Proteas win toss, elect to bowl

2014-08-21 09:14
Faf du Plessis (Gallo Images)
Bulawayo - The Proteas have won the toss and elected to bowl in the third One-Day International (ODI) against Zimbabwe in Bulawayo on Thursday.  

LIVE: Zimbabwe v SA

Rilee Rossouw and Mthokozisi Shezi have been selected to make their ODI debuts, and will be the 112th and 113th caps for South Africa respectively.
Rossouw and Shezi are part of three changes to the Proteas' XI, with Marchant de Lange making a long awaited return to International cricket following a string of injuries. The trio replace Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir. Amla and de Villiers have been rested following a heavy workload in the last few months.
Faf du Plessis is playing in his 50th ODI for South Africa, and will captain the side in de Villiers' absence.  

South Africa XI: Faf du Plessis (captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Kyle Abbott, Aaron Phangiso, Marchant de Lange, Mthokozisi Shezi.
Zimbabwe XI: Elton Chigumbura (captain), Richmond Mutumbami, Sirkandar Butt, Hamilton Masakadza, Sean Williams, Malcolm Waller, Luke Jongwe, Prosper Utseya, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi.

Read more on:    proteas  |  faf du plessis  |  cricket

Stokes brings the 'X factor'

2016-10-25 21:49

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

03 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Perth 04:30
12 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Hobart 01:30
24 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Adelaide Oval 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Should Proteas coach Russell Domingo stay - or go - as national coach?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.