ICC World Twenty20

Proteas edge NZ in warm-up

2012-09-17 14:22
AB de Villiers (Gallo Images)
Colombo - Pace bowler Dale Steyn bagged four wickets as South Africa fine-tuned for the ICC World Twenty20 tournament with a nine-run win over New Zealand in a warm-up match in Colombo, Sri Lanka, on Monday.

New Zealand won the toss and sent the Proteas in to bat, after the start was delayed due to a damp pitch, and SA captain AB de Villiers anchored the innings, guiding them to 186/6 in their 20 overs.

In reply, the Black Caps were restricted to 177/8 as Steyn picked up three scalps in one over, returning 4/25.

New Zealand captain Ross Taylor put up a fight, contributing 74 runs off 42 balls, but he was eventually removed by speedster Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Steyn dismissed Nathan McCullum, Rob Nicol and Doug Bracewell in the 19th over to prevent New Zealand from putting up a real challenge at the death.

Earlier, openers Richard Levi and Faf du Plessis had got the Proteas off to a solid start, each contributing 24 runs, before De Villiers took control, smashing 54 from 30 deliveries before he was removed in the 19th over.

Seam bowler Adam Milne was the pick of the Black Caps attack, taking 2/26, while left-armer James Franklin removed JP Duminy and Justin Ontong from successive deliveries, bagging 2/31.

The World T20 tournament starts on Tuesday when hosts Sri Lanka face Zimbabwe in Hambantota.

South Africa, playing in the same group, square up against Zimbabwe in their opening match in Hambantota on Thursday.

Results of ICC World Twenty20 warm-up matches in Colombo on Monday:

Pakistan beat India by five wickets
India 185/3 in 20 overs (Virat Kohli 75 not out, Rohit Sharma 56, Virender Sehwag 26, Saeed Ajmal 2-22)
Pakistan 186/5 in 19.1 overs (Kamran Akmal 92 not out, Shoaib Malik 37 not out, Ravichandran Ashwin 4-23)

England beat Australia by nine runs

England 172/6 in 20 overs (Alex Hales 52, Luke Wright 35, Eoin Morgan 30, Brad Hogg 2-39, Mitchell Starc 2-32)
Australia 163/6 in 20 overs (Shane Watson 37, Mike Hussey 71, Steven Finn 2-26)

Ireland beat Bangladesh by five runs
Ireland 164/6 in 20 overs (Paul Stirling 71, Ed Joyce 39, Mashrafe Mortaza 2-33, Shakib Al Hasan 2-21)
Bangladesh 159/9 in 20 overs (Tamim Iqbal 35, Shakib Al Hasan 52, Kevin O'Brien 3-24, Trent Johnston 2-25, Alex Cusack 2-28)

West Indies beat Afghanistan by eight wickets
Afghanistan 122/7 (Asghar Stanikzai 53, Fidel Edwards 3-24, Sunil Narine 2-23)
West Indies 125/2 in 15.5 overs (Chris Gayle 65 not out, Mohammad Nabi 2-29)


What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who do you think will win this year's ICC World Twenty20 tournament in India?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.