Gayle hammers Mumbai

2012-05-09 20:26
Chris Gayle (AP)

Mumbai - West Indian Chris Gayle smashed 82 not out to lead the Royal Challengers Bangalore to a nine-wicket win over the Mumbai Indians on Wednesday and top the list of run-scorers in the Indian Premier League this season.

Gayle now has 515 runs, leading Virender Sehwag (468), after hitting six sixes and five fours in 59 balls. Bangalore restricted Mumbai to 141-6 at the Wankhede Stadium and then scored 142-1 in 18 overs.

Gayle, who was dropped on 21 by compatriot Dwayne Smith off Harbhajan Singh, added 94 in an unbroken second-wicket stand with captain Virat Kohli (36 not out).

He struck three consecutive sixes off left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha and perfectly executed the pull shot off the pace bowlers.

"We knew we had to see off (Lasith) Malinga early on and then build the innings," Gayle said. "We were expecting two overs up front from him but he bowled three."

Earlier, seamer Vinay Kumar and spinner Muttiah Muralitharan came up with timely wickets after Mumbai had been sent in to bat.

Opener James Franklin (1) and Rohit Sharma (0) fell cheaply to Kumar. Franklin slashed at a delivery and was caught by Zaheer Khan at third man, while Sharma was trapped lbw three deliveries later as Mumbai were reduced to 2-2 in the second over.

Sachin Tendulkar hit three successive fours off Kumar in his innings of 24, and Dinesh Karthik scored 44 from 39 balls to steady the innings.

Muralitharan dismissed Karthik and Dwayne Smith in consecutive balls, but unbeaten cameos from West Indian all-rounder Kieron Pollard (21 off 13) and captain Harbhajan Singh (20 off 12) took Mumbai to a competitive score.

Pollard scored 18 off the last over from Kumar, smashing two sixes to the square-leg boundary.

The win lifted Bangalore to fourth in the nine-team league with six wins, five losses and one no-result from 12 games. Mumbai remain third with seven wins and five losses from 12 outings.


Bangalore 142-1 in 18 overs (Chris Gayle 82 not out, Virat Kohli 36 not out) def. Mumbai Indians 141-6 (Dinesh Karthik 44; Muttiah Muralitharan 2-24, Harshal Patel 2-24, Vinay Kumar 2-34).

Read more on:    ipl  |  chris gayle  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.