For sale: An IPL team slot

2012-10-14 10:08
Board of Control for Cricket in India (File)

New Delhi - The Indian Premier League (IPL) on Sunday took out newspaper advertisements inviting bids to set up a new team to play in the glitzy Twenty20 tournament that has transformed cricket in recent years.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which owns the event, is looking to replace the cash-strapped Deccan Chargers, who were thrown out for financial violations including failing to pay players.

The advertisement, placed in the Times of India, said that the new team had to be based in one of 12 named cities, including Ahmedabed, Dharamshala, Hyderabad and Kochi.

"The winning bidder will be granted the right to own and operate a new team which will compete in the IPL each year from and including 2013," it said.

The BCCI added that the franchise would have to meet its eligibility criteria, and would have the right to qualify for the international Champions League Twenty20.

Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers were expelled from the IPL on Saturday after its owners failed to meet a deadline to submit $19m as guarantee money to the Bombay High Court.

Deccan Chronicle Holdings, a media company that bought the team for $107m before the inaugural IPL in 2008, announced last week it had agreed to sell the franchise to a Mumbai-based real estate firm.

But the deal now appears uncertain, with the team's existence in doubt amid further legal wrangling.

The IPL has been a huge commercial hit in India, attracting large television audiences and many of the world's best players such as Chris Gayle and Kevin Pietersen, but it has also been dogged by controversy.

The Kochi Tuskers were expelled last year over a financial dispute, while an attempt to eject the Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab over breaking ownership rules was blocked after a court battle.

IPL founder Lalit Modi fled India for London after being sacked in 2010 over allegations of corruption and money-laundering.

The Deccan Chargers, who had players like Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka and South African fast bowler Dale Steyn in their ranks, won the tournament in 2009 but finished second-last this season.

Bids for the new team must be lodged by October 25, with the sixth edition of the IPL scheduled for April-May next year.

Read more on:    ipl  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

The Proteas have announced plans to play a four-day Test against Zimbabwe starting on Boxing Day. What do you make of this?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.