New Zealand in SA

Proteas in control in PE

2013-01-11 15:10
Hashim Amla (Gallo Images)
Port Elizabeth - The Proteas are in control of the second Test against New Zealand at tea on Day 1 at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth on Friday.

The hosts were on 191/3 when the umpires called for tea.

Proteas skipper Graeme Smith was been dismissed shortly after reaching his half century, when he was caught by wicketkeeper BJ Watling off the bowling of SA-born Neil Wagner for 54.

Jacques Kallis soon followed his captain back to the pavillion when he was also caught by Watling, this time off the bowling of Doug Bracewell for eight.

Meanwhile, runs flowed freely before lunch as South Africa went into the break on 99/1.

The hosts, who lead the series 1-0, made one forced change to the team which beat New Zealand in Cape Town, with seam bowler Rory Kleinveldt replacing the injured Vernon Philander.

The Black Caps made two changes, fielding a total of three South African-born players.


VIDEO: South Africa v New Zealand: 2nd Test, day 1, latest highlights

Colin Munro, born in Durban, replaced James Franklin, who was suffering from a hamstring injury, and the more aggressive left-arm seamer Neil Wagner took Chris Martin’s place.

Wagner learnt his cricket at Afrikaans High School for Boys in Pretoria and made his first-class debut for Northerns in the 2005/06 season. He represented the National Academy side before plying his trade overseas.

Wicketkeeper BJ Watling hailed from Durban but moved to New Zealand when he was 10.

Facing the first delivery of the morning, Alviro Petersen wasted no time as he edged Trent Boult to the fine-leg boundary for four.

Not long afterwards, though, Proteas captain Graeme Smith was struck on the helmet after he turned his back on a bouncer from Doug Bracewell. Badly shaken, Smith received on-field treatment but was back on his feet soon enough.

The pair ran well between the wickets until Bracewell bowled another short one and Petersen went for the hook shot. His top-edge found the safe hands of Jeetan Patel at fine-leg and Petersen was out for 21.

At 29/1, Hashim Amla joined Smith and steered the hosts safely through to the lunch break.

Smith was unbeaten on 40 and Amla on 32 with both batsmen having scored five boundaries each.


South Africa:

Graeme Smith (captain), Alviro Petersen, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (wk), Francois du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Robin Peterson, Rory Kleinveldt, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel

New Zealand:

Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (captain), Kane Williamson, Dean Brownlie, Daniel Flynn, BJ Watling (wk), Colin Munro, Doug Bracewell, Trent Boult, Jeetan Patel, Neil Wagner

Read more on:    proteas  |  nz in sa  |  graeme smith  |  port elizabeth  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Most Read


Rugby World Cup 2015

All the action from the 2015 RWC, including live coverage of all 48 matches, breaking news, fixtures, results, logs - and much more!


Rugby World Cup 2015

Argentina overpower spirited Tonga
LIVE: Ireland v Italy
As it happened: Tonga 16-45 Argentina
Betham: Future is out of my hands
05 October 2015
India v South Africa, Cuttack 15:30
08 October 2015
India v South Africa, Kolkata 15:30
11 October 2015
India v South Africa, Kanpur 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

The Proteas have crashed to their first-ever ODI series defeat against New Zealand at home. The main reason was... ?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Take a photographical trip down memory lane and remind yourself of how the Springboks fared in their five previous Rugby World Cup campaigns. In addition, pick your all-time Springbok Rugby World Cup Dream Team and you could win R3 000!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.