Cricket

Gibbs to call it quits?

2009-12-09 23:05
Email | Print
Herschelle Gibbs (Gallo Images)

Eduan Roos

Johannesburg – South Africa may soon be without their 438 batting hero. Sport24 has heard from reliable sources that Herschelle Gibbs is planning to end a Proteas career that has spanned 13 years.

The 35-year-old Capetonian was recently omitted from South Africa’s one-day side after also being axed from the Test team nearly two years ago.

Gibbs played the last of his 90 Tests in January last year, but represented the Proteas in the Champions Trophy tournament as recently as September.

He was axed from the one-day side in October and his replacement, Alviro Petersen, has scored plenty of runs in the series against England.

“It has nothing to do with the fact that he has been omitted for the umpteenth time,” someone close to Gibbs told Sport24.

“While there are still a few options to consider, he feels that he has had enough after such a long career.”

Gibbs apparently already considered quitting last year, but ultimately decided to continue fighting for his Proteas spot.

“The reality is that he should already have retired last year as he wanted to finish his career on a high in order to safeguard his legacy.”

Gibbs is still likely to be available to play in the Indian Premier League and for the Cape Cobras.

He was one of the world’s most lethal opening batsmen for a long period and probably the most gifted stroke-player in the country.

His innings of 175 in the so-called 438 game against Australia four years ago is still considered the best in the history of the one-day game.

However, his batting heroics have been overshadowed by a number of scandals off the field, which were brought to a head when he was axed last year because of alcohol abuse and ordered into a rehabilitation programme.

Gibbs kept struggling for form and he scored the last of his one-day centuries in April against Australia in Port Elizabeth.

Proteas coach Mickey Arthur maintains that Gibbs is in his plans for the 2011 World Cup in India and is not aware of the player’s intentions.

Neither Gibbs nor his agent, Donné Commins, wanted to comment.

Your Comments

dumisani ndumo2/19/2010 4:54 PM
yoh! Hersch! South Africa will miss you a lot! coz if you would ask me, I'd say you are by far the greatest batsman south african cricket has ever known! You are better and more talented than Ricky Ponting who is actualy recognised as the player of the decade
blacksmith2/9/2010 5:38 PM
without a doubt the best in the game when it comes to clearing the ball off the boundry ropes. the only problem he had was him being inconsistant.but creates a classics when he is at his best, i dont even remeber when i fell in love with his style of play .plays the most beautiful cover drive only with a defensive push he is my child hood hero i salut u gibbsy . still cant forgive you for not gettting rid of the 194 by saeed anwar ;)
sarah12/11/2009 12:58 PM
G GREAT I INCREDIBLE B BRILLIANT B BLESSED S SUPERB we will miss you dearly Herschel, all the best for the future
Llewellyn12/11/2009 10:01 AM
Well done Gibbs, going to be missed in the batting line-up and fielding department. You have served your country well with the BAT. There is no other batsmen that can meet your qualification, unpredictibillity and flamboyent batting skills. I'm sure we will still the flamboyant GIBBS in our local cricket and all the IPL to come in the FUTURE. Well done and Good luck for the future BOET.
Auzzie12/11/2009 9:46 AM
Gibbsie my boy...do'nt do it yet son...push the envelope you still got it in you.CSA and the Mafia(Greame,Kallis,Boucher) sits behind this believe me.Ask Greame when he found out that his ex-girlfriend flirted around with Zulu...it cost him his place in the national team.This time around it's just a bit different but still the same vendetta launched at someone who made them look ordinary on the field.Kallis is a croc, boucher liquorish all-out-of-sorts) and Biff can't lead either...one-dimensional like his coach that should also depart with them too.Brilliant plan CSA and Majola!...call him back into the team just to make him the fall-guy and scape-goat for you inefficient leadership and dull vision.
TD12/11/2009 9:42 AM
Very dissapointed it brings another close to our great teamthe likes of Cronje, Donald, Pollock, Rhodes, Klusener . Gibss sure was an exciting player.
keith12/10/2009 7:22 PM
glen,collitjies,colin,sean, there are so many players who got countless chances, he is talented, he is gifted, he is one of the best in the world, he has not retired as yet, who knows with mickey and co not around he could do it again, you lot must have been watching with your eyes closed for the last 13 years . wake up you idiots.
glen12/10/2009 6:01 PM
Not a role model . Please go.
KEITH12/10/2009 4:39 PM
the majority of the comments speak for themselves, Hersch will truly be missed, Kallis was never a oneday player, too boring. colin and co. drop dead, you are jealous of his achievements and probably a bunch of idiots.WELL DONE MR.GIBBS !!!
spindoc12/10/2009 3:13 PM
..come on now...lay off the Kallis issue...he is regarded around the world(except SA) as one of the Greatest All rounders in both forms of the game...this is about HG....a great player in his own rights who will be sadly missed but always remembered for his flambuoyant nature....i wish you all the best in whatever you do...
Brandon12/10/2009 2:06 PM
Will become a T20 legend. Stay here and play for Province chief, we need it.
Christo12/10/2009 12:35 PM
If Gibbs decide to retire..I wish to say ; Thanks for all the entertainment lad. On many occasions you pulled it through for us. I , for one, will certainly miss Herchelle on the field and in the middle. A very unpredictive player. You never know what to expect when he arrives at the crease. One hell of talent. Awesome batsmen and terrific fielder. On many occasions you made us proud. Our 438-hero...it will never be forgotten. I truly think we have an equally talented player in Alviro Petersen, replacing Herchelle. Give Alviro enough time in the middle and he will be SA`s next best. He showed his worth against England and surely he will in the test series. Magnificent timer of the ball, clean hitter and the temperament to go with it. Alviro Petersen is the right man to have in the starting 11. I think, England can start shaking in their boots by now. All the best to Petersen. Go boy !!!
Keon12/10/2009 12:11 PM
NOOO - GIBBS=Cricket2 - He is a legend. Sachin tendulkar has said he is the most talented batsmen in world cricket and the greatest fast bowler of his time said he is the batsman they feared most. GIVE the man 10 tests to make his hundred appearences - let him go out on his own terms, no side will ever be weaker by alowing him to play his final 10. He is a Hero, well mine at least. CRICKET IS NOT CRICKET WITHOUT GIBBS
wim12/10/2009 12:06 PM
gibbs...what a guy!!
Rampage12/10/2009 12:06 PM
Please don't go !!!!!!!! U ARE A LEGEND LET US GIVE U A SEND OFF ONE MORE AT NEWLANDS WHERE IT ALL STARTED PLAYER OF PLAYERS KING OF ALL KINGS SIR GIBBS WHEN U DO RETIRE DON'T U WANT TO TAKE BOUCHER WITH U.
Collitjies12/10/2009 11:53 AM
He should have been got rid of as a batsman long ago. His fielding I must admid was second to none. However cricket teams need all rounders. Kallis should be next on the list. There are many up and coming youngsters, given the correct training will do far better than the above mentioned players.
anon12/10/2009 11:20 AM
The James Small of cricket. Will also be completely forgotten in 10 years.
Rishen12/10/2009 11:09 AM
Gibbs will be sadly missed. One guy mentioned the dropping of th ball in '99 which cost us the World Cup. Gibbs, if u reading this, then that is your motivation to stay. Come on - u fit and in prime condition. Win us the world cup. On other comments: - 1) Gibbs is spectacular and gifted and not taking anything away from him. I personally believe that he is/was the second most gifted batsman after Daryll Cullinan. This guy was all elegance in every shot. - 2) I also get extremely annoyed with Kallis when he plays ODI's previously, especially his innings that cost us the world cup match against Aus when Smith and De Villiers where cruising and got out. I think we were changing 370 or there abouts. However, one guys comment stated that he can't remember Kallis winning us an ODI. So true, but that's the thing about Kallis. He is the anchor on the one end that allows for players like Gibbs to play their shots. Coz they have confidene that Kallis will hold up one end. So, give him a break. Plus Kallis has improved his ODI strike rate of late. Here's to the Gibbs retirement story being false and more of a wake up call to the selectors to not forget him!
Rishen12/10/2009 11:02 AM
Gibbs will be sadly missed. One guy mentioned the dropping of th ball in '99 which cost us the World Cup. Gibbs, if u reading this, then that is your motivation to stay. Come on - u fit and in prime condition. Win us the world cup. On other comments: - 1) Gibbs is spectacular and gifted and not taking anything away from him. I personally believe that he is/was the second most gifted batsman after Daryll Cullinan. This guy was all elegance in every shot. - 2) I also get extremely annoyed with Kallis when he plays ODI's previously, especially his innings that cost us the world cup match against Aus when Smith and De Villiers where cruising and got out. I think we were changing 370 or there abouts. However, one guys comment stated that he can't remember Kallis winning us an ODI. So true, but that's the thing about Kallis. He is the anchor on the one end that allows for players like Gibbs to play their shots. Coz they have confidene that Kallis will hold up one end. So, give him a break. Plus Kallis has improved his ODI strike rate of late. Here's to the Gibbs retirement story being false and more of a wake up call to the selectors to not forget him!
sad...12/10/2009 10:41 AM
sad to see you go...but more sad is that when people ask you bout you career the only thing that will be spoken about is that 438game...except for the 1st champions trophy tournament has the team won any other major tournament???
lolo12/10/2009 10:01 AM
i will forvere mis those beautiful cover drives. His contribution to the game is a good example of why cricket should be made accessible to all races. At his best, he made great players like Glen Mcgrath and Cautney Walsh look ordinary. Who would ever forget his 6 sixes in one over.
Doc12/10/2009 9:46 AM
Gibbs, Ponting & Afridi. Strokes of genius.
Larry12/10/2009 9:43 AM
I dont look forward to SA batting without Gibbs being in the line-up, it really sux but I am definately gonna miss you. SAs most gifted, exciting & charismatic cricketer is exiting the world stage :(
pdw12/10/2009 9:31 AM
That'll be a sad,sad loss for the sport. I remember seeing him giving Gim lessons in rugby and cricket, long before playing against our heroes. He is a true great of the game, and I reckon there's a few tests in him yet, but he's been around for almost 20 years! I guess I'd be gatvol as well.
Zeek912/10/2009 9:26 AM
Scooter!!!, you can't quit now.You still have plenty of cricket in you. As much as they talk about form etc, you a great player and the best opening batsmen this country has seen. You are always my cricket hero. Salute Hersch!!!!
Griffin12/10/2009 9:25 AM
Come on Hersch! Just try the "practicing" thing.....I know you prefer to play on instinct but just give a good net session a try. GIBBS + NOTHING = LEGEND!
Celboo12/10/2009 9:22 AM
HG, by far a better player than Jacques Kallis. Jacques plays for himself, let the first 10 overs go waisted and when he reaches his 50 then only he wants to participate with his other colleagues
retired cricketer12/10/2009 9:17 AM
They shouldnt wait for him to "retire". he like so many others in the game should be sacked. It's time that all the dead wood was cut out and cricket pruned so that new shoots can grow and blossom. The game has become the pits over the past few years with Smith at the helm. Problem is it's no longer a game to enjoy when the bottom line is money. For everyone of the "old Guard" there are 10 in the wings more than ready to take over and bring glory back into the game.
Candi12/10/2009 9:03 AM
Nooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please say this aint true - you'e probably the reason I fell in love with cricket...
Nick12/10/2009 9:02 AM
Most exciting batsmen and fielder our country has produced. At his peak Gibbs was the most lethal and destructive batsman in the world. He demonstrated that class and talent is not linked to race. We need to unearth all the other Gibb's in the country as a matter of urgency.
kurt12/10/2009 9:00 AM
Hersch try to push to the next world cup. You are still way better then any of the current players in the protea squad.Just a pity it is not about talent but rather if you in the Smith Kallis Mickey mouse club.
Cricket Chick12/10/2009 8:53 AM
It sucks that your calling it quits on your international career but I think the time is right. You were a great opening batsman. On any given day, you could easily destroy any bowling attack. We love you Gibbs!
RudiS12/10/2009 8:51 AM
Gibbs is a legend. I feel honoured to have witnessed his whole career. Thanks for the entertainmnet Herschelle!!!
William12/10/2009 8:47 AM
you could have been one of the greats of the game but that extra 10% was not there....it come through every now and again ..but few and far apart.... and then you never won that world cup back for us which you lost by dropping Steve Waugh when Australia was down and out in 99
Paul C12/10/2009 8:38 AM
Oh yeah ... this guy was simply magnificent when on song - his stroke play was the best i have ever seen ... effortless and flamboyant! Talent in abundance ... brilliant, swift and accurate in the field ... still think you could have done better Herch ... yet you still gave us enormous pleasure! What a Boykie!!
Gerhard12/10/2009 8:37 AM
Thx Gibbsi for your world wide entertainment. I loved your batting and your fielding was great. Give back to the Cobras what you learned in your carreer and maybe you can discover anoyher Gibbs.Your talent will be missed.
Semloh12/10/2009 8:35 AM
Gibbs will go down as a great because he has actually won matches for SA, Kallis will go down as a great purely on stats. I dont want to bring Kallis down (great Test match batsman), but I am struggling to think of matches (ODI's I am talking about) where Kallis has actually won the match for us (not setup with a steady 50). Gibbs has done this plenty of times and will be missed!
me212/10/2009 8:35 AM
Mr Gibbs, who will ever forget the knock you played of 175 on Wanderes against the Oz..in our highest run chase of 438...Nobody gave the proteas any chance that day..then in came Gibbs and it was raining 6's & 4's.....You will surely be missed..SA's most exciting batsman & fielder..
fan12/10/2009 8:31 AM
Best batsman that SA has has produced?? huh? Kallis is the greastest batsman in the modern era that we have produced...gibbs is perhaps a more gifted stroke player but never produced consistently enough...he never has done justice to his talent while kallis is the most gifted all-round cricketer...
stan12/10/2009 8:22 AM
If there is one player that can bounch back......yes you've guessed it, its Mr. Gibbs! Show them Gibbs! Don't go yet - Mickey would want to take 'has beens' like Boucher to the world Cup and they would need a back-up plan for their batting...so just concentrate on the domestic scene and show them how its done...I suppose writing a book could also work (where in you spill all about the team cliques and why Boucher was kept on)
NeilA@ sedick12/10/2009 8:21 AM
although i agree that Gibbs was our most exciting player, cricket is not only always about boombangboom, test cricket has its place and Kalliis was streets ahead of Gibbs in this regard, just like professional cricketers the world over, test cricket is still the ultimate,when you learn more about cricket you will understand.... its just a pity the Indian Premier League will ruin the great game as we know it.
Zulu 12/10/2009 8:20 AM
The BIG NOOOOOOH man , u stil young dont do it, our country needs u buddy
Jakes12/10/2009 8:09 AM
The only player with AB to match KP batting and Jonty fielding
Wiggle12/10/2009 8:09 AM
....sad sad sad day in RSA - we salute a hero - a team player an awesome fielder - brilliant batter - this is what MA & CSA wanted Gibbs to do - other countries - the players get a good send off - bonus year - all the grounds and fans say the GB's - only Gibbs are treated like a dog - MA Majola should be over the moon now
steve12/10/2009 8:05 AM
Better than Kallis? Are you crazy! More talented,. yes. Probably the most talented player in the last decade, but he was far too inconsistent to be considered a great. He won a few matches for us but made more ducks than anyone. Since his 175 against the Aussies, he's done nothing. Yes, he was great to watch when on song, but sadly, that was not often enough.
Thomas12/10/2009 8:03 AM
Great openining batsman ever. Ask the Australians, they will tell you. Thanks very much Mr Gibbs. You will be missed
Colin12/10/2009 7:56 AM
The sooner the better
Mike12/10/2009 7:31 AM
At 35 he's still a spring chicken! Watch him "find himself" again once the pressures/disappointments of SA selection are a thing of the past. Herschelle, you WIZARD you!!
Julian12/10/2009 7:30 AM
Hersch. I bought the 438 dvd because of your amazing innings. I've been entertained by your wonderful talent countless times. I am so sorry that you might retire from the Proteas. I hope that you carry on playing (maybe county) so more people can see you in action. I believe you still have a lot of cricket in you. Good luck bru, you are an awesome player.
Geoff12/10/2009 7:23 AM
For me, this will be a very sad day. Hersch you were great to watch. Even when your wicket fell cheaply there was always something to look forward to. To me you were one of the best batsman ever to grace the filed. As Sedick says, Jacques is probably the better cricketer, but you were the best batsman SA produced. If indeed you retire, I pray that you won't be lost to the game but will plough back your experience into the community you grew up in. But i beg you not to go until you played at least another series or tournament for SA. Salute my Bra!!!
Suppa12/10/2009 7:16 AM
I saw Herschelle in his first first class match aged 16 being killed by Fanie de Villiers and Tersius Bosch but still make 36. I saw the 'Herschelle Gibbs Show" in the Craven Week final (RUGBY!) where he tuanted, outwitted and humiliated Northen Transvaal in the most masterful performance I have ever seen from a full-back. It was a game of such class that the locals thought he could play Springbok before 20. I was also at the game in Port Elizabeth where he scored the last national century and made us all smile. If he did not have the personal problems there is no limit to what he could have added to an already impressive career. We really enjoyed watching a true entertainer.
George12/10/2009 7:04 AM
One of the most talented cricketers to have graced the world's cricket fields.Congratulations on a remarkable career - let's remember Herschelle for what he was,one damn fine cricketer with a character to boot.It will be a long time,if ever,before another prodigious talent such as Herschelle is unearthed.
franc12/10/2009 6:51 AM
Thanks for the good times Herch we will miss your antics on and off the field. Please just do us all a favor and ask Mark Boucher to please join you in retirement.
Gibbsy12/10/2009 6:01 AM
Gibbsy, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, don't do it buddy, you can still make it to the next world cup.
sean12/10/2009 5:23 AM
End it brother , you are class , just not sure why you got so many chances ??? WONDER WHY !!!!!!!! R.I.P lol
pete12/10/2009 5:14 AM
Can't deny that you are one of the greatest players SA has had in a long time! You will leave us (should you retire) with some great moments that will long after your retirement still be spoken of and be difficult to beat. Thanks for the exciting times and fond memories!
Majiet12/10/2009 12:16 AM
Gibbsy...you are a real jack in the box character.You have done us as South Africans proud whenever on the cricket turf.You had your off the field moments and was at times on the front page for the wrong reasons...but you truly a legend of your era....i salute you Herch!!
sedick12/10/2009 12:06 AM
Best batsman to play for SA in new era - better than Kallis, who is the better cricketer - but sooooooooooooo boring, and plays for himself/stats. Gibbs, you will be missed, but you have been messed around by CSA/Mickey Mouse for too long....Thanks for the memories.
Ryan12/9/2009 11:19 PM
Gibbs - you're a character and were good to meet in person. If you retire you'll be sorely missed by the game that you were such a great ambassador for. Thanks for many great memories Herschelle!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Victoria Azarenka collapses

Roger Federer chocolate ad

Francois Hougaard - try-saving tackle

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

It's monstrous! It's the Leopards vs Pumas!

Featured Blog

John Mitchell, a world class, former All Black coach, has been released from his contract by the Western Force to coach the Lions. If there's one coach that can restore the Lion's roar it is John Mitchell, so says Lobo...

Latest blogs

Playing the game for a good cause 9/3/2010 9:10:49 AM

Amazed Angry Gutted 9/3/2010 8:06:50 AM

Don't shoot the messenger... 9/3/2010 7:50:37 AM

Vote

Now that the several versions of the game have had some time to settle, which is the version that tickles your fancy the most?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Newsletters Sign up for Sport24's Morning Glory newsletter

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

Free email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.