ICC revamp Women's CWC

2014-01-29 17:01
ICC logo (File)

London - A new international championship, which will determine qualification for the next Women's World Cup, was announced by the International Cricket Council on Wednesday.

The bilateral competition will involve the top eight ranked women's teams in the world -- including England, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa, India and Pakistan.

They will all play the others in a series of matches between mid-2014 to the end of 2016, with the top six qualifying automatically for the 2017 Women's World Cup in England.

Unlike changes to the men's international programme announced on Tuesday, there will be promotion and relegation at the end of the first cycle.

"This is a very positive step for the profile and competitiveness of women's cricket," said ICC chief executive David Richardson, in a statement issued from the governing body's Dubai headquarters on the second and final day of its board meeting on Wednesday.

"The ICC Women's World Cup last year set a new benchmark in terms of quality and public interest and with this added context the pathway to the 2017 event in England looks really exciting," former South Africa wicket-keeper Richardson added.

The bottom countries at the end of the International Women's Championship will be joined by a number of teams from the ICC's regional qualification structures to play in a Women's World Cup qualifier which will determine the final participants.

Read more on:    icc  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.