Kolkata close in on playoffs

2012-05-16 21:20
Sunil Narine (AP)

Mumbai - West Indian spinner Sunil Narine finished with 4-15 as the Kolkata Knight Riders beat the Mumbai Indians by 32 runs to virtually ensure an Indian Premier League playoff berth on Wednesday.

Narine took the important wickets of Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma, while South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis removed the dangerous West Indian pair of Kieron Pollard and Dwayne Smith in successive deliveries for Kolkata to bowl out Mumbai or 108 in 19.1 overs after having scored 140-7.

Kolkata are second behind the Delhi Daredevils in the standings with nine wins, five losses and a no-result, plus a healthy net run rate of +.478 that should be enough to advance. Mumbai are still in contention with nine wins and six losses.

Kolkata's spinners were in control after Narine bowled Tendulkar for 27 with a ball that turned sharply to strike the batsman's thigh and then the stumps. Narine removed Sharma for 12 and also accounted for Harbhajan Singh and Rudra Pratap Singh.

"I'm living a dream at the moment and my hard work is paying off," Narine said. "Hopefully it will continue. I wasn't too worried about the wickets. I knew they would help me but not as much as this."

Earlier, the Kolkata innings was steadied by No 4 batsman Manoj Tiwary's knock of 41.

Mumbai left-arm seamer Rudra Pratap Singh produced two strikes to reduce the visiting side to 6-2 in the second over before Tiwary rescued his team. Singh struck with his second ball when he trapped opener Brendon McCullum lbw and then bowled Kallis in the next ball.

Tiwary hit two sixes and two fours in 43 deliveries but failed to forge a big partnership. Opener Gautam Gambhir was the second highest scorer with a 23-ball 27, while the big-hitting Yusuf Pathan played a relatively restrained knock of a run-a-ball 21.


Kolkata Knight Riders 140-7 (Manoj Tiwary 41, Gautam Gambhir 27; Rudra Pratap Singh 2-33) def. Mumbai Indians 108 in 19.1 overs (Sachin Tendulkar 27; Sunil Narine 4-15, Lakshmipathy Balaji 2-11, Jacques Kallis 2-32).

Read more on:    ipl  |  sunil narine  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.