India bank on youth

2011-11-28 10:02
Rohit Sharma (File)

Cuttack - World champions India will count on their young stars to deliver when they take on fast-improving West Indies in a one-day series starting in Cuttack on Tuesday.

The hosts have rested batting superstar Sachin Tendulkar and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni for the five-match series, picking instead young batsmen Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane.

Kohli scored half-centuries in each innings of the drawn third and final Test in Mumbai last week that helped India clinch the series 2-0.

India, with explosive opener Virender Sehwag as stand-in captain, will look to extend their excellent run at the Barabati stadium in Cuttack where they have lost only four of their 14 one-day internationals.

Former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar said he was excited by the new-look home team.

"We now move our focus to the young batsmen in the team," Vengsarkar wrote in the Times of India.

"With Sehwag all set to lead India, the one-dayers should provide for more entertainment, what with the West Indies having gained a lot of positives from the Test series."

The man in the spotlight will be newcomer Ravichandran Ashwin, who grabbed 22 wickets with his off-spin in his debut Test series and also scored a century in Mumbai.

The West Indies showed much improvement in the last two Tests at Kolkata and Mumbai, but skipper Darren Sammy wanted his side to be more consistent in the one-dayers.

The tourists scored 463 in their second innings at Kolkata and 590 in the first innings at Mumbai, with young Darren Bravo smashing centuries in both matches to announce his arrival on the big stage.

"As a team we are making some strides, but we still need more consistency," said Sammy.

"We did some good things earlier this year against Pakistan and India at home and we beat Bangladesh in Bangladesh last month. We came here and competed in the Tests against India, but did not capitalise on the key moments."

Hard-hitting all-rounder Kieron Pollard returns to the West Indies squad where batsman Jason Mohammed and off-spinner Sunil Narine are the new faces.

The remaining matches will be played in Visakhapatnam (December 2), Ahmedabad (December 5), Indore (December 8) and Chennai (December 11).


India (from): Virender Sehwag (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, Vinay Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul Sharma.

West Indies (from): Darren Sammy (capt), Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Danza Hyatt, Anthony Martin, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Kieran Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons.


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.