Proteas bowl first in Bloemfontein

2016-02-03 13:07
Eoin Morgan (AFP)

Cape Town - England captain Eoin Morgan has won the toss and elected to bat in the first ODI against South Africa in Bloemfontein.

LIVE: SA v England, 1st ODI

Batsman Jason Roy was passed fit to play and open the batting for England after a back problem in the build-up to the series opener. Stars of England's recent Test series win Joe Root and Ben Stokes will bolster England's batting.

England also picked all-rounder Chris Jordan and seamers Reece Topley and David Willey, and have two spinner options in Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid.

South Africa gave opportunities to seamers Chris Morris and Marchant de Lange after injury problems among their fast bowlers.

Dale Steyn and Kyle Abbott are injured while Kagiso Rabada was rested after a big workload in the Test series.


South Africa 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper), 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (captain), 5 JP Duminy, 6 Rilee Rossouw, 7 Farhaan Behardien, 8 Chris Morris, 9 Morne Morkel 10, Marchant de Lange, 11 Imran Tahir

England 1 Moeen Ali, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (captain), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 David Willey, 11 Reece Topley

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL), Shaun George (RSA)

TV umpire: Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Read more on:    england  |  proteas  |  eoin morgan  |  ab de villiers  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

03 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Perth 04:30
12 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Hobart 01:30
24 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Adelaide Oval 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Should Proteas coach Russell Domingo stay - or go - as national coach?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.