ICC World Twenty20

2 Proteas in ICC T20 team

2014-04-07 11:34
JP Duminy (AFP)
Cape Town - The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the Team of the Tournament for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh, with India’s MS Dhoni being named captain.

The team includes four players from India, two from both South Africa and West Indies, and one representative each from Australia, Netherlands and Sri Lanka.

Chosen by a select group of experts, the team was aimed at being suited for Bangladesh conditions, on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Selection panel chairperson and member of the elite panel of ICC match referees, David Boon, said of the selection: “It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament.

“As the selection criteria for the Team of the Tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team.  

“Bowlers in particular performed strongly throughout this tournament, and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree and Lasith Malinga. The team also contains six specialist batsmen, including Stephan Myburgh from the Netherlands as an opening batsman, as well as three all-rounders, including MS Dhoni as a wicket-keeper batsman.”   

The panel faced a difficult choice for a number of positions, and players who were considered but who did not ultimately make the team included India’s Amit Mishra, Pakistan’s Ahmed Shehzad, the South Africa duo of AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir, Sri Lanka’s Angelo Mathews and Rangana Herath, and West Indies’ Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine.

ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

•       Rohit Sharma (India) - 200 runs
•       Stephan Myburgh (Netherlands) - 224 runs
•       Virat Kohli (India) - 319 runs
•       JP Duminy (South Africa) - 187 runs
•       Glenn Maxwell (Australia) - 147 runs
•       MS Dhoni (India - captain, wicketkeeper) - 50 runs, six dismissals
•       Darren Sammy (West Indies) - 101 runs
•       Ravichandran Ashwin (India) - 11 wickets
•       Dale Steyn (South Africa) - nine wickets
•       Samuel Badree (West Indies) - 11 wickets
•       Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) - five wickets
•       12th player: Krishmar Santokie (West Indies) - eight wickets

*David Boon of the elite panel of ICC Match Referees was the chairperson of the independent jury that selected the Team of the Tournament. Other members of the panel included Marais Erasmus of the elite panel of ICC Umpires, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram, ex-England captain Nasser Hussain, former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop and Utpal Shuvro, one of Bangladesh’s senior-most cricket correspondents.



Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Team P W PTS
Previous Results

Date Match Result

What was the No 1 reason for the Proteas losing their ICC World Twenty20 semi-final to India?

Love 2 Meet
Featured Blog

Dave ask if you would like to meet your local sports heroes and stand the chance to win prizes to the value of over R40 000.

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.