Mumbai thrash Bangalore

2010-04-17 20:31
JP Duminy (Gallo)
Bangalore - The Mumbai Indians solidified their position atop the IPL standings as they thrashed the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 57 runs in their match at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore on Saturday.

Bangalore, chasing Mumbai’s daunting score of 191 for four, never looked like overhauling the total as they suffered a batting collapse before stuttering to 134 for nine.

The win moves Mumbai to 20 points, six ahead of Bangalore who hold on to second place on the log after completing their group fixtures.

The heavy defeat has drastically altered Bangalore’s net run-rate and they keep a close eye on the IPL’s remaining group fixtures to see if they can hold on to their home semifinal.

Jacques Kallis (14) and Manish Pandey (16) provided Bangalore with a reasonable start as their first-wicket stand produced 30 runs, the highest of the innings.

However, Pandey was caught at mind-on off the bowling of Dilhara Fernando before Kallis was bowled by Ryan McLaren to herald to start of a slide that saw the home side lose seven wickets for the addition of 77 runs.

Rahul Dravid (16) chipped a delivery from off-spinner Harbhajan Singh to midwicket before the same bowler accounted for the dangerous Kevin Pietersen (21) when the batsman sliced a ball to Saurabh Tiwary at long-off.

Matters did not improve for the home side when Robin Uthappa (4) smashed a delivery from medium-pacer Kieron Pollard down long-off’s throat as Bangalore slumped to 74 for five.

Virat Kohli was the only other batsman to reach double figures as he top-scored with 37 before he became the eighth wicket to fall when he skied a delivery from Pollard to keeper Aditya Tare.

Pollard finished the match with three for 28 while Fernando and Harbhajan returned figures of two for 24 and two for 28 respectively.

Earlier, a late assault from JP Duminy helped Mumbai to their final total.

Duminy thundered to 42 not out off 19 balls while smashing three fours and three sixes and he particularly enjoyed the bowling of countryman Kallis as the left-handed batsman thrashed 19 runs off the 18th over of the innings bowled by Kallis.

Duminy’s fireworks ensured that Mumbai scored 39 off the last three overs of their innings as he shared in an unbroken fifth-wicket stand of 49 with Abhishek Nayar with Nayar contributing just nine runs.

The start of the match was delayed by an hour because of a bomb blast outside the stadium and when play did get underway Bangalore captain Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to field first.

After Mumbai had stuttered to 46 for one after eight overs the right-handed Ambati Rayudu took the attack to the bowlers as he thumped 17 runs off the ninth over, bowled by seamer Pankaj Singh.

The 24-year-old batsman raced to 46 off 27 balls before he skied a Kallis delivery which allowed the bowler to complete a regulation caught and bowled effort.

Rayudu and Ryan McLaren, promoted up the order to open the batting, had put on 69 runs for the second wicket off just 6.5 overs to propel the visitors to 103 for two.

Pollard took up the challenge by thrashing 20 off seven balls before being trapped leg-before by Kumble while McLaren eventually fell for a patient 40 off 42 balls when he was out lbw to off-spinner Pietersen.

Kallis ended with figures of two for 41 while speedster Dale Steyn bowled impressively to finish with the economical figures of none for 18 off four overs.


Bangalore Royal Challengers: JH Kallis, MK Pandey, KP Pietersen, RV Uthappa (wk), LRPL Taylor, V Kohli, R Dravid, R Vinay Kumar, Pankaj Singh, A Kumble (capt), DW Steyn

Mumbai Indians: SR Tendulkar (capt), AT Rayudu, SS Tiwary, JP Duminy, R McLaren, KA Pollard, AP Tare (wk), Harbhajan Singh, AM Nayar, Z Khan, CRD Fernando

Read more on:    ipl  |  jp duminy  |  mumbai indians

De Kock signs for Titans

2015-05-26 10:06


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.