ICC World Twenty20

Proteas snubbed for T20 TOT

2012-10-08 10:05
West Indies (Gallo Images)
Colombo - Finalists the West Indies and Sri Lanka contribute a total of five players to the ICC World Twenty20 team of the tournament, which was announced on Monday in Colombo, with Sri Lanka’s Mahela Jayawardena named as captain.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team was aimed at being suited for Sri Lankan conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

In all, there are three players from beaten finalists Sri Lanka and two from champions West Indies while Australia, India, England, New Zealand and Pakistan are also represented in the 12-man squad. 

The panel faced a difficult choice in a number of key positions and the relative merits of several players, who ultimately did not make the final 12, were debated at length. Players who were considered included AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn of South Africa, David Warner of Australia, Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka, Kieron Pollard, Dwayne Smith and Sunil Narine of the West Indies.

ICC World Twenty20 Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Chris Gayle (West Indies)
Shane Watson (Australia)
Virat Kohli (India)
Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka - captain)
Luke Wright (England)
Brendon McCullum (New Zealand - wicketkeeper)
Marlon Samuels (West Indies)
Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)
Mitchell Starc (Australia)
Saeed Ajmal (Pakistan)
Ajantha Mendis (Sri Lanka)

12th Man: Suresh Raina (India)

The selection panel that chose the ICC World Twenty20 men’s team of the tournament consisted of:

Geoff Allardice (ICC General Manager – Cricket)
Rex Clementine (Cricket journalist from Sri Lanka)
Tony Hill (Member of the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires)
Ranjan Madugalle (ICC Chief Match Referee and former Sri Lanka captain)
Sanjay Manjrekar (Former India cricketer and ESS commentator)

Read more on:    icc world twenty20  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.