. Rest Boucher, give De Villiers the gloves, bat Vaughn van Jaarsveld at three and play our only left hand seamer in place of Morkel. Build the future of our cricket on winning foundations.
Anonymous User12/30/2008 8:14 AM
well solly philander just played the Anthem for The Proteas on 567 talk radio and well deserved to our boys !!! well done graham for leading from the front !! and duminy ? you be a star steyn well done ..and to the entire team you did well !!!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 8:13 AM
Fantastic win, fantastic series and I truly believe the start of a fantastic period for SA cricket. It was so good to the the rainbow nation in mini form when the players 'of all colours' went up to the supporters 'of all colours' after the game. Lump in my throat stuff .... I must also add one thing - the Ozzie commentators (I live in Dubai so couldn't listen to the SA chaps) were extremely complimentary of the SA team - including Shane Warne himself. A true compliment to the Proteas when it comes from these guys. All we need is Bafana Bafana to come to the party and SA's major sport teams will be in a very good way.
chris 12/30/2008 8:13 AM
what more could we ask for ? we hope it will flow over to our soccer. VIVA SOUTH AFRICA VIVA!!
Raj Kumar Jatt12/30/2008 8:13 AM
I am in an Indian cricket fan in India, and I am absolutely delighted. Well done SA cricket team. I love when Aussies lose! Go Proteas!
LoReezy12/30/2008 8:13 AM
Great victory boys. You deserve it. A 3-0 white wash would be pretty cool. GO PROTEAS!!
Warick Winter12/30/2008 8:12 AM
Well done boys! What a game what a test. Being the only team to beat Australia in 17 years is great but what is better is we thrashed them. Lets go and win the 3rd test and make it a white wash series. P.S I'm glad I didn't have to choose the man of the match both Dale Steyn and Duminy deserved it equally
PHUMUDZO NETSIANDA12/30/2008 8:12 AM
I DON'T HAVE DSTV BUT EVERY SECOND WAS LIKE I'M IN AUSTRALIA, THANK YOU PROTEAS U ARE THE BEST. YOU ARE NOT ALONE.
kovsie12/30/2008 8:08 AM
Amazing! Well done
mandy12/30/2008 8:07 AM
Congrats for the amazing team effort. So proud! Just shows everyone there playing so well - deserving their spots in the side. Would love to have watched any of it but don't have DSTV. How shocking that our national broadcaster couldn't show some coverage!!
Goli12/30/2008 8:07 AM
Fantastic!!! What a nice feeling! I always knew we are the best... here is the proof! Just keep the bloody politicians away from the team!
Aki12/30/2008 8:06 AM
JP, Dale, Greame that's the killer instict I'm talking about. Well done to the whole team!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 8:06 AM
Woohoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Andrew12/30/2008 8:04 AM
Great , Great and once more Great to whip them ass in them backyard. Glen McGra predicted a 3-0 whitewash for Aus. but he's now eating those prediction. Karl if they can take it back in South Africa next year with the old folks then I will take my hat off for them. Now they know who is Dale Steyn..........arrogant bunch.
Mpho R12/30/2008 8:01 AM
Congrats!!!! What a feat!!!
tpr12/30/2008 8:01 AM
Dear Anon, noooooooo, while i am extremely proud of our boys, take note: Oz is NOT a godforsaken country, it is a place of gr8 spendour and magnificent people (yah yah yah....). i have only very good memories over there with fantastic people i met and plan to visit again in march. but i agree: nothing as a good whipping to wash their mouths for a while.....
Andries 12/30/2008 7:56 AM
I`m proud of you South Africa ! You have rewritten history and gave the Aussies the MENTAL SICKNESS !!! You proved once again that the Protea won`t be trampelled on... Keep up the good work ! Julle is ysters !
Lebogang Malokane12/30/2008 7:56 AM
Brilliant!!!
Steph Australia12/30/2008 7:56 AM
Well done boys!!!! Shouted our lungs out here among the Ozzies. They are going to sulk big time. Can't wait to hear the reasons they give for the loss. hahahahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 7:54 AM
well done boys we are so proud of you, i prayed that we dont get rain to spoil this great victory. for the ex South African living in Australia who said we have nothing to be proud of we have everything to be proud of mate....the so called greatest country in the world is weeping of our success...
Rezah SAin Dubai12/30/2008 7:54 AM
Protea's you made us proud! The Springboks made us proud a moth ago in the Rugby 7's. We are taking the world by storm in sports. Go get them SA. Show the world! We are are a proud nation.
Megan Welsford12/30/2008 7:48 AM
Well done Smith and the team...... am so proud to be a South African today and always !!!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 7:46 AM
Well done Graeme and the boys, I hope that it will be a lesson to other South African Captains in other fields of sport.
Anonymous User12/30/2008 7:46 AM
Graeme for President! Dale, minister of Defence and Attack! JP, minister of... of ... I cannot think...but dont worry I will give you a job as some minister, cos if you can take on the Ausies in cricket like you do, no job is too big! You are doing the nation proud! For once the Ausies prayers for rain could not save them. Well done ! No - not the meat - THE MEN!
Alwyn12/30/2008 7:41 AM
Well done the rainbow boys !!!! We've been waiting for this moment for some time , I've been watching/following cricket since early sixties , but this victory is the sweetest of all !!! You've restored and brought back the interest in cricket (what we've lost after Hansie ) . Cricket is back on my "must watch Sport List " again . Again , well done and congratulations !!!!!!!
Jean from Dubai12/30/2008 7:38 AM
Well done boys! I work with a great deal of Aussies and today they are trying to forget that there even was a test match!! You have made me and my mates here in Dubai very proud. Good luck for the last one, we'll back you all the way!!
veebot12/30/2008 7:36 AM
well done proteas! well done! no sporting feeling beats beating the aussies - at cricket nogal! thank you boys for doing us proud. who's the ch(j)oker now?
Llewellyn12/30/2008 7:32 AM
Thank heavens for the Cricketers. They have provided the solitary shining light of greatness in the blackest, bleakest year-end ever. And now have the chance to carry SA's pride into what promises to an even worse year. If only every other aspect of this country could live up to their standards. But that's expecting faaaaar too much, isn't it??
Stanton 12/30/2008 7:29 AM
Good win, but I do feel that the man of the match award should have been shared between Dale and JP - all over everyone is talking about the both of them. Do we now rest Neil for Ashwell as the series has been clinched, also as Hashim has basically been opening in the last few innings? Or will Mickey simply turn a blind eye....again, as done during the world cup????
David Evans12/30/2008 7:29 AM
The goal for the Proteas is to continue winning on a consistant basis with a gr8 group of young players - something the Springboks have been unable to do with a gr8 group of players! Smith is a CHAMPION! FU to all those South Africans who criticised him for being too "windgat" - all he ever wanted to do was make SA cricket the best in the world. Now we can ALL see how good he really is as a cricketer and a leader. Welcome to South Africa's 2nd golden age in cricket - the 1st one was interupted by apartheid politics.
Dessigen Naidoo12/30/2008 7:28 AM
This has to be the proudest moment for SA cricket & what a way to end 2008!!! The Protea's deserve to be on the top of the world cricket stage going in to 2009 :))))
Janes Swart12/30/2008 7:21 AM
hahaaaa...... It so sweeeeeeet! wll done proteas
GT12/30/2008 7:21 AM
I love SA sports. Am more of a rugby man to be honest but just LOVE when our Proteas kick @ss. Well done boys !!! you make us all very proud. Please stick it to the Aussies again in Sydney !!! Just for fun. hehe
AJ12/30/2008 7:19 AM
Amazing. I'm so excited, getting up this morning was worth it, even though i leave for work at 5:30am. Great one boys! Not so sure about Ponting's days being numbered there anonymous?
kevin12/30/2008 7:16 AM
GREAT STUFF!!! We are very proud of u.at last the aussies can shut up there big fat mouths
Anonymous User12/30/2008 7:16 AM
wow south africa finally beat australia at something. first time you've won in this country, EVER. i'm sorry but that's nothing to be proud of. and this comes from someone born in south africa who left that god-forsaken country to come to australia, the best country in the world. your country is a joke. end of story. aussie aussie aussie, oi oi oi
RR12/30/2008 7:07 AM
geewiz, this was better than beating the All Blacks in Rugby! Whatching pRickey disPointing's face was so rewarding... well done SA hopefully we don't have to talk about quotas and development players any longer, this was class!
Karl Woodhead12/30/2008 7:05 AM
Well done South Africa - you won fair and square. KnoW that we will take it off you very soon though!!!
Johan12/30/2008 6:56 AM
Well done Proteas , wonder what excuse Ricky Ponting has ?
Rina12/30/2008 6:51 AM
Dit wys jou net soos Fanie de Villiers gesê het,sonder Shane Warne en Glenne Mcgra is die Aussies net n gewone span.Proteas julle het "great" gedoen!
JohnIce12/30/2008 6:51 AM
I live in Thailand and have had to put up with arrogant bloody ex-cons for a long time now. Amazingly all of a sudden they are quiet!
Anonymous User12/30/2008 6:42 AM
Many Aussies are going to fold after this defeat, we have probably seen the last of Hayden maybe Symonds and Pontings days are numbered while the Proteas are only starting. Well done Boys! Let's take over the top spot after we whip them in Sydney!
Gerrie12/30/2008 6:34 AM
This is good medicine for the arrogant Australians. They will feel the pain for life .
Warren12/30/2008 6:33 AM
Well done Boys!!! Greame Smith you have matured to the best captain playing today - givem a white wash at sydney
Tony12/30/2008 6:14 AM
OZ bookies weeping as expats reap rewards against long-odds bets on SA series win! LOL richly! Go "Bokke/Blomme"!
David12/30/2008 6:12 AM
just shows, south africa rule at everything
MAC12/30/2008 5:54 AM
What a great day for South Africa. Congrats to the whole team. This is one of the very few times where I wouldnt have minded listening to the Australian commentators who are soo full of themselves.
Jaco Oosthuizen12/30/2008 5:52 AM
What a win. Being tired at work today is definitely worth it watching a great cricket match. Well Done Proteas!!
Francois12/30/2008 5:48 AM
From the start i said.. nothing is over until the last over is over!! Well done team.. you have done us very proud!
Errol H in Canada12/30/2008 5:40 AM
Congratulations on a well deserved victory. Pity I could not seeit on TV or live. Had to be satisfied with "live score" on computer. Thanks to PE Express.
Bryan12/30/2008 5:35 AM
A fantastic effort by the BOYS. No 1 status awaits them after the 3rd test at the SCG in new year. Better than all my christmas presents for sure.
David12/30/2008 5:19 AM
WHAT AN EFFORT, I'M A VERY EMOTIONAL CRICKET FAN THIS MORNING
Magmoed Martin12/30/2008 5:09 AM
What fat lady and what rain.....we as a nation is on top of the world. Well done Biff ! VIVA PROTEAS !
Robin Spengler12/30/2008 5:06 AM
Good service
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Vote

What's given you the greatest satisfaction from the Proteas' tour of Australia?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.