ICC Champions Trophy

Rain cuts short SA v Windies

2013-06-14 14:24
AB de Villiers (AFP)
Cardiff - Rain cut the winner-takes-all ICC Champions Trophy match between South Africa and the West Indies at Cardiff on Friday to a 31 overs per side contest.

Whichever team wins this match will join already-qualified India as one of the two Group B sides going through to the semi-finals.

The minimum number of overs required to declare a result is 20 per side - a format that would appear to favour the West Indies given they are the reigning World Twenty20 champions.

If that mark cannot be reached, South Africa will go through to the last four because of their superior net run-rate (+0.41 to West Indies' -0.08).

West Indies captain Dwayne Bravo won the toss and elected to field.

Tino Best replaced fellow fast bowler Kemar Roach, ruled out through illness, while under-performing batsman Ramnaresh Sarwan was dropped, with Devon Smith taking his place.

As expected, South Africa recalled premier fast bowler Dale Steyn for his first appearance of the tournament following a side strain, with spinner Aaron Phangiso dropped to make way for the paceman's return.


South Africa:

Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (captain/wkt), JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Chris Morris, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe

West Indies:

Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles (wkt), Devon Smith, Marlon Samuels, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo (captain), Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Sunil Narine, Ravi Rampaul, Tino Best

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS), Rod Tucker (AUS)

TV umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc champions trophy  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy

24.com publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk


Who do you see winning the eight-team 2013 ICC Champions Trophy tournament in England and Wales?

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.