Champions Trophy

Proteas crash out of Trophy

2009-09-27 22:44
Email | Print
Luke Wright (AP)

Centurion - England stormed into the Champions Trophy semi-finals with a 22-run victory over South Africa who crashed out of the tournament despite captain Graeme Smith's brave century on Sunday.

Smith hit a career-best 141 for his eighth one-day hundred but his team were still restricted to 301-9 while chasing a 324-run target.

The defeat also eliminated the hosts, who needed 313 to stay ahead of Sri Lanka on net run-rate.

England have won both of their games in the four-team Group B, while South Africa and Sri Lanka finished their league engagements with one win apiece in three matches.

New Zealand, who have one win in two matches, will take on England in the last group match on Tuesday.

England owed their highest one-day total against South Africa to man-of-the-match Owais Shah and Eoin Morgan, who gave a superb exhibition of power-hitting. Shah smashed 98 off 89 balls, while Morgan cracked a 34-ball 67.

South Africa went for their shots early in their innings in a bid to achieve a stiff target, with Smith and Herschelle Gibbs putting on 42 in seven overs.

Smith, dropped on 82 by Shah at long-on off seamer Paul Collingwood, sustained his team's hopes with a gutsy knock. He reached his century when he cut Collingwood for his 10th four.

Smith, refused a runner after suffering from cramp later in his innings, put on 78 for the third wicket with AB de Villiers (36) and 64 for the next with Jean-Paul Duminy (24).

But the asking-rate kept climbing as the hosts needed 94 to win in the closing 10 overs. It was all over when Smith fell in the 47th over after hitting 16 fours in his 134-ball knock.

Shah was earlier in the limelight, putting England on course for a big total with a gem of an innings containing six sixes and five fours. He added a record 163 for the third wicket with Collingwood (82).

England's previous best for the third wicket against South Africa in one-day internationals was 114 between Marcus Trescothick and Anthony McGrath in Manchester in 2003.

The stage was set for the final onslaught after the Shah-Collingwood stand, with England plundering 92 in their last 10 overs.

Like Shah, stand-in wicket-keeper Morgan also flayed the South African attack as he hit five sixes and four boundaries in his second successive half-century.

England began aggressively after winning the toss as skipper Andrew Strauss (25) and Joe Denly (21) added 48 for the opening wicket before falling in the space of three overs.

But South Africa's joy was short-lived as Shah and in-form Collingwood kept gathering runs comfortably against both pace and spin to put their team in a strong position.

Shah was more aggressive of the two, playing handsome strokes all round the wicket. He was just two runs short of his second one-day century when he was caught behind off spinner Johan Botha.

Your Comments

Jovan9/28/2009 6:00 PM
I dont even know where to start !!!!!!! the bowling attack was poor the best i could see was 4rm Kallis n then he wasnt brought into the attack again and y is Smith so selfish no wonder Strass didnt want to give him a runner i woulndt 2 bcause he is tired n he didnt even hit 1 six in him "gloryfull" innings althought it was a gr8 innings he should hav thought about a MUST WIN he only did that whn the game was already away 4rm us and wht was he and De Villiers up 2 taken so long 2 start going up !!!!!!!!!!!!! 4rm my point its not just good enough 2 b the nr. " 1 " team and dont even make it 2 the semi-final sum1 must take the blame.
Stephen9/28/2009 3:33 PM
I agree with Graham from earlier,the okes are too into designer hair and stubble,as for the rediculous outfit that reveals a few too many manboobs for my taste(the podgy ones).The thing is at top level sport you need focus. Smith's ton was not short of breathtaking ,but that hairstyle only suits David Beckham and select few.I remember about 12 years ago Gibbs response to a journalists 1st question in an interview , "You dig my car Bru?"Hit these guys in the pocket and we will see big results.
Nadia29/28/2009 2:50 PM
Okay I get the message and u gals are right - I should'nt hate a team cos of its supporters - but rather hate the supporters. I can do that quite easily. I wanted an SA/Ind final but I can cope with Pak being there too :-))).
naadiya9/28/2009 2:25 PM
if everybody is so bryt n no that sa is chokers then rather keep it to urselfs. the whole "choker" story line is veri boring now... wake up n find something new now....and as for the pakistan india match on saturday... i dont think one should stop suporting a team if the suproters ar e dumb..well thats now a joke. where do u hear of some1 quiting a team coz of the fans. thats probably coz they dont watch the sport for the corect reasons and dont undertsan the whole concept of the gam
nadia9/28/2009 1:57 PM
the team played well... not to the best of they ability bt as a strong sa surpoter hats off to smith...well played.... and as for the pakistan matter.... we cannot judge n like or dislike a team becoz of the fans... dats now a joke... then u clearly not watching the game for the corect reasons or u dont understand the concept or the game... coz as far as i know , the suporters are not included in the game at all... they are just "suporters"
Pierre9/28/2009 1:30 PM
Given the fact that we are not allowed to choose our best available team,this is to be expected.
Rita9/28/2009 1:09 PM
Okay guys - cut the Proteas some slack here. U will be backing them all over again when they win against the English come Nov so why u are even wasting yr energy cursing them is beyond me. U can't love them the 1 minute and hate them the next - fans don't do that. I on the other hand have written off Pakistan from my list of favourite teams cos they don't deserve my support. I had to get my family together, pack up and ran home from the Ind/Pak game on Saturday cos the paki fans behaved like a bunch of morons - fighting and swearing and waving their flags into the faces of the indian fans. Security could not even contain them - its disgusting. No wonder they have to watch cricket in their country behind huge fencing. Puts such a damper on watching a game live.
Steve9/28/2009 12:59 PM
Looks like the Proteas and Bafana Bafana will have something in common. Both will have the record of being knocked out in the first round of a major competition. Bafan have an excuse, they are a bunch of idiots. What's the Protea's excuse
Mickey Mouse Arthur9/28/2009 12:51 PM
There has been so much talk about how well balanced our side is and how many options we have (this goes for batting, bowling, and fielding) that I find it hard to see how we can lose with this supposed powerhouse team. It would be like Div losing with the current Springbok squad... In my view Mickey Arthur and his management team are to blame, if they can not sharpen the sword properly then they need to go. There is no doubt that we finally have the players to dominate the rest of the world on a more than consistant basis...but somewhere something is missing...This supposed mental coach that they have must also be worth a ball of snot as he has not managed to sort out this hoodoo of choking in touranaments...say what you want we bowl, bat and field like demons when nothing is on the line but in tournaments we have our wayward moments....perhaps Henning Gericke should be called in to change the rot... Because predictably we will smash England when they tour here later this year...we will probably thump them in the one dayers too...As already stated in this blog...we are the cricket equvalent of the All Blacks in Rugby....
Impartial Observer9/28/2009 12:38 PM
What a exciting game! The English bowling tactics was excellent and their batting really bolstered by Morgan's knock and his predecessors, but followed by poor finishing by their tail. Smith had a champion knock although he was lucky to escape at least 4 times. Only 22 runs the difference! Overall England's cool tactics earned them a deserved win.
Chucky9/28/2009 12:34 PM
WCC - World Champion Chokers !
Garland9/28/2009 12:20 PM
No 1 in the world ... No 1 Chokers ....
Garland9/28/2009 12:19 PM
Garland9/28/2009 12:17 PM
Chokers9/28/2009 12:07 PM
CHOKERS !!!!!!!. Just can't win any big tournament. 100% CHOKERS !!!!
Yster9/28/2009 12:03 PM
Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers Chokers
ZPM9/28/2009 11:59 AM
It's all Apartheids fault. We need some gender tests here as well - they played like girls....... Come on boys - we know you can win a tournament. Start training for the next one please. Get Jake White to coach you on BTM. Please do not allow players to talk to the media like Steyntjie. Rather send him to the nets to train.
Mary-Ann9/28/2009 11:57 AM
Actually it was Smith himself who unwittingly caused our demise. Ask the question: How often does our middle and lower order batsmen get to play opposite their Captain? He is normally well out of it by the time even Kallis takes to the crease. So here we have the situation. The game is a "must win" game and the Captain for once holds his crease so the middle and lower order batsmen must now play opposit him. I reckon that in the face of all that stress their nerve and confidence simply evaporated.
proteas supporter9/28/2009 11:37 AM
cut the guys some slack... stuff happens......... they tried
Birdman9/28/2009 11:32 AM
Why is it that whenever we play in a competition of this nature that the opposing team (who are usually the underdogs according to the popular media) always manage to bring their A+++ game against the Proteas and beat them? They will then go on to play a poor game against the next team and probably loose. The Proteas just can't seem to get it right twice in a row. As @ Ash says, they need to change their gamplan. And as for Kallis - it's time to retire bud - Best batsman this and fine batsman that - give me a break. He couldn't make a quick 50 if his life depended on it! It's time to get rid of the prima donnas and pick a team that wants to perform and not rest on past laurels. You are as good as your last match!
Birdman9/28/2009 11:23 AM
Why is it that whenever we play in a competition of this nature that the opposing team (who are usually the underdogs according to the popular media) always manage to bring their A+++ game against the Proteas and beat them? They will then go on to play a poor game against the next team and probably loose. The Proteas just can't seem to get it right twice in a row. As @ Ash says, they need to change their gamplan. And as for Kallis - it's time to retire bud - Best batsman this and fine batsman that - give me a break. He couldn't make a quick 50 if his life depended on it! It's time to get rid of the prima donnas and pick a team that wants to perform and not rest on past laurels. You are as good as your last match!
Time for a Change9/28/2009 10:54 AM
Kepler for National Coach - Clive Rice for National selector; No place to hide with these two guys around. Then please send the whole lot of them to maths 101 to learn some simple calculations.
Mgh9/28/2009 10:47 AM
Everyone praises Smith but his innings was luck. He should have been out at least 4 times.(Before his century). Gibbs,Boucher are unreliable. Change the lot.
doogieb9/28/2009 10:39 AM
Hail King Biff. Gibbs still too inconsistent, time for Amla to have an extended run. Give Petersen a run too. Morkel can't make the side as a bowler, Kallis needs to play like a senior, VDM now being found out - needs to work very hard. Consistency is a good thing but don't overdo it. Make changes when they need to be made. Despite all recent successes I still don't believe Arthur is right man for the job. Also don't believe we choked - just ring rusty after a few months off.
sera9/28/2009 10:36 AM
What a bunch of fools are the proteas especially the selectors. AB was struggling in 2006 and 2007 yet they did not drop him, rather moved him to no.4, but Amla? no, he has an axe haning over his head every time he plays. Talk about fairness and consistency. Boucher is no longer a batsmen and Gibbs should be sacked, he is way too inconsistent and does not have discipline. van der merwe and Abdulla both performed against the Aussies, but it is the realiability on white skin since 92 that got Roedolf in the side and left SA without a trophy to date. The Proteas got what they deserved by being biased and unfair in selection. Black selection is only afrikaner coloured according to Proteas. Gibbs, Duminy, Boucher and van der Merwe are pathetic in consistency but yet they remain in key matches. They are paid for this and heads should roll starting with Mickey.
sera9/28/2009 10:23 AM
What a bunch of fools are the proteas especially the selectors. AB was struggling in 2006 and 2007 yet they did not drop him, rather moved him to no.4, but Amla? no, he has an axe haning over his head every time he plays. Talk about fairness and consistency. Boucher is no longer a batsmen and Gibbs should be sacked, he is way too inconsistent and does not have discipline. van der merwe and Abdulla both performed against the Aussies, but it is the realiability on white skin since 92 that got Roedolf in the side and left SA without a trophy to date. The Proteas got what they deserved by being biased and unfair in selection. Black selection is only afrikaner coloured according to Proteas. Gibbs, Duminy, Boucher and van der Merwe are pathetic in consistency but yet they remain in key matches. They are paid for this and heads should roll starting with Mickey.
Fritz9/28/2009 10:16 AM
The best team never to have won anything! Seriously, we can travel anywhere and beat anyone, as long as there is no world cup, crown or title of some sort involved. Why is that????
Dingdong9/28/2009 10:01 AM
After careful consideration and reading through the comments I must admit that South Africa was hit for a six. Indeed a sour pill to swallow especially with the word chokers being thrown around. I am dissapointed that my team lost, especially against a team that was demolished a few weeks ago by our oldest foe. Be that as it may, I still support my team the Proteas and that will never change. My loyalty will live through good times and bad times even though the trophy case remain empty. Dust yourself off guys and its back to the drawing boards for you. Just remember that tournaments come and go and there will always be the next one.
geez9/28/2009 9:59 AM
as much as parnell took wicket he let the batting teams get a good start. morkel why is he in the team.AB should be the wicketkeeper coz Boucher is no good.JP sould be a 20/20 player only
SPOOK9/28/2009 9:58 AM
THE COACH RESPONSIBILITY IS TO ENSURE THAT THE TEAM IS DISCIPLINED IN ALL FACETS OF THE GAME, THAT THEY MENTALLY AND PHYSICALLY PREPARED, WORK AS A UNIT TOWARD A GAME PLAN, BE INNOVATIVE, MOTIVATE THE TEAM INSTILL SELF CONFIDENCE IN THE PLAYERS ECT HAS MICKEY MOUSE ACHIEVED THIS? A BIG NO I SAY ITS TIME WE GET A NEW COACH
devilsadvocate9/28/2009 9:56 AM
stut-stut-stut-stut-stuttering ch-ch-ch-ch-champion ch-ch-ch-cho-cho-CHOKERS !!!
chas9/28/2009 9:56 AM
I am neutral in this and I have been fortunate to watch a lot of cricket. SA it is time for a change.....are the Proteas a bit of a "club" where is the new blood coming from? England were ruthless and nothing wrong with that .....The comments about sportsmanship are a little slanted. Remember what Strauss did against Sri Lanka he called the player back. What does disappoint me is the SA crowds .....zero sportsmanship....When you watch in Oz and most other countries (and no I don't support them) the crowd will applaud good play regardless of team. Why never in SA. The SA crowd yesterday were undeserving of a win because of their attitude.
Winn9/28/2009 9:51 AM
In the Bible theres a passage that states," One putting on his armour should not boast as one taking it off" I wonder what this can possibly mean.
tanya9/28/2009 9:43 AM
It is called a team for a reason. We can not allways really on one person to pull us through all the time.
sera9/28/2009 9:42 AM
Gavin9/28/2009 9:40 AM
Surely Gibbs has had enough chances to make a comeback! His body language gives the impression that he couldn't really care less. He has a wild swing at a ball, misses, dances around the crease, and then grins to himself. He used to play brilliant cricket shots, with great results. What has come over him?? I really think that he should be dropped once and for all.
sera9/28/2009 9:36 AM
Melaki9/28/2009 9:24 AM
I think its time for boucher too pack up his bags and get out of the team, for a very long time he hasnt perform and they just keep on picking him... he's overboard and bloody "wind***"!!! Congrats to Greame Smith... he's the best captain and always performs when it matters most, just too bad the others coould't pull it off! Dale steyn said before the tournament nobody can match us but go look at his bowling all but world class!!! he's arrogance is unexceptible!!!!
Rob9/28/2009 9:15 AM
So much talk about 'our boys' before the tournament...well that's what they played like a bunch of under-13 boys...Smith aside there is a lack of mental toughness in this side...I reckon we should set Clive Rice on them for 15 minutes and let him thrash the complacency out of them
daffy9/28/2009 9:14 AM
The worst team we have in this country, choke 11 out of 10 times guaranteed. Same thing is going to happen at the next world cup. Bafana Bafana is way better than this team, because they dont get our hopes up for nothing coz they never win anyways, but these idiots...even the All Blacks don't choke as much.
Wynand9/28/2009 9:13 AM
Who ate all the pies?? We look out of shape and out of sorts! Robin Jackman and AD said before the game the difference between the teams will be in the bowling, and our attack is far superior! YEAH RIGHT. Have another whiskey Jackers. And lets not complain about the runner being denied. You can't have a runner if you are an unfit! How many other top class batsmen call for a runner as soon as they reach a century? For all the big talk before the tournament started, we once again look like fools. (Especially in that awfull kit!)
UpInSmoke9/28/2009 9:09 AM
SA Cricket has got the same BMT as Kiwi Rugby... I am implying that they are arrogant schmucks even before the tournament started, and then they choke when push comes to shove... I hope they learn a lesson this time. Shut your mouths and play cricket... when you won then (and only then) you can be a little windgat!
Hennie9/28/2009 9:07 AM
Send Morkel back to club cricket where he belongs. Only playing on reputation. It is his bad bowling that sets a burden on other bowlers, and the run out of him was only stupidity, running while he knew his partner was struggeling
Louis9/28/2009 9:05 AM
I am not an expert, but isn't it quite obvious that the side batting second is at a huge disadvantage? Spraylights, dew on the grass, a damp pitch?
Jo9/28/2009 9:02 AM
I don't know all the rules and laws of cricket, but could Graham not have retired injured? At that stage, there were still a number of competent batsmen left who could have made a go at the total. By the time Graham went out, it was too late - the total was unattainable! Did he really do us and the team any favours by hanging around unable to run?
Richard9/28/2009 9:02 AM
All the blame rest with Cricket South Africa.Which moron moved the game from the Wanderers to Centurion Not the players but the officials at CSA.Move a game from a GREEN top to a SPINNERS paradise [Sri Lanca and now England]
nadia9/28/2009 8:53 AM
in this tournament there was nothing rong with the boys fitness.they were in shape...as far as chokers is concerned.THEY ARE NOT CHOKERS!!!!!! coz they have lost two matches....they didn win all then blow up in semi`s right.so cut the chokers out.as a south african supporter the boys just didn get fully into the game...n well no matter wat they do media still bad mouths them.well next time times..welll played to the south african team.hats off to smith ..played extremely well....
Reynard9/28/2009 8:51 AM
I love it!!! Well done England!!! The most arrogant team lost! hahah! Where are all those Protea supporting morons now? No comment I suppose? Love Smith running up the steps after he needed a runner for cramp - wakaka! Come on England!!!!
Deon9/28/2009 8:48 AM
Mickey and the rest of the team will stay on as long as possible. No one ever gets off the gravy train. No results but the money keeps pouring in. Maybe we should try a policy of no results no pay.
CM9/28/2009 8:48 AM
The thing that irritates me is that we probably gonna wipe the floor with England in the end of year tour, c'mon gents you gotta start performing when it counts.
Gab9/28/2009 8:45 AM
As always they did what they do best, chouck anyhow i think is time heads must roll, someone need to take a responsibility of this fall out.
Graham9/28/2009 8:42 AM
As usuall and what else, we shoot our mouths off instead of training but in fairness well done Smith pity about your lack of support. One thing concerns me our team look unfit, pompus and scruffy, they are always ajusting their badly designed and fitting kit, unshaven and really a supposedly number 1 team in the world we do not look the part it is said, look the part, feel the part and act the part and you will be the part our attitusde says all!!!!
Riaan9/28/2009 8:41 AM
Who was the i**** who rated Proteas favourites ? How about some decent warm up matches ? Thank you captain Graeme ... valant effort !
Larry9/28/2009 8:40 AM
Do a Sex test on the lot of them. They appear to have no B****
Rambi9/28/2009 8:37 AM
Kallis the old warhorse did not deliver..he should go!
charles9/28/2009 8:33 AM
To many arrogant statements made before the games by certain players,If the head gets to big it pulls you off balance.
Malcolm9/28/2009 8:31 AM
I agree with Andre that the Proteas should keep quite about their superior abilities before tournaments and let their playing do the talking. But lets get real, the Proteas have not played together against any competition since the 20/20 championships in England, while England, Sri Lanka and New Zealand have all been playing lots of ODI's the last few weeks. So England beat us last night, well done to them. But I am looking forward to their up coming tour, when I do believe we will win both the test and ODI series.
Get Real9/28/2009 8:29 AM
Well, the teams emblem should be changed to an artichoke, and we can officially call them the chokers. Since 1992, the trophee cupboard is still empty. They should... well .... I don't have words. Congrats captain corageous!
john9/28/2009 8:28 AM
Once agin Gibbs failed to produce when it matters the most. Where was AMLA , he could have at least provided some support for Biff. Perhaps Gibbs was thinking about the after party drinks and lap dances. He probably has the lowest IQ among all the other international batsmen. Kallis also once again proved that he cannot bat under pressure. Boucher batting at 6 ? ?? His form over the last 3 years should have him batting at 10/11 instead of 6. Time for boucher to go , he really needs to go out of the ODI setup. Steyn "big mouth" should focus more on bowling than talking. Parnell , the most wicktes but at what cost? He got all those wikets because the batsmen's eyes light up with all those half volleys he sends down. Time for Gibbs/Kallis(maybe)/Boucher to call it quits
Andre9/28/2009 8:28 AM
We need some perspective here. No captain can set a field if the the bowlers do not bowl to field setting. Are the bowlers soft in the heads or do they think they can just run up and bowl any crap to get wickets. Van der Merwe for the first time was not economical and with Botha need some batting practice. Van and Smith are the only two who can handle pressure and has mental toughness. Abie and Dale Steyn must be thinking what they are going to say during the next media interview rather than concentrate on the job at hand. THIS TEAM NEEDS A SHRINK URGENTLY
Emanuele9/28/2009 8:28 AM
We were out bowled...again. Just how good is our bowling staff at present? On present evidance not very good. Our traditional strenght has become our weakness. Vincent Barnes should be replaced and we should get a good death bowler. Duminy should be replaced with ideally Prince(why was he dropped anyway?) or if they will allow it a suitable other, even if he happens to be white.
Grant9/28/2009 8:23 AM
Forget the testing of poor old Caster I think this bunch should be tested.....not a pair amoungst them!
taurus9/28/2009 8:23 AM
Good grief! What a bunch of pretty pathetic sportsmen you are! Don't you know the term, May the best team (of that particular match) win? Shame on you couch potatoes! I'll bet most of you never even touched a cricket bat.
Geoff Clark9/28/2009 8:21 AM
I didn't see Strauss refuse Smith a runner. However, Law 2 seems to leave the matter in the hands of the umpires, who may agree a runner on grounds of injury, illness (surely not the case with Smith) or for "other wholly acceptable reasons" (cramp?). Law 2 doesn't seem to specifically rule out an objection by the opposing captain. Great match. Best team won. Get over it! See you in November.
Stuart9/28/2009 8:20 AM
How could they think that they can go into a competition like this without any international practice games? They should have at least played a series the week or two weeks before, even if it was against Zimbabwe...we needed the match practice. Again a shocking bowling display...well batted Mr. Smith.
William9/28/2009 8:20 AM
The comments submitted by "Proteas Fans" here are truly pathetic. Sounds more to me like you lot are a bunch of chokers. Who needs to fans like this. Why don't you all F*** off and go and "support" another country. Nobody, least of all the true supporters need c******s like you lot.
Doco9/28/2009 8:20 AM
World # 1s - Nah
Fly9/28/2009 8:18 AM
i have always supported them when we lost in semi's, or didn't even make it in world cups and other competitions. But this is getting ridiculous! Losing the 1st game due to lack of practice - I'll take that. Especially after beating NZ. But Englang?? Pathetic bowling, I must say from SA! And 1-hit wonder Duminy failed again! Gibbs tried, and AB & Kallis can't win them all. But we needed them last night. Unfortunately Bouch isn't a solid batsman anymore. You choked agian, Proteas. Way to let SA supporters down...
Mayer9/28/2009 8:18 AM
WHO DO YOU BLAME,WE GENUINELY NEED TO MAKE THE TEAM MORE REPRESENTATIVE,WE NEED NEW TALENT AND TIME TO CHANGE BECAUSE WE NOT WINNING WITH A 80% NON REPRESENTATIVE TEAM,PROUDLY PROTEAS SUPPORTER.
All_Choking_Aside9/28/2009 8:15 AM
The Protea bowlers (including the vaunted Parnell) allowed three English batsmen to score 247 runs in 217 balls between them. Our batting line-up finished only four sixes short of a win (England scored 12 to Proteas 2). To repair the mess that the Protea bowlers created it would possibly have served to move Duminy down to 8. Proteas did not choke, they were out-bowled. There is more to an ODI than just batting.
SA Granny9/28/2009 8:13 AM
Pathetic. Gibbs, Duminy, Boucher, Morkel are past their sell by date and others had better watch it. Once again, it's more difficult to get dropped from this team than to get into the team in the first place. Very very poor, unprofessional performance. I'm ANGRY.
Ralph9/28/2009 8:12 AM
I think the team need a real shakeup, bring in some new blood from the franchises & give us a coach that can develop the players metally, like Steve Waugh. Bench some of them & you'll get results. The bulk of their team are assured of their places & take it for granted. They need to earn their places. We cannot be called the best oneday outfit if the trophy cabinet is empty!!!
Leon9/28/2009 8:12 AM
How sad that we have one of the most distructive batsman in Albie Morkel. But because we have the dummest coaching staff he never spends enough time at the crease to get us out of trouble. Wake up Mickey and start thinking outside the box..duh..if we need to score at more than 7 per over then get te guys that can score at that rate in EARLY !!!!!!!!!
DeaN9/28/2009 8:12 AM
Highest run scorer & highest wicket taker in the tournament so far (Smith & Parnell). Geez, what will it take? I find it quite irritating when STEYN outscores most of our top & middle order batsman ! A better TEAM effort needed from the No.1 team in the world. TWO ducks at a time where we could have easily walked the park. Not exceptional bowling. all Anderson did was bowl straight and good slower balls. Stunning innings from our Cappy. I know we will "bounce back" but its becomes too much of a cliche' especially when coming to the tournaments that matter. I'm a die-hard fan but am rally disappointed with our guys. Oh well ...
DeaN9/28/2009 8:12 AM
Highest run scorer & highest wicket taker in the tournament so far (Smith & Parnell). Geez, what will it take? I find it quite irritating when STEYN outscores most of our top & middle order batsman ! A better TEAM effort needed from the No.1 team in the world. TWO ducks at a time where we could have easily walked the park. Not exceptional bowling. all Anderson did was bowl straight and good slower balls. Stunning innings from our Cappy. I know we will "bounce back" but its becomes too much of a cliche' especially when coming to the tournaments that matter. I'm a die-hard fan but am rally disappointed with our guys. Oh well ...
Mike@CapeT9/28/2009 8:11 AM
Come on guys.....give the team a break and lets congratulate England for a superb performance on the day! England would probably have beaten most teams ...including the Aussies!
Chris9/28/2009 8:11 AM
Funny how Smith moved freely up the steps after the game dont you think?
Leon9/28/2009 8:11 AM
How sad that we have one of the most distructive batsman in Albie Morkel. But because we have the dummest coaching staff he never spends enough time at the crease to get us out of trouble. Wake up Mickey and start thinking outside the box..duh..if we need to score at more than 7 per over then get te guys that can score at that rate in EARLY !!!!!!!!!
K.S9/28/2009 8:10 AM
Well done Smith great batting! We are to predictable with the spinners in the middle of an innings. Try something new,can`t play with the same game plan against every team! Something needs to be done boys can`t carry on like this!!
Leon9/28/2009 8:10 AM
Geoff Clark9/28/2009 8:09 AM
I didn't see Strauss refuse Smith a runner. However, Law 2 seems to leave the matter in the hands of the umpires, who may agree a runner on grounds of injury, illness (surely not the case with Smith) or for "other wholly acceptable reasons" (cramp?). Law 2 doesn't seem to specifically rule out an objection by the opposing captain. Great match. Best team won. Get over it! See you in November.
Leon9/28/2009 8:09 AM
preshen govender9/28/2009 8:09 AM
Did you hear of the new Protea Bra ? Plenty of support but no cup.
thabang9/28/2009 8:09 AM
I still cant believe we actually lost to england !!!!what happened????our bowlers let us down,PERIOD!!!!WHY ARE WE STILL KEEPING KALLIS AROUND??
Bruce9/28/2009 8:07 AM
Dunno if Wikipedia is accurate on this, but the entry on Runners states that you cannot use a runner for a player with cramp. Smith knows he cramps in the field after a full session, he must learn how to manage his fluid intake properly rather than rely on the generosity of the umpires and opposing captain. Also, the final decision about a runner sits with the umpires, they could have given Smith one even if Strauss said no.
Vicky9/28/2009 8:02 AM
What a disappointment! Why do they pitch up at an international event, representing their country looking so scruffy? Half of the team hadn't bothered to shave! Surely if you want to do your best IN YOUR JOB - you look the part - well turned out is the very least you can do. You need to ensure that you take part in the National Anthem (Jacques Kallis) No wonder they underperformed - there doesn't seem to be any basic discipline. We haven't even got on the field and you failed us - do try harder.
@van9/28/2009 8:02 AM
Van, you cannot blaim Smith for our bowlers delivering rubbish. He sets the field expecting the bowlers to bowl one side of the wicket. Against Sri lanka and England our bowlers lost us the game. Smith deserves credit for his great knock. A simple case of being undercooked for a big tournie. Stop getting emotional everyone!
OurProteas9/28/2009 8:02 AM
So we were outplayed....BMT is something definitely do not have..we cant conceive 300+ in 2 out of 3 games and expect the batsman to make it. We have some of the best bowlers in the world and they were nowhere to be seen yesterday.
Stephen9/28/2009 8:01 AM
Again we go shouting our mouths off before the game. Can the Proteas not keep Dale and Roelof's mouth shut? Is there no control over press releases by dumb bowlers? Truth is we were way underdone. Dale bowled like an absolute palooka! England came out of an Ashes series plus 7 one dayers. They were ready and battle-hardened, they gave us a lesson. We were cruising so badly prepared yet again - when will bwe finally learn!. We should have had at least three warm-ups even if it was against Kenya or Zimbabwe to loosen the cobwebs. Again I blame management - time for Mickey Mouse to go, he is not a coaches a$$!
1eye9/28/2009 8:00 AM
Get over it idiots calling them chokers, The Poms won becuase one little fellow knocked 67 off 34 balls period,Not to mention the how many 300>innings have occured at Centurion. Great game best team on thday won
Vicky9/28/2009 8:00 AM
What a disappointment! Why do they pitch up at an international event, representing their country looking so scruffy? Half of the team hadn't bothered to shave! Surely if you want to do your best IN YOUR JOB - you look the part - well turned out is the very least you can do. You need to ensure that you take part in the National Anthem (Jacques Kallis) No wonder they underperformed - there doesn't seem to be any basic discipline. We haven't even got on the field and you failed us - do try harder.
David9/28/2009 8:00 AM
The players always are blamed when the team loses. I agree that the bowlers were not up to their normal high standard, BUT, is this not the fault of the management that allowed them to become rusty due to a two month lay-off. Every other team participating played in some or other series just before this championship - the Proteas did not. Now the team is again called Chokers - the MANAGEMENT are the chokers not the players. Another concern is that if such a tournament is played in a country that country's team normally plays at the field that would be of greter benefit to them. NOT in South Africa, here we play on a field that suits the opposition. The Wanderers would have suited the Proteas much more, but I guess the (legitimate) questions (about the IPL contact) asked by the Gauteng Cricket Board, resulted in the UCBSA deciding to spite Gauteng Cricket, by not allowing the Proteas to play their - they only succeeded in spiting the Proteas team and have letting the Protea supporters down - ONCE AGAIN. I would like to congratulate the players on trying their best - BUT the MANAGEMENT (including the COACHING STAFF) need to have a rethink of their actions.
AJ9/28/2009 7:59 AM
We should have taken the power play with Smith and De Villiers . Duminy. We strangled ourselves and left it all for the last 10. Immature approach. We should have had a better handle on the run chase from much earlier (no boundaries for 12 overs is criminal when chasing 300 plus) Use the powerplay. Teams score 8/10 an over at the end without a power play, rather spend it on your class batsman, AB, JP etc especially in the middle when there is a lull in the tempo.
chris9/28/2009 7:58 AM
bmt ,fitness,? we thought that we are going to win it even before the start, what now.they should make a losers trophy then we stand a chance
Edi9/28/2009 7:58 AM
Rather now than later. Better to loose now than in the finals against the Aussies
Jason9/28/2009 7:58 AM
Am very dissapointed AGAIN! WTF!!! How do we have no competitive games before this tournament? Very wise move! It really showed in our batting and bowling! Great knock Smith...Strauss - you chop! We had an opportunity to shift focus off the complete idoit president of ASA and give the country a little pride? Now we are not only the laughing stock of world atheletics, but we are confirmed chokers too! Common boys! Lets at least do the business in the world cup...PLEASE!!!!
ArtGee9/28/2009 7:57 AM
I believe Richie Mac Caw has INSISTED Graeme Smith sends his CHOKE COLLAR back... The All Blacks want it back for the 2011 RWC...
Proteas supporter9/28/2009 7:55 AM
I think they played well - England just played better at the hands of our bowlers... Well done to G Smith. I wouldn't consider you a choker :)
Len9/28/2009 7:55 AM
Fantastic CHOKERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please go and play soccer or perhaps Athletics SA should take over the team
ME9/28/2009 7:54 AM
Cannot blame one or two individuals- however going forward we should accept that Dale Steyn is not a classical limited overs bowler. He is the best in the 5 day game, no doubt about that. Let us try out Tsotsobe who looks like a genuine 50 overs game bowler. The 4 wickets he took on debut were not lucky wickets. I think he and Parnell will take us forward. Greame and Mickey (if he continues to be the coach) shoild not be uncomfortable in speaking to Dale about this. We need to move forward!!!
JC9/28/2009 7:54 AM
I was very disappointed in the English Captain Andrew Strauss yesterday, he could see the pain Graeme Smith was in, but would not allow a runner, he is no gentleman, if the roles were reversed, we all know for a fact that Graeme and our boys would have welcomed a runner on the field, maybe they were scared that our boys would have beaten them.... with a runner... England I am very disappointed... I expected more!!! Well Done boys... you are a team to be proud of, and Graeme you are an excellent captain!!!
Zee9/28/2009 7:54 AM
Our bowlers let us down... Great attempt Graham... Sorry & better luck next time...
Kev9/28/2009 7:52 AM
Well, tough to accept another defeat, but thats the way it is. What was dissapointing was the line bowled by our bowlers up front. Steyn and Parnell battled to find a consistant lenght, and this time the spinners also did not dominate as expected. Strange that the unheralded English bowlers could maintain a tight line and lenght on the same "perfect batting strip" Another early exit...
Gerald9/28/2009 7:49 AM
Ha ha ha ha! What a bunch of choaking loosers!! A call for Smith's head is in order. Pollock got us alot closer and got sacked. Just coz he made runs (for a change) should not save him from the sword. Shame, they are so pathetic it is actually funny. World rankings mean nothing when ENG (whom were whipped by AUS) drill you. Ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaa!!!!
MJV9/28/2009 7:49 AM
Such useless chokers!
Jawellnofine9/28/2009 7:48 AM
Now starts the summer of my discontent. BAly bowled Proteas, but well played England. Never thought I'd have to say that!
Lopes9/28/2009 7:48 AM
Hmmm, there we go again.
Delia9/28/2009 7:44 AM
Here we go again.......we dont deserve to be number one!!!!!now I think that it is a time for change...really we go to watch the game and support our team for what???we had a high score to make and we keep by the book....why not try something different??/...the coach has to go....we need change....
Armand9/28/2009 7:42 AM
Now what kind of 'spin' can Arthur Turner put on this.... daylight between the Proteas and the rest. The were obviously choking so much they couldn't see the 'daylight'.
Greenblood9/28/2009 7:41 AM
what a terrible bowling performance ! Maybe next time the Protea's shouldn't open their mouths about being hard to beat and all that bullsh*t, let their performance do the talking and just get on with it. Now they lose, as good teams do, and have cake on their faces for thinking a bit too highly of themselves !
Gash9/28/2009 7:39 AM
Nice try guys. Smith is a great batsmen and a below average captain. Authur must go.
NAV9/28/2009 7:39 AM
out of form Duminy should have been dropped from this game. There are so many talented players in the domestic league that could have whipped the score and have overs remaining. Excellent pitch to bat on. Well done Smith on a lucky 141.
Spitfire9/28/2009 7:38 AM
Good on you 'ol England, well done boys. Oh yes, i heard if you a sip of water with every bite of that humble pie, it goes down much easier. LOL.......
Rob9/28/2009 7:38 AM
Doesn't Dale Steyn feel like a chop after all his comments before the tournament. Chokers...
Larry9/28/2009 7:37 AM
I notice that all the other teams protect the incoming Batsman, with the settled Batsman taking control of the strike. If Biff had done the same, instead of an "every man for himself", he would have got his 141 a lot quicker, while givng the incoming Batsman a chance to work his way in. Just a thought? Use it, dont use it?
skim9/28/2009 7:36 AM
easy for andrew strauss to call back the sri lankan when they game is done and dusted...last night when the heat was on his true character came out! disgusting andrew strauss...disgusting!
dj9/28/2009 7:36 AM
drop kallis and gibbs, what are they still doing in the side. they did the country proud, but it is time for them to open a restaurant or something in cape town now! lastly, we need bowlers!! is this the best bowling attack that sa have got at the moment??? pathetic!!!there is no aggresion from our bowlers.
Cricket fan9/28/2009 7:36 AM
Guys, It's unfair to say that the Proteas have choked this time around. These guys are not chokers, they are now the SUPA CHOKERS in world cricket. Apart from Biff, the others crumbled with the added pressure. Steyn's comments before the tounament " nobody can match them" makes sense now....ie. nobody can match them in failing in major tournaments
Joe9/28/2009 7:35 AM
Yip - nice one guys - shoot your fat mouths off before the tournament and once again make the country look like a bunch of morons !
paulvs9/28/2009 7:34 AM
What did I say on Thursday.....we will not win, because we are over rated as a team, the players are unfit, and in no shape to play against the top teams. England has a mediocre team, but they outplayed us, like we were kids. We do not belong in this tournament. I do hope they get their act together someday...
p1239/28/2009 7:32 AM
Pathetic, pathetic! Talk about a one-man band, no support for Smith whatsoever other than a 30 something from AB. This Van der Merve experiment has come home to roost!!! When did JP last make runs? I am disgusted in us yet again crashing our of a local tournament...
Frank9/28/2009 7:30 AM
Hey at least they can now drop the chocker tag, now they're just plain losers. Progress has been made gents.
Steph9/28/2009 7:28 AM
Again an arrogant comment and then they stumble. When will they learn to first win and then comment (alla Sprinboks)
BB9/28/2009 7:26 AM
Blame the bowlers. They were terrible. And to think Dale Steyn opened his mouth before the tournament boasting about how they would win. Next time keep your mouth shut Dale - take a few lessons from Brett Lee and Mitchell Johnson. Oh well , now we wait for the next tournament...
SEAN FALLIS9/28/2009 7:25 AM
YEAR IN YEAR OUT CHOKERS!!!!!!!!!!!!
Andrew9/28/2009 7:23 AM
I think Dale 'Big mouth" Steyn is way over rated and he should be blamed for this loss, how can you say Nobody can touch us with figures of 1-69, he should be dropped.
Derek9/28/2009 7:19 AM
Bad sportsmanship again by England.Remember teh 1-dayer against New Zealand when Collingwood (then captain) refused to withdraw the appeal after the NZ batsman was obstructed before being run-out.This just proves my point why I hate the English the most of all.But hey,at least the SA B-team (sorry, England) won the game!!!!!
Mike9/28/2009 7:16 AM
Whilst the term 'chokers' is in my view, not appropriate, this Proteas team is in serious need of some refurbishment: Smithy is a good guy, but he is not the smartest one day captain around. Johan Botha has shown an astute mind, let him be the one day captain. Morkel is not a bowler, and unless he can produce the destructive batting when it really counts (and we have seen that he can't), then he has no place in the team. And Gibbsy, we all love you for what you've done in the past, but how many more failures before we realise that you're not going to do it again? Let's not beat ourselves up too much. We are still a very good side on the verge of greatness.
Pommie9/28/2009 7:16 AM
What a great performance by England. The chockers never had a change, Smit should be flattered by the score. The so called nr 1 team in the world out of the tournament. Thats why Strauss and KP play for the winning team. SA is totally overated. beaten 2 times in one year in big tournaments. Thats not wht you expect from a top team. Played against a weak Aussie team the summer and then bragging on the win. Totally loosers. Wonder what the Mickey Mouse excuses are ad Smittie. Go England. CHOCKERS.
Handogg9/28/2009 7:13 AM
Very disappointing. Here comes the "choker" comments... But well done to biff. Great batting my bru! Better luck next time.
Burgiesburnin9/28/2009 7:12 AM
Look at the walking bin bag with two holes cut out for eyes!!! Has anybody seen Steyn???
Noel9/28/2009 7:12 AM
Once chokers always chokers
Louis9/28/2009 7:12 AM
So much for being "the team to beat". Or maybe they were exactly that 'cause everyone seemed to do just that.
Mickey Arthur9/28/2009 7:09 AM
Please don't fire me! I have tried everything and nothing seems to work. I have no International experience and I cannot deliver a world beating team. They are number 1 in the world though, but not for long! As I have no idea on how to keep them there. I am the perfect puppet and I have introduced the dumbest selection policy for ODI. I have no idea on how to evolve in the International arena. Please, Please don't let me go, because I don't think any other country would take me besides Zimbabwe. Wait I don't think they would want me either!
Burgiesburnin9/28/2009 7:06 AM
Look at the walking bin bag with two holes cut out for eyes!!! Has anybody seen Steyn???
sowhatdidyouexpect9/28/2009 7:05 AM
Cough, cough, CHOKE!!! Time Mickey Arthur to duck!
walter9/28/2009 7:04 AM
Chokers
Brent9/28/2009 7:04 AM
And we faulter again .... Did we choke ? I think Albie needs to be replaced, he is a gr8 slogger but his bowling is letting the team down . Bring back Polly ......
walter9/28/2009 7:04 AM
Chokers
DG9/28/2009 7:03 AM
Number 1 in the world?? Bwahahahahahah!!! What a joke. PATHETIC CHOKERS!!!!
NAM9/28/2009 7:01 AM
A wake up call for SA. Pherhaps there not as good as they think they are,loosing to an average England team must be painfull,at least this time they did not choke........They where simply out played. COME ON ENGLAND.
Rodney 9/28/2009 7:00 AM
The wilting Proteas will have to learn that the game of cricket humbles you. A very good game was talked before the first ball was bowled. It has come back to bite them and the public is tired. It will be interesting to hear Sir Mickey Arthur`s legendary excuse.
Brandon9/28/2009 6:59 AM
This is the best news ever. I was right they gonna lose each and every tournament this year. They are indeed CHOKERS!!!!. Where is the Mr Untouchabes now.HAHAHA!!! Spoiled brats that what they are; they think too much of themselves. Get rid of Kallis, Boucher, Steyn, and De Villiers and Arthur now. Shame, they made Peterson and Nitini waterboys for yesterdays game.
Tim9/28/2009 6:55 AM
Bunch of chokers!!! They lost becuase of Steyn's comments.
David9/28/2009 6:55 AM
Tell me something I didn't already know from the start of this champions trophy. Too much talk and little action. Our bowlers got slaughtered!
paul9/28/2009 6:54 AM
Chokers?
Merryck9/28/2009 6:52 AM
Mickey should coach the Heimlich
J. Arendse9/28/2009 6:52 AM
So they returned to "..a bit rusty" and chocked again? Gutz
Tim9/28/2009 6:48 AM
Bunch of chokers!!! They lost becuase of Steyn's comments.
Edward9/28/2009 6:44 AM
I am patiently waiting for another excuse for the loss.It is time we accept the proteas are not mentally strong and will always fold under pressure.Very disappointing loss.A team cannot concede 324 runs and expect to win.The bowling is awful.There are only two reliable batsmen in the team;Smith and De Villiers the rest are liabilities.Morkel,Roelof are 20/20 players.Boucher and Gibbs should retire(totally unreliable).
Tubehunter9/28/2009 6:43 AM
Watching the South African strategy is like watching a really talented retard. They will perform to their talent 8 of 10 times, however when the oppostion raises their game they are completely stumped. I can not for the life of me understand why JP Duminy continues to be played during critical periods in the game when the run rate is climbing and he is visibly comfortable to continue at less than a run a ball?? (Did no one tell him the asking rate before they went to the crease was already more than a run a ball???) Albie has far more patience than I would if I was Mr Morkel. He would get a bat to the head from me for burning overs and expecting me to raise the rate to compensate for his ongoing pedestrain effort. There is something seriously lacking in our coaching staff that we can have so many talented players who can not step up and handle the mental aspect of the game. Another BMT moment fail commonly known as choking. Sort your heads out Proteas.
Terry9/28/2009 6:43 AM
We must stop carrying dead wood, ie Boucher, Kallis, Duminy, Morkel (Albie), and for heaven's sake -Ntini! Bowlers have to shine up, they lost the match against Sri Lanka and England.
Wes9/28/2009 6:34 AM
What a bunch of chokers!!! 1999, 2003, 2007 and I'm only talking about World Cups. The SA cricket team will never win a major tournament with the likes of Boucher, Kallis, Gibbs and Mickey around!!
pale darkie9/28/2009 6:32 AM
Now there is no doubt anymore, the PROTEAS are the uncontested CHOKERS of world cricket !!!!! Arme blommetjies, djulle word altyd opgevriet
Hein. Centurion9/28/2009 6:31 AM
I think that the Bowlers were the problem this time around and obviously the whole team needed game time in the centre. Well done Graeme!!!!! maybe next time? (PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
keith9/28/2009 6:30 AM
where are the so called world beaters now? loosing to the poms who had just been trashed 6-1 by the aussies? its wasnt choking, it was just swallowing pride.
Kyle9/28/2009 6:24 AM
Truly pathetic, if they can't admit they are chokers now then i don't know... I hope they know they let the supporters down.. Really poor preparation cost them..
Luke9/28/2009 6:24 AM
choooookers!!
Kyle9/28/2009 6:24 AM
Truly pathetic, if they can't admit they are chokers now then i don't know... I hope they know they let the supporters down.. Really poor preparation cost them..
SAFFA-CAT9/28/2009 6:21 AM
At least we didn't choke.......One has to reach the latter stages of a tournament to do that.....We just crashed and burned. I say again, a few warm up matches would have done the world of good - RUSTYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
AntiCitizenOne9/28/2009 6:20 AM
How pathetic are SA? Losing to England of all teams. Ch-ch-ch-chokers
Choker9/28/2009 6:14 AM
The urge of choking someone or something is greatly enhanced after last night. Well done Proteas.... you never seem to surprise me.
Steadfast9/28/2009 6:09 AM
What a shock. England coming out of a hidding by the Aussies and then beating Sri Lanka and then out playing the Proteas. Wow what a come back. Maybe the Proteas need to re-think the combinations for these tournaments. I did see the Proreas winning or at least make the finals - how wrong can one be. Morkel looks totally out of depth, yet what a talent. Maybe another seamer and only one spinner would have helped. Who knows now. The normal spark the Proteas have shown in past was missing, was it nerves or just ring rust or are they just plain chokers. I will leave the finer details to the so called experts.
norman9/28/2009 6:08 AM
Chokers!
Richard9/28/2009 5:50 AM
Smith with his bad fielding and bowling options had to bat well , but his old battsmen dropped him as well. Need another Captain , leave him to bat.
Jaco9/28/2009 5:41 AM
Deja-Vu. Maybe it is time to stop motivating the opposition with our arrogance before tournaments. Just play the game and do the talking on the field. I am so tired of the same thing happening over and over
docsie9/28/2009 5:39 AM
Oh dear ! Yet again ! I think we should just support the SA cricket team light heartedly. They ain't gonna win anything substantial in a long time. Case closed ! Soccer ? No !!!! Rugby ? Now they are world class !!!
Jan Hofmeyr9/28/2009 5:29 AM
What a rubbish performance. I'd drop the whole side except maybe parnell if I were Smith. At least the proteas probably still rate themselves. They are the number one ego in the world. Well done!
AJ9/28/2009 5:29 AM
SA never took control of the run chase. Why does this team always seem content to bat below the required rate for 40 overs and then hope a powerplay, Morkel and Co will make up the difference at the end. Smith and Duminy were crawling along at one stage (no boundaries for 12 overs) - the powerplay was needed THEN. Teams score 8 an over at innings end without power play in any case. Again, mistimed chase, slightly immature approach, and did not deserve to beat England in this match for sure.
Gavin9/28/2009 5:02 AM
Very simple - you need to win the group matches to be able to play in finals. The South African players who shouted their mouthes off about how great they were and that the team was invinsable, should be ashamed of themselves. Whether this team is deserving of the name ' chokers ' or not is debateable, what is know for sure, is that they were deservadly beaten by a great England team on the day. What gets to me is how the Proteas have such big heads - they need a lesson in humility from the rugby boks!
Engele9/28/2009 4:56 AM
Cough... cough... wheeeze...... hack........ CHOKERS!!!!! Thank God for the Springboks....... these pansies will never bring the sort of pride to its people that the Boks do.
patrys9/28/2009 4:41 AM
We knew this would happen
OMG9/28/2009 4:27 AM
What a bunch of palooka chokers. These guys are too fat to play this game!! England won only 1 out of 7 against the Aussies. OMG what a shameful display at home.
Kieron9/28/2009 4:14 AM
The All Black’s of the Cricket !!! We where Chokers now we don’t even get to the semi’s, if there was a world ranking for winning when it counts we will be last I will even rank Bangladesh for having more of a big match temperament!!
Bronwen Phillips9/28/2009 3:17 AM
this is was going to happen with no game practice and wayward bowling..the Proteas seem incapable of seeing through and winning a tournament unlike the rubgy Boks
GEC9/28/2009 3:06 AM
This was not even a case of chocking, but rather extremely poor preparation, and probably or hopefully no fault of their own. With the tournament scheduled so soon after the southern winter and SA having absolutely no warm up matches to sharpen the players skills, the rustiness was very evident, especially in the bowling and with the opponents scoring big runs, the batsmen were under pressure right from the start. I believe the culprit here is the ICC by not arranging for SA to play in one or two warm up games before a big tournament like this. On the other hand, if these warm up matches were a possibility and SA declined, they only have themselves to blame.
JJ9/28/2009 2:53 AM
Chokers.......
Alibaba9/28/2009 2:36 AM
Oh boy, bad luck. No choking this time, they were beaten on both occasions. Could do with a little less talking and more delivering though.
Tommygun9/28/2009 2:33 AM
I told Mickey Aurther last week at EL airport that the coaching and support staff needed to learn how to perform the " Heimlich Menouver " otherwise they will never win a trophy. HE did not listen so now the cupboard is bare.
ExrsaGuy9/28/2009 2:32 AM
What a bunch of losers. I say bring more AA to the team, can't get any worse. If you are going to fail, at least have the team be black.
Protea supporter9/28/2009 2:15 AM
Its like only G.Smith came to the party today...Maybe not enough decent practise against international teams upcoming to the tournament...Sorry but our bowling attack isnt enough, Parnell took wickets but is way too expensive in all the matches...Welcome back to earth boys and kiss goodbye to the no.1 worldrankings spot...Greame, well done mate, you stood there like the true warrior you are...
Brian Jackson9/28/2009 1:28 AM
There has to be accountability for the failure of the Proteas when it really counts. As good a job a Mickey Arthur may have done to establish the team as one of the best in the business; and professional sport is a business; he has failed to deliver when it matters. It is time to find a coach who can get get this team to perform at the same level and consistency as the Australians.
Kliprand9/28/2009 12:36 AM
I blame Steyn, Botha, Gibbs, Kallis, Duminy and especially de Villiers with his big flippen mouth. Smith was great as a batsman and average as a captain. Everytime the Proteas (thank goodness not the Springboks anymore) open there large mouths before a tournament start you just have to know you're going to choke on your food while you watch them.
kili9/28/2009 12:28 AM
C H O K E R S!!
Peter9/28/2009 12:13 AM
R we really surprised, well done Graham HUGE score!!!!
Van9/28/2009 12:02 AM
Hail Captain Graeme. I have said before that he is the worst captain we have ever had and this tournament's pitiful performance (once again) only highlights that. It's no good the captain posting individual high scores, his job is to lead the team to victory with the bat, ball and in the field. The easiest group by far and we get clubbed by the weakest team, England. Ag, what a shame.
Mundo9/27/2009 11:58 PM
Amaloser Amachokers.. Hahahahahaha.Serves them right..A very overrated team I have to say.. Mark Boucher must go. He has no role in team. AB can be the wicketkeeper..South Africa will only win when its captained by a black man.. for now we will always see SA choke.. Mickey Mouse must also go else SA will be jinxed forever.. Mickey mouse is cursed.. His middle name is Badluck..
cois9/27/2009 11:57 PM
How boring, SUPER CHOKERS,again......again......
Stephan9/27/2009 11:57 PM
Hey, I thought Smith played briliantly. The problem seems to be the bowling tbh. A lot of talent but lacking some depth me thinks. If England are being allowed to post a total above 300, then any team's going to have a hard time chasing those runs under the lights. England played well, Collingwood and Anderson had their thinking caps on today. Morgan and Shah did for England what some of our guys could not do for us unfortunatly. Proteas seem to take one step forward, then three steps back... A kind of "choke" shuffle, if you like.
David9/27/2009 11:50 PM
England (as much as it pains me to say it) were excellent. Smith was inspirational. Each and every other player failed for one reason or another. The death bowling was truly atrocious. Usually in this type of situation,the coach and captain would offer their resignations, however Graeme Smith's knock showed his true character. Mickey Arthur on the other hand was woeful. With a group of players this talented, his sole job is to get the most out of them, and this he has failed to do... repeatedly. The psychological weight on non-performance at tournaments needs to be lifted from the Proteas shoulders. They need to go into these tournaments as though it does not matter. This unfortunately will never be the case. That being said, well done to England, Shah, Morgan and especially Andersen for one of the best spells I have seen in some time. Clinical and professional.
Kliprand9/27/2009 11:39 PM
I blame Steyn, Botha, Gibbs, Kallis, Duminy and especially de Villiers with his big flippen mouth. Smith was great as a batsman and average as a captain. Everytime the Proteas (thank goodness not the Springboks anymore) open there large mouths before a tournament start you just have to know you're going to choke on your food while you watch them.
Matt Nel9/27/2009 11:38 PM
Even though we lost we can all be proud of our boys!
Rob9/27/2009 11:33 PM
ha ha ha, Ha Ha Ha, HA HA HA!
Mr D9/27/2009 11:33 PM
"Knock the World's No 1 Team", they have dropped to third place already.... Shame.... CHOKERS !!!
Gemsbok9/27/2009 11:27 PM
Dale Steyn - You were as bit to early windgat in saying that no other team can beat South Africa. It's a pity that those words comes back to haunt you now. Sorry blommetjies but the other teams i.e. Sri Lanka and the pommy's outplayed you. Our bowlers, accept Parnell failed miserably.
James9/27/2009 11:27 PM
Yipee. I love it to support the proteas because there is no stress in surporting them. I mean in lifr there is no guarantees except for the fact that the proteas will never ever win a ICC-Tournamounent. After the Pro 20 Mickey stated after their return that they are not chockers, I suppose a similar coment will be forthcoming. Be that as it may another tournament and yet again no trophy.
lump of coal9/27/2009 11:23 PM
Cough splutter ,choke, choke .........they spent HOW MUCH on JP in the IPL ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
John9/27/2009 11:22 PM
Pity. They going to get the "chokers" tag attached to them again. But then perhaps they are living up to that standard. As soon as they have the "favourites" tag or get to a point in a competition that is crucial, they seem to lose. Despite always saying that they take each game as it comes, they seem to have some sort of mental barrier they can't shrug when it comes to tournament games that count.
Patrys9/27/2009 11:13 PM
I told you so
Charlene9/27/2009 11:12 PM
A game well played to the Proteas, esp to the captain G. Smith, hats off and a standing ovation to him! it's sad we didn't make it through, but, it was a good game all the same and the guys did well.
Brian9/27/2009 11:12 PM
Think it would be better if our players learned to shut their mouths before being beaten, makes us look like a bunch of a-holes, learn from John Smit, be humble, he is a true SA leader, best captain in the country, with the results to back him
jla9/27/2009 11:12 PM
i said it in a previous mail - our batting sucks and we have to stop thinking that a run a ball and out bowling will sort it. Well there you go, i was wrong - it was a run a ball plus one more run, to be precise. We always get it wrong tactically and we always play the wrong people at the wrong time. Our best hitters are always put in place with 7 to 10 overs to spare....are you effing mad?!!! Graeme Smith and the selectors should know better. As for that idiot Steyn...if he really said what he said then I would drop him for a whole season at just so that he can learn some humility. we are not chokers; we are lemmings. It is a prescription for failure every time we take to the pitch but it is always some individual heroics that save the day (apart from today and every other major competition) so we carry on with a recipe for disaster. Dippenaar was a nightmare in one day cricket but we kept with him. Kluzener was a genious but he always batted too late. Now we have the same pattern of selection because we think we can contain anyone with our bowling. Well, wake up Mickey, our bowling aint that hot. Australia will win this because they understand tactics and urgency. We got it right once...once. Now piss off and hand over to someone with some spirit. P.S, sorry about the spelling
Shan9/27/2009 11:11 PM
I cannot believe that the guys could not do it again. We are the best in the F***ing world yet we can't make it to the semi's???? Congrats to Smith but i mean really.............. Maybe PDV should come and teach the proteas how it is done.
BiffFan9/27/2009 11:11 PM
Well done Graeme Smith on your wonderful knock. Too bad the bowlers didn't help the team out.
eProteasupporter9/27/2009 11:11 PM
You cannot keep doing this to us, U need to be more flexible with our batting line up, Open with Kallis and Smith , Use a Pinch Hitter at Number 3 , De Villiers 4, Gibbs 5, JP 6, Boucher 7, Try different things. England was begging us to win with drop cat ches , missfields etc, u cannot leak 300+ scores and expect to win. I am no longer a Proteas supporter , Go Pakistan my new green team.
Theunis9/27/2009 11:10 PM
I wish to comment on the fact the the Mr Smith was denied a runner twice ....
Andre9/27/2009 11:08 PM
Its time to shut up before tournaments and big games. Keep quiet and go about your business winning games. Games and tournaments are not won because you were arrogant enough to say that you are going to win it. ONLY country with no international games beforehand. 'We are so good, we don't need it'... Yeah right
Charlene9/27/2009 11:07 PM
A game well played to the Proteas, esp to the captain G. Smith, hats off and a standing ovation to him! a bit disappointed that we didn't make it through, nevertheless, it was a good game and the guys did well.
Gustav van Rooyen9/27/2009 11:05 PM
Bunch of chokers
Graham9/27/2009 11:04 PM
of course we are all correct.........they choked just like every other time....it is so predictable...and they are no.1 - The real no.1 team is the Aussies -- it is no longer a dispointment because we know the Proteas will loose, even before the game is played..........why not concede now before England start there tour?
Rob9/27/2009 11:03 PM
ha ha ha ha, Ha Ha Ha, HA HA HA!
sean9/27/2009 11:02 PM
serves them right !! Arrogant fools
Peter J9/27/2009 11:02 PM
Chokers title is confirmed!
DPH9/27/2009 11:02 PM
Chokers! South Africa are Cricket's equivalent of the All Blacks. Only good when they are not under the pressure associated with a major tournament!
Mrs Smith 9/27/2009 11:01 PM
Ja, here we go again. I am imagining the comments and headlines. Still love you guys. I was disappointed though when Strauss refused Smithy a runner.
Neville9/27/2009 11:01 PM
Not sure where to start ? Straus proved by not allowing Smith a runner that he is not the sportsman or gentleman we thought . Smith proved he not a hero or a captain , he should then have retired when Straus said no, there was enough batting to come. Chokers ???? .Steyns comments before Sri Lanka game , then Roelofs comments before England game. Wish our guys would let their playing do the talking , not their mouths. Come on guys , Yes You Can.
jsnoopy9/27/2009 10:59 PM
South Africa won ICC Championship trophy in 1998 lets not forget that.
jsnoopy9/27/2009 10:59 PM
South Africa won ICC Championship trophy in 1998 lets not forget that.
tony cape town9/27/2009 10:58 PM
why - why - WHY - WHY !!!!! too much ego - too much self importance - and too much - bookies - ????!!!!!!
Ash9/27/2009 10:57 PM
Well another unsuccesful tournament! Why? Surely the administrators must realise that something is not right, and this 'something' is our predictability. We are too predictable when it comes to the big tournaments and make it too easy for the opposition to plan against us. We need to do things differently. Maybe open bowling with a spinner, open batting with say Morkel. If we refuse to change from our game plan then I'm afraid we cannot expect to win too many tournaments.
tony9/27/2009 10:53 PM
Why am i not surprised...we choked(same old)
Theuns9/27/2009 10:53 PM
Ah well, and again the Proteas choke.. Can't say I'm disappointed, seeing that I had to expect it; still is a sour pill to swallow, though. What's with Strauss, not allowing Smith a runner?! Idiot!
Renaldo9/27/2009 10:51 PM
ummm.... Chokers anyone? Someone seriously need to teach these boys the Heimlich.... Smith and Parnell brilliant though...
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Tyson hates my guts - Bolt

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Sharks to show their true colors 9/3/2010 9:23:45 AM

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Vote

The Proteas have crashed out of the ICC Champions Trophy on home soil, adding to the growing belief they are a team of chokers... do you agree?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.