ICC rejects Bangladesh claims

2012-03-26 18:10
ICC logo (File)

Islamabad - The International Cricket Council (ICC) has rejected Bangladesh's claim that they were deprived of five penalty runs in their two-run loss to Pakistan in the Asia Cup final last week.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board claims Pakistan bowler Aizaz Cheema deliberately blocked batsman Mahmudullah when he attempted a second run on the first ball of the 50th over.

Australian umpire Steve Davis failed to signal for any penalty runs and play resumed after he had talked with Cheema.

An ICC spokesperson says the "umpire's decision is final and it cannot be changed."

Bangladesh say they will make a written complain to the Asian Cricket Council.

With Bangladesh needing nine runs from the last over, Cheema conceded six to deny Bangladesh victory.

Read more on:    cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.