Rabada included in SA A squad

2014-06-20 13:56
Kagiso Rabada (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Cricket SA (CSA) on Friday named under-19 fast bowler Kagiso Rabada as one of several new caps in the South Africa 'A' squad to travel to Australia for a series of four-day matches against Australia 'A' as well as a quadrangular limited overs series that also includes India 'A'.

Rabada was one of the stars for South Africa's successful ICC under-19 World Cup campaign earlier this year.

Other players chosen at South Africa 'A' level for the first time were batsmen, David White, Khaya Zondo and Cody Chetty, wicketkeeper Mangaliso Mosehle, left-arm seamer Mthokozisi Shezi and leg-spinner Eddie Leie.

Justin Ontong will captain both the four-day and one-day squads while Proteas squad member Rory Kleinveldt was also included as he starts his comeback from injury.

"It was only a year ago that the South Africa 'A' squad included the likes of Beuran Hendricks and Dane Piedt who have gone on to earn senior national colours, so the opportunity and incentive is there for others to follow suit," CSA selection convenor, Andrew Hudson said.

"The squad for Australia has a nice balance of experience and youthful potential about it and this will be an excellent test for them against Australia 'A' and India 'A', both of whom have assembled very strong squads."

South Africa 'A' four-day squad: Justin Ontong (Cape Cobras, capt), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Marchant de Lange (Titans), Simon Harmer (Warriors), Beuran Hendricks (Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Rory Kleinveldt (Cape Cobras), Heino Kuhn (Titans), Eddie Leie (Highveld Lions), Mangaliso Mosehle (Titans), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Hardus Viljoen (Highveld Lions), David White (Warriors), Khaya Zondo (Dolphins).

South Africa 'A' one-day squad: Justin Ontong (Cape Cobras, capt), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Cody Chetty (Dolphins), Marchant de Lange (Titans), Simon Harmer (Warriors), Beuran Hendricks (Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Rory Kleinveldt (Cape Cobras), Heino Kuhn (Titans), Mangaliso Mosehle (Titans), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Mthokozisi Shezi (Cape Cobras), Vaughn van Jaarsveld (Dolphins).

Management: Khomotso Masubulele (manager), Vincent Barnes (coach), Paul Adams (assistant coach), Craig Govender (physiotherapist), Dieter Swanepoel (fitnesss trainer), Drikus Coertzen (video analyst).

Read more on:    cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Australia won their fifth Cricket World Cup over the weekend. Does it leave a bitter taste in your mouth that the Proteas didn't get to play them?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.