India in SA

India post tough total

2011-01-09 16:22
Durban - South Africa's batsmen will have their work cut out chasing India's challenging total of 168 in the T20 international at Moses Mabhida Stadium.

India's innings was punctuated by some big blows both straight down the elongated Moses Mabhida ground, and square of the wicket, with openers Virat Kohli and Murali Vijay putting Protea bowlers Wayne Parnell and Makhaya Ntini to the sword early on.

Kohli in particular took advantage of the lack of swing to score 28 runs off just 19 deliveries, including 5 boundaries.

After Kohli fell to Protea skipper Johan Botha, who bowled him with a delivery that didn't lift off a length, India's Rohit Sharma continued to attack, scoring a magnificent 53 off just 34 balls, which included 5 boundaries and 2 sixes.

He was eventually to fall to JP Duminy, after being caught on the long-on boundary by match beneficiary Makhaya Ntini.

Ntini, for whom this is a last international performance, returned average figures of 0/46 in his four overs, but his performance did not diminish the rapturous applause from the 50 000 strong crowd at the Moses Mabhida Stadium.

Suresh Raina posted a quick-fire 41 to take India to an innings total of 168/6, which should prove to be a challenging total on a low, slow wicket.


V. Kohli b Botha 28

M. Vijay c Van Wyk b Parnell 14

R. Sharma c Ntini b Duminy 53

Yuvraj Singh run out (Miller) 12

Y. Pathan b Theron 6

S. Raina c Miller b Theron 41

M. Dhoni not out 10

Extras (lb1, w3) 4

Total (6 wkts, 20 overs) 168

Fall of wickets: 1-18 (Vijay), 2-67 (Kohli), 3-109 (Sharma), 4-110 (Yuvraj), 5-136 (Pathan), 6-168 (Raina)

Bowling: Parnell 4-0-25-1 (w1), Ntini 4-0-46-0, Theron 4-0-39-2 (w1), Peterson 3-0-20-0 (w1), Botha 3-0-25-1, Duminy 2-0-12-1

Did not bat: R. Ashwin, P. Kumar, A. Nehra, M. Patel.

South Africa: Johan Botha (capt), Hashim Amla, Morne van Wyk, AB de Villiers (wkt), JP Duminy, Colin Ingram, David Miller, Robin Peterson, Wayne Parnell, Rusty Theron, Makhaya Ntini.

Toss: India

Match situation: South Africa need 169 to win

Umpires: Marais Erasmus, Brian Jerling (both RSA)

TV umpire: Johan Cloete (RSA)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more on:    makhaya ntini  |  india in sa


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

02 October 2015
India v South Africa, Dharamshala 10:00
05 October 2015
India v South Africa, Cuttack 10:00
08 October 2015
India v South Africa, Kolkata 10:00
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Jacques Kallis' decision to retire from Test cricket after the Boxing Day match against India is...

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.