North-South squads settled

2013-12-31 10:15
Paul Adams (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - After a month-long voting period that saw fans choose their favourite players, Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday announced the final squads for the Momentum Multiply State of Origin match that will be played at Newlands on January 4.

Geoffrey Toyana will be in charge of the North Squad while the South Squad will have Paul Adams at the helm.

Both coaches will select their captains and playing eleven for the match.  The playing rules will permit the respective coaches to select a batting XI and a fielding/bowling XI that will allow full use of the players selected by the public.

Following player workload analysis and careful assessment, the CSA Medical Committee has requested Dale Steyn, Morné Morkel and Vernon Philander to be withdrawn from the squads while AB de Villiers will miss out due to surgery needed on his left hand.

"AB fractured his left hand during the IPL in 2011 after which he had a plate inserted to assist with recovery. The plate has started to cause discomfort in his hand and will be surgically removed in the first week of January. The recovery period is usually 3-4 weeks and he should be ready in time for the series against Australia in February," explained Proteas Team Manager, Mohammed Moosajee.

All four players were selected by the public. They will, however, be in attendance at Newlands during the Cell C Festival of Cricket.

The Festival of Cricket is an exciting new event on the South African domestic cricket calendar that will see cricket and entertainment go hand in hand.

Award winning artists such as Prime Circle, Jack Parrow, BlackByrd, The Marc Beling Band and The Graeme Watkins Project will be entertaining fans over the three days.

The festival kicks off on Friday, January 3 with the Proteas taking on the Springboks in a T20 encounter.

On Saturday January 4, two exciting cricket matches will take place. The first will see the nation’s best women players competing in the Momentum Women’s invitational T20 match followed by the Momentum Multiply State of Origin clash between the North and South teams.

The festival concludes on Sunday with an amazing opening round of the T20 Challenge that will feature all six franchises in a triple header.

North squad:

Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Dane Vilas, David Wiese, Faf du Plessis, Graeme Smith, Mangaliso Mosehle, Morné van Wyk, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Ryan McLaren, Simon Harmer, Vaughn van Jaarsveld

South squad:

Beuran Hendricks, Colin Ingram, Daryn Smit, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Hashim Amla, Henry Davids, Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Prenelan Subrayen, Robin Peterson, Thami Tsolekile

Read more on:    csa  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

Featured Blog

The stock of Bulls and Sharks 2014 Super Rugby jerseys are slowly becoming available after the festive season break, writes blogger Baylion.

Latest blogs

What was the No 1 reason for the Proteas losing their ICC World Twenty20 semi-final to India?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.