List of Australian Test captains

2014-12-15 07:32
Steve Smith (AP)

Sydney - List of Australian Test cricket captains after Steven Smith was on Monday named as the 45th skipper:

Dave Gregory (1877-1879)

Billy Murdoch (1880-1890)

Tom Horan (1885)

Hugh Massie (1885)

Jack Blackham (1885-1894)

Tup Scott (1886)

Percy McDonnell (1887-1888)

George Giffen (1894-1895)

Harry Trott (1896-1898)

Joe Darling (1899-1905)

Hugh Trumble (1901-1902)

Monty Noble (1903-1909)

Clem Hill (1910-1912)

Syd Gregory (1912)

Warwick Armstrong (1920-1921)

Herbie Collins (1921-1926)

Warren Bardsley (1926)

Jack Ryder (1928-29)

Bill Woodfull (1930-1934)

Victor Richardson (1935-1936)

Don Bradman (1936-1948)

Bill Brown (1946)

Lindsay Hassett (1949-1953)

Arthur Morris (1951-1954)

Ian Johnson (1954-1956)

Ray Lindwall (1956-1957)

Ian Craig (1957-1958)

Richie Benaud (1958-1963)

Neil Harvey (1961)

Bob Simpson (1964-1978)

Brian Booth (1965-1966)

Bill Lawry (1968-1971)

Barry Jarman (1968)

Ian Chappell (1971-1975)

Greg Chappell (1975-1983)

Graham Yallop (1978-1979)

Kim Hughes (1979-1984)

Allan Border (1984-1994)

Mark Taylor (1994-1999)

Steve Waugh (1999-2004)

Adam Gilchrist (2000-2004)

Ricky Ponting (2004-2010)

Michael Clarke (2011-2014)

Shane Watson (2013)

Steve Smith (2014-)

Read more on:    steve smith  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.