Rudolph to lead South Africa A

2011-03-16 10:20
Jacques Rudolph (Gallo)
Cape Town - Cricket South Africa on Wednesday named Jacques Rudolph of the Nashua Titans as captain of the South Africa A side for next month’s home series against their Bangladeshi counterparts.

“Jacques will lead the team in both the four-day and one-day series,” commented selection convener Andrew Hudson, “although he may not be available for the final one-day match. He has done an excellent job for the Titans this summer both as leader and player and he brings a level of experience that will be invaluable, particularly to the younger players.”

The South Africa A side will be defending a proud record which saw them unbeaten in two away series on the sub-continent last year.

“There were five players we could not consider because of their commitments to the Indian Premier League,” added Hudson. “They are Rilee Rossouw, Jonathan Vandiar, Rusty Theron, Wayne Parnell and Colin Ingram.”

There are interesting new bowling selections in Craig Alexander of the bizhub Highveld Lions and Keshav Maharaj of the Nashua Dolphins as the selectors look to build depth in this area. Alexander is one of the quickest bowlers in the country and has represented South Africa in two under-19 World Cups. Maharaj, a left arm spinner, has come to the fore in the Dolphins’ limited overs campaigns this season. He is also a former SA Schools player.

There is also a return for impressive Nashua Titans seamer Ethy Mbhalati who missed both of last year’s South Africa A tours through injury and a recall for Justin Ontong of the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras who has shown impressive form this season.

Farhaan Behardien, the hard-hitting Nashua Titans all-rounder, also gets a chance at this level.

South Africa A four-day squad: Jacques Rudolph (Nashua Titans, capt), Craig Alexander (bizhub Highveld Lions), Farhaan Behardien (Nashua Titans), Dean Elgar (Chevrolet Knights), Quinton Friend (Nashua Dolphins), Heino Kuhn (Nashua Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Nashua Dolphins), Ethy Mbhalati (Nashua Titans), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), Justin Ontong (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Vernon Philander (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Andrew Puttick (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras), Stiaan van Zyl (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras).

South Africa A one-day squad: Jacques Rudolph (Nashua Titans, capt), Craig Alexander (bizhub Highveld Lions), Farhaan Behardien (Nashua Titans), Loots Bosman (Nashua Dolphins), Dean Elgar (Chevrolet Knights), Imraan Khan (Nashua Dolphins), Heino Kuhn (Nashua Titans), Keshav Maharaj (Nashua Dolphins), Ethy Mbhalati (NashuaTitans), Ryan McLaren (Chevrolet Knights), David Miller (Nashua Dolphins), Vernon Philander (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras).

Read more on:    jacques rudolph

Starc, Boult in CWC swing

17 minutes ago


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

We're down to the semi-finals of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. Who do you see winning the title when all is said and done?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.