News24

Criminal charge against Warne

2011-05-15 20:26

New Delhi - A local cricket association is set to lodge a criminal complaint against Australian bowling legend Shane Warne for his part in a bust-up with an official, reports said on Sunday.

Warne, captain of the Rajasthan Royals team in the Indian Premier League, was involved in an angry exchange with Sanjay Dixit, secretary of the Rajasthan state cricket association, following his team's defeat at home on Wednesday.

Leg-spinner Warne on Saturday apologised for the incident but the Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) said they would still lodge the complaint, the Press Trust of India (PTI) news agency reported.

"It is an aggravated offence and it needs to be dealt with like that. Some kind of disciplinary action is to be taken," PTI quoted Dixit as saying.

Rajasthan Royals chief executive Sean Morris on Saturday said in an email to Dixit that the franchise had taken action against Warne.

"The player has accepted the action that we have taken and apologised for any distress caused," Morris said, without elaborating further.

Dixit said the apology letter sent by Morris lacked details.

Accordingly, the legal committee of the RCA decided to file a criminal complaint against Warne, the agency added.

"I don't know what kind of disciplinary action has been taken. A mere statement was made and nothing more has been done," Dixit said.

The controversy kicked off after Warne expressed displeasure over the playing surface chosen for Rajasthan's last two matches against Chennai and Bangalore - both of which the home side lost.

Dixit claimed Warne had been putting pressure on him to provide a "suitable" wicket for Rajasthan's home matches.

After the defeat against Chennai on Monday, Warne had questioned why the home side was asked to play on a different wicket from the one used in previous games.

The back-to-back defeats against Chennai and Bangalore have dented Rajasthan's chance of advancing to the play-offs and shattered Warne's dream of a second IPL title.

Warne, who led Rajasthan to triumph in the inaugural Twenty20 competition in 2008, is set to retire from all forms of the game after the current edition.

SAPA

Comments
  • tommy 2 - 2011-05-15 20:51

    match fixin.....g

  • RobertKay - 2011-05-15 20:57

    Ag shame, Warne. For once lose like a man, not a whimpering mouse!

  • LUFC - 2011-05-15 22:09

    "criminal charge"....... wow

  • Peter - 2011-05-16 00:09

    Wow his ending his professional playing career in disgrace over a stupid Ipl torment.

  • Camiel Phillips - 2011-05-16 00:40

    Maybe their is some truth in the what Warne is on about but is it worth to taint your reputation over a pitch thta is not to your liking......come on SHane get done and retire gracefully.......the best spine bowler ever

      Hunter 008 - 2011-05-16 10:01

      Why should he retire ??...He is making a fortune...and he is hooking up with all the HOT women !!

  • RQd2 - 2011-05-16 07:45

    I'll take the player side over the obtuse beaurocrat anyday...

      StaalBurgher - 2011-05-16 13:29

      Ture.

      StaalBurgher - 2011-05-16 13:30

      Jeez, I meant "true".

  • Bigyin - 2011-05-16 08:02

    Who cares....!!!

  • RobinHood - 2011-05-16 08:11

    Another Zidane - ending a brilliant career like a common thug

  • kc - 2011-05-16 09:24

    the pl is a joke, some injins think and dream they are powerfull, how laughable. warne obviously know more what he is talking about; why would some secretary, most likely someones brother/cousin not deserving of the position, know more. then his ego gets hurt and he lays charges against warne. laughable!

      alan - 2011-05-16 09:54

      you r the as$$@@hole ju like warne.You lost get over it.Stop blaming da pitch wara wara an den attacking the man not how u played.Tells u a lot about his persona.

      kc - 2011-05-16 10:06

      haha, this issue is not about the pitch. try expanding your thinking if possible and see what the real problem is mmmkay

      jowza - 2011-05-16 11:51

      sorry to burst your bubble kc,the indians do run world cricket,and for your info the ipl has bigger attendances than the world cup.

      wachiguara - 2011-05-16 11:57

      U are a joke. If put your predjudices aside, you will see that the IPL is not a joke, but a league that has all the top noteworthy international cricketers playing, involving $m's. If Warne is your idol and you can see him do no wrong, then say so, you will be seen as a lesser fool than trying to justify his actions.

      kc - 2011-05-16 12:36

      children, children, no bubble bursting anywhere hey. good money doesn't mean good cricket first of all. seeing a bunch of retired granpas and untalented local talent play some hit and giggle cricket is not interesting. accept that and move on. I also wish 'people' could read before replying, as I have stated i dont really care about warne. I guess i'm just wasting my time against some desperate fools not wanting to see sense.

      James - 2011-05-17 11:44

      KC is right , IPL is overplayed in any case , its not as exciting as it was once before, any ways i hope Johan Botha learnt alot from Warny so he can use when he captains the Proteas in the pro 20's!

  • Carol - 2011-05-16 11:00

    Why cant these sports stars behave in a manner that sets an example?? They always let their fans down, thinking they can do whatever they want and its ok.

  • MB1810 - 2011-05-16 11:19

    Initially I thought Warne was just being a whiny Aussie because of the losses, but the hefty reaction by the Royals kind of makes me think there is more to it. Maybe Rajastan losing a couple meant big bucks for a few owners, hence the unsuitable pitches. I honestly don't enjoy cricket the way I used to, its been ruined by match fixing scandal upon match finxing scandal and everytime articles like this hits the light of day, I can't help wondering if this will be the next. Everyone knows the IPL is all about the money, the cricket is just something on the side.

  • pages:
  • 1