Narine bolsters Windies

2014-07-04 11:15
Sunil Narine (Gallo Images)

Roseau - Sunil Narine returns to the West Indies fold with the mystery spinner seeking to maintain his stranglehold over New Zealand in the T20 Internationals on Saturday and Sunday at Windsor Park in Dominica.

Narine was declared ineligible by the West Indies Cricket Board for the three Test series, which the tourists won 2-1, due to his inability to join the mandatory training camp ahead of the series.

His decision to stay with the Kolkata Knight Riders reaped dividends with the franchise lifting the Indian Premier League title for the second time in three seasons.

Now though, he has the chance to extend an impressive record of 12 wickets for 120 runs in five T20 Internationals against the Black Caps and also fuel speculation that his presence in the West Indies Test side could have made a critical difference in the series won 2-1 by Brendon McCullum's men.

New Zealand's captain may be tempted to put himself at the top of the order alongside all-rounder Jimmy Neesham given that the trio who shared opening duties in the Tests - Tom Latham, Peter Fulton and Hamish Rutherford - may not be considered ideal for the frenetic pace of the shortest form of the game.

Another hard-hitting all-rounder, Corey Anderson, will finally get his chance to feature in international matches on the tour after being sidelined by a neck injury ahead of the Tests.

It was against the West Indies that Anderson smashed the fastest-ever One-Day International hundred, off 36 balls six months ago in Queenstown, raising expectations for the possible duel between him, Narine and the rest of the home bowling attack that also includes the top-rated T20 International bowler, Samuel Badree.

West Indies will be without their most celebrated power-hitter, Chris Gayle, who is being rested as he continues to struggle with a back injury.

However the return of Kieron Pollard to regional duty for the first time in almost a year and the reputation of captain Darren Sammy as a match-winning ball-beater are sure to heighten the sense of anticipation among Dominican fans looking forward to the first T20 Internationals ever to be played at Windsor Park.


West Indies - Dwayne Smith, Lendl Simmons, Andre Fletcher, Darren Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy (captain), Christopher Barnwell, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Krishmar Santokie, Samuel Badree, Sheldon Cottrell.

New Zealand - Peter Fulton, Tom Latham, Hamish Rutherford, Brendon McCullum (captain), Jimmy Neesham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, B.J. Watling, Mark Craig, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Neil Wagner.

Read more on:    sunil narine  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Australia won their fifth Cricket World Cup over the weekend. Does it leave a bitter taste in your mouth that the Proteas didn't get to play them?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.