Knight Riders secure second

2012-05-19 23:17
The Kolkata Knight Riders bowled and fielded tenaciously, as they defeated the struggling Pune Warriors by 34 runs in their IPL encounter at the Subrata Roy Stadium on Saturday.

Having won the toss and elected to bat, Kolkata found the going tough on a low and slow pitch as they notched 136 for four, before a fine effort with the ball kept their hosts to just 102 for eight.

Pune never recovered from losing the trio of Michael Clarke (13), Jesse Ryder (22) and skipper Saurav Ganguly in quick succession. Ryder was the top scorer, as none of the batsemn could get going on the slow track.

Earlier, the Knight Riders had also lost wickets at the start, with skipper Gautum Gambhir out for just ten, snaffled in the deep by Ashish Nehra, after the first four overs allotted just 21 runs.

Jacques Kallis was bowled by Clarke for just 13, before Brendon McCullum (41) and Shakib Al Hasan compiled a needed 67 for the third wicket.

McCullum, with five fours in a becalmed knock of 43 balls, became Wayne Parnell's second victim in the 17th over, caught by Jesse Ryder. Hasan was then castled by Kumar ten runs later, as the Knight Riders couldn't kick on in their closing overs.

Parnell snared 2-18, mixing up his pace well.

In reply, however, Pune couldn't break their eight-match losing streak. Robin Uthappa went early, before Clarke was stumped off a wide by Yusuf Pathan. Ryder (22) was then bowled as he tried to up the tempo off the same bowler.

The last hope for Pune was captain Ganguly, but the veteran was trapped in front by Al Hasan for just five. AL Hasan added fine figures of 2-18 to his crucial knock with the bat.

The run rate escalated out of control for the Warriors, as spinner Surin Narine kept up the pressure. It was only a question of how big the margin would be when Pune lost Ferguson at the end of the 17th over, with the total on 92.

Narine and Balaji each grabbed a wicket before the death, as the Knight Riders secured a crucial win to confirm their number two spot in the standings.

For Pune, it was a ninth loss in a row in a grim campaign.

PUNE WARRIORS: Saurav Ganguly (capt), Jesse Ryder, Michael Clarke, Robin Uthappa (wk), A Majumdar, Callum Ferguson, Harpreet Singh, Wayne Parnell, B Kumar, Ali Murtaza, Ashish Nehra.

KOLKATA KNIGHT RIDERS: Gautum Gambhir (capt), Brendon McCullum, Jacques Kallis, Manoj Tiwary, Shakib Al Hasan, Yusuf Pathan, Debabrata Das, Rajat Bhatia, Iqbal Abdulla, Surin Narine, Lakshmipathy Balaji. 

Read more on:    kolkata knight riders  |  ipl  |  cricket


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.