News24

KP in switch-hit rumpus

2012-04-05 14:42

Cape Town – England batsman Kevin Pietersen on Thursday received an official warning over his use of the controversial switch-hit stroke.

The South African-born stroke-player was at the crease during day three of the second Test against Sri Lanka at Colombo, and went on to score 151 as England, 1-0 down in the two-match series, grabbed control of proceedings on the first innings.

Just before reaching his century, Pietersen twice shaped to play that stroke – where a right-hander suddenly turns an effective left-hander – before bowler Tillakaratne Dilshan was in his delivery stride.

On each occasion Dilshan aborted his run-up, leading to a stalemate of sorts.

The umpire at the bowler’s end, Asad Rauf, then officially warned Pietersen to desist – in terms of the warning, England were liable for a five-run penalty if he did it again too early.

It did not stop the single-minded former KwaZulu-Natalian from employing a reverse sweep to bring up his century.

“KP” first demonstrated the stroke against New Zealand some three years ago, registering a meaty six on that occasion but sparking much debate around its legitimacy.

Sport24

Comments
  • marc.potgieter2 - 2012-04-05 15:12

    Please... he is a twat! Even his own team mates dont like him!

      Jono - 2012-04-05 16:00

      next! boring game!

      Bob - 2012-04-05 16:58

      Yes marc a very talented twat.

  • Jacques - 2012-04-05 15:15

    Why the big deal? Surely if it's a skill he learnt he should be allowed to play the shot? I do agree they need to change the laws to bring a balance of power between bat and ball, but to deny the batsman a shot is not on, in my opinion.

      Wesley - 2012-04-05 16:50

      it was before the delivery stride. so its not a shot yet. he needs to slow down which means the square leg umpire and every1 else is in the game is in wrong place. if i ran up to bowl and then during my run up changed to left arm it wud be a no-ball as well

      piet.strydom - 2012-04-05 16:56

      The point is he assumes one position while the bowler is preparing,and then switched during the run-up. He can do that, as long as he does so after the bowler has started his delivery stride. He is not being denied a shot, he is simply forced to play within the rules.

  • Atholl - 2012-04-05 15:24

    'The South African-born stroke-player' - that not true ........South African-born hacker is more accurate ... the controversy proves the point. ..

      Inky - 2012-04-05 19:04

      @ Atholl. If you think KP is a “hacker” then your knowledge of cricket is very limited and possibly you should rather be reading “girly” mags instead of cricket columns.

  • calliedj - 2012-04-05 15:25

    Well, as long as the bowler can also change from around to over the wicket, left hand to right hand, fast to spin, I say let KP does what he wants...

      Bob - 2012-04-05 15:54

      The bowler can bowl from either side of the wicket but he has to indicate which side he going to bowl from, in saying that I personally don't see anything wrong with the batsman switching from left to right. Storm in a teacup I reckon.

      Paulus - 2012-04-05 16:20

      @Bob.. as long as he does it before the before the bowler is in his stride, fine. But KP is doing it close to the end of the bowlers run-up.. in order to try and gain an unfair advantage.

      Inky - 2012-04-05 18:59

      @ Paulus. I believe it works the other way round. The batsman has to wait until the bowler’s back foot must be on the ground during his delivery stride before he can switch his grip and position. The truth is that KP had the Sri Lankans so rattled that in desperation they tried every trick to influence his concentration but as the score books showed he scored a brilliant 150+ despite their best efforts. KP was awesome !

  • Mark - 2012-04-05 15:36

    This is stupid. If he can play a switch-hit, good for him. Sometimes tradition limits potential for advancement and entertainment.

      Nick - 2012-04-05 18:51

      No one is against him playing the switch-hit. It is doing it too early that is the problem. A batsmen cannot change his stance from left to right hander in the middle of the bowlers run-up, but may do so once the bowler is in his delivery stride.

      rushikesh.kale1 - 2012-04-06 15:19

      Well, If he plays a switch hit and ball hit the pad. How umpire will decide the lbw? Will they treat him as left hand batsman or right hand? Rules needs to be changed!

  • Peter - 2012-04-05 15:41

    Well played KP :-)

  • Mathew - 2012-04-05 16:49

    I wish there was a "delete article" button

      Sylvester.Mohloli - 2012-04-05 21:38

      lmao

  • Raymond - 2012-04-05 17:06

    Certainly a ponderous situation. I must admit that I don't entirely know the exact rules, but back to the basics, if a bowler is allowed to go round the wicket in an over or bowl a googly or vary his/her bowling action or speed in a particular over to gain a wicket or even to change the field positioning then why can't a batsman alter his/her stance to create runs by using an altered or unorthodox stance? Is the game about wickets or runs or spectator enjoyment? I suppose it all depends on whether the home or away team gets the most advantage!

  • bmcrystal - 2012-04-05 18:42

    Once a chop always a chop.

  • Owencat - 2012-04-05 19:07

    A bowler is announced to the facing batsmen as either a left or right handed bowler each over. Should a batsmen have to do the same by announcing if he is on strike left or right handed? There's nothing wrongwith a switch hit, as long as it is executed once the bowler is in his delivery stride, otherwise its a distraction to the bowler Same as a fielder jumping up and down waving his hands as the bowler is a distraction to the batsmen. The rules must be fair to the batsmen and the bowler. KP may have his detractors but he can score runs and score them quick. Good him for showing some innovation.

  • Stewart - 2012-04-05 19:18

    Ok, then let me run in and change my run-up to go behind the umpire and then bowl;-)

  • Michael Kleber - 2012-04-06 06:03

    KP scored 150 runs and has scored the most 100 for any batsmen for England now here is the irony a few months ago England played Pakistan and in that series KP averaged 11 on twitter there was alot of poms slating him and telling him to return to SA as he is not an Englishman etc this was in twitter now he is being cheered even Piers Morgan has jumped on the bandwagon sating is more of an Englishman than himself .

  • Wayne - 2012-04-06 07:38

    Scoring 150+ in any test match against Sri Lanka is pretty good for any player, let alone for a "twat". Is there anything in the rules of cricket that forbids the switch hit? If so, why wasnt it banned when he first introduced it 3 years ago? Would he have been warned had he employed the shot earlier in his innings if say he was on 20?

  • Zion - 2012-04-06 11:09

    Go to any lengths to win: Is that not our motto too?

  • pages:
  • 1