Zim opt to field in first ODI

2014-08-17 09:16
AB de Villiers (Gallo Images)

Bulawayo - Zimbabwe won the toss and elected to field in the first of three one-day internationals against South Africa at an overcast and windy Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo, on Sunday.

LIVE: Zimbabwe v South Africa

AB de Villiers said at the toss he was happy with the decision, and cited the opportunity to capitalise on the dry conditions as his reason.

The selectors have opted for two frontline spinners in Imran Tahir and Aaron Phangiso, while Kyle Abbott makes a return to the ODI squad since making his debut against Pakistan in March 2013.



Elton Chigumbura (captain), Richmond Mutumbami, Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Luke Jongwe, Shingi Masakadza, Neville Madziva, Prosper Utseya, John Nyumbu

South Africa

AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Imran Tahir

Match Officials

Match Referee:  Roshan Mahanama (Sri Lanka)

Standing Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand) & Russell Tiffin (Zimbabwe)

Third Umpire: Jeremiah Matibiri (Zimbabwe)

Fourth Umpire: Chris Phiri (Zimbabwe)

Read more on:    zimbabwe  |  proteas  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

03 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Perth 04:30
12 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Hobart 01:30
24 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Adelaide Oval 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Should Proteas coach Russell Domingo stay - or go - as national coach?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.