Chennai qualify for playoffs

2011-05-19 12:35
Chennai Super Kings (File)
Chennai - A superb performance by their spin trio catapulted the Chennai Super Kings to the top of the IPL log and a victory by 11 runs against the Kochi Tuskers Kerala in the MA Chidhambaram Stadium at Chepauk, Chennai, on Wednesday.

A late onslaught by Brad Hodge (51, 42 balls, 3x4, 2x6) gave the Tuskers, who were chasing the total of 152/6 scored by Chennai, some hope.

He slammed 19 runs in the penultimate over, bowled by Dwayne Bravo, to leave the Tuskers the target of another 19 for victory.

Hodge benefited from a dropped catch by Murali Vijay, who put down a sitter with the Australian on 19.

He nearly made Vijay pay, slamming two sixes and a four in the 19th over.

But Doug Bollinger bowled an excellent final over, only allowing Hodge and Owais Shah seven runs as they were limited to 141/5 in their 20 overs.

But it was the master plan by the captain, MS Dhoni, and fine bowling by Ravi Ashwin (1/16 in four overs), Shadab Jakati (1/23 in four) and Suresh Raina (0/26 in four overs) that set up the victory.

On a slow, turning track, Ashwin and the other two spinners frustrated the big-hitting Brendon McCullum and Hodge in the middle overs.

In the nine overs between the eighth and the 17th over, only one boundary was scored by the Tuskers, a testimony to the clever variations and intelligent low trajectory spin bowling by Chennai.

The ball was hardly given air, denying the Tuskers the opportunity to loft the ball over mid-off or long-on.

McCullum was bowled by Jakati in the 14th over for 33 with the score on 83/3. The New Zealand opener faced 37 deliveries and only scored three boundaries, an indication of how Ashwin, Jakati and Raina thwarted the boundary-hitters.

Parthiv Patel was the first to depart when he mistimed a drive over mid-on and was caught by Albie Morkel off Ashwin for six.

Y Gnaneswara Rao perished when he was bamboozled by a slower delivery from Bravo and was caught and bowled for 19 (17 balls, 2x4) as the Tuskers slipped to 45/2 in the seventh over.

Bravo captured 1/36, while Bollinger finished with 1/38 in four overs.

Javindra Jadeja was excellently caught at deep square-leg by Raina off Bollinger for 19 off the final delivery of the 18th over with the score on 115/4.

The earlier pressure by the spinners left Hodge, Jadeja and Shah with too much to do in the final three overs, as they had to score 50 off 18 balls to get them home.

The result effectively means that the Tuskers are eliminated from the title-race.

Earlier, RP Singh and the two spinners, Jadeja (2/26) and Hodge (1/24), did a very good job in restricting the power-hitters of Chennai to 152/6.

Wriddhiman Saha (46, 33 balls, 1x4, 3x6) and Albie Morkel (13, 10 balls, 2x4) scored 51 runs in the final five overs, propelling Chennai to 152/6.

At a stage it looked as if they would have been limited to 140, but the final two overs yielded 25 runs, which was crucial to the final outcome.

The top-order faltered against the determined Singh and the spinners.

Vijay (16, 11 balls, 3x4), Raina (19, 13 balls, 1x4, 2x6) and Subramaniam Badrinath (13, 10 balls, 1x4) failed to impose themselves on the attack, and found the lack a pace to be a frustrating factor.

Even Michael Hussey, who had scored 393 prior to his knock of 32 (37 balls, 2x4) on Wednesday, found the going tough against the spinners.

Chennai’s execution was below-par, and they slammed at least two full tosses and a half-volley down the throat of boundary fielders.

The average first-innings score at the Chennai-headquarters is 161, but Dhoni was able to defend the total successfully, thanks to his trusted allies, Ashwin, Jakati and Raina.

Hussey played a pivotal role with his acrobatic fielding, and so did the rest of the team.

With the exception of Vijay, who was too casual when he dropped Hodge on19, Chennai excelled in the field.


Chennai Super Kings:

M Vijay, MEK Hussey, SK Raina, MS Dhoni (captain & wk), JA Morkel, S Badrinath, DJ Bravo, WP Saha, R Ashwin, DE Bollinger, SB Jakati

Kochi Tuskers Kerala:

BB McCullum, OA Shah, BJ Hodge, KM Jadhav, PA Patel (captain & wk), RA Jadeja, Y Gnaneswara Rao, R Vinay Kumar, M Muralitharan, RP Singh, S Sreesanth

Read more on:    ipl


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Your Winter Body Weight Workout

Cold weather does not mean you have to slack off on your workouts, here are some tips to stay fit in the winter.



The perks of power walking
Best ‘glamping' spots in the Western Cape
6 hiking routes you have to try
South African woman learns to surf at age 70

Which franchise will you be supporting in this year's Indian Premier League?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...

SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.