India in SA

India too strong for SA

2011-01-09 18:15

Durban - India's innings of 168 proved to be too many for the Proteas, who failed in their bid to win the T20 International in Durban where the visiting nation won by 21 runs.

Morné van Wyk hit the fastest half-century by a South African in a T20 match, but his 67 from 39 balls was not enough as India took 4-20 in 3.4 overs in the middle of the innings to restrict the home team to 147-9, well short of India's 168-6.

Van Wyk reached 50 off 24 balls for the new record, but Ashish Nehra and Yusuf Pathan took two wickets each to rein in South Africa.

Earlier, Rohit Sharma made 53 and Suresh Raina added 41 for India to set South Africa a victory target of 169 in the first cricket match at Durban's Moses Mabhida Stadium, one of the venues for the 2010 football World Cup.

In his final international performance, Protea Makhaya Ntini, despite having little influence with ball or bat in the match, received prolonged applause and cries of support and thanks during a golf buggy-led lap of the pitch.


V. Kohli b Botha 28

M. Vijay c Van Wyk b Parnell 14

R. Sharma c Ntini b Duminy 53

Yuvraj Singh run out (Miller) 12

Y. Pathan b Theron 6

S. Raina c Miller b Theron 41

M. Dhoni not out 10

Extras (lb1, w3) 4

Total (6 wkts, 20 overs) 168

Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Vijay), 2-67 (Kohli), 3-109 (Sharma), 4-110 (Yuvraj), 5-136 (Pathan), 6-168 (Raina)

Bowling: Parnell 4-0-25-1 (w1), Ntini 4-0-46-0, Theron 4-0-39-2 (w1), Peterson 3-0-20-0 (w1), Botha 3-0-25-1, Duminy 2-0-12-1

Did not bat: R. Ashwin, P. Kumar, A. Nehra, M. Patel.

South Africa

M. van Wyk c Nehra b Kumar 67

H. Amla b Nehra 1

C. Ingram c Kumar b Patel 2

A. de Villiers run out (Raina) 14

J. Duminy lbw b Yuvraj 0

D. Miller lbw b Pathan 10

J. Botha c Sharma b Nehra 25

R. Peterson c Kohli b Pathan 2

W. Parnell c Pathan b Ashwin 14

J. Theron not out 1

M. Ntini not out 1

Extras (b4, lb3, w3) 10

Total (9 wkts, 20 overs) 147

Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Amla), 2-31 (Ingram), 3-88 (De Villiers), 4-89 (Duminy), 5-93 (Van Wyk), 6-108 (Miller), 7-120 (Peterson), 8-141 (Parnell), 9-144 (Botha)

Bowling: Kumar 3-0-17-1 (w1), Nehra 4-0-22-2, Patel 2-0-26-1, Ashwin 4-0-33-1 (w2), Yuvraj 4-0-20-1, Pathan 3-0-22-2

Result: India won by 21 runs

Toss: India

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, Brian Jerling (both RSA)

TV umpire: Johan Cloete (RSA)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Jacques Kallis' decision to retire from Test cricket after the Boxing Day match against India is...

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.