England in SA

Smith: England lost focus

2010-01-18 07:46
Email | Print
Graeme Smith (File)

Christo Buchner

Johannesburg – England lost the fourth and final Test against South Africa at the Wanderers because of spending too much time and energy on getting caught up in the controversial referral system.

That was the view of Proteas captain Graeme Smith following his side’s victory by an innings and 74 runs.

“They lost focus during the Test and did not concentrate on what they needed to do,” said Smith.

England captain Andrew Strauss disagreed.

“It was not the reason that we lost. We lost the Test on the first morning when we lost four wickets in the first hour. We were on the back foot from the first delivery of the Test when I was dismissed,” he said.

“This wicket was also made for (Dale) Steyn and (Morné) Morkel to bowl on.”

The two South African opening bowlers were jointly named man of the match.

“We did not meet expectations at all in this Test and it was three-and-a-half very frustrating days,” said Strauss.

He also concedes that South Africa played superbly and did not give them a look-in.

Smith said that his team could just as well have won the series 3-1, referring to the Tests at Centurion and Newlands where the Proteas needed only one more wicket in each case to win the Test.

“The reality is that we could not land the knockout punch on two occasions. But I don’t feel it was a miscarriage of justice that we did not win the series,” said Smith.

“It was a great series that was very competitive and that is the terrific thing about sport – to be able to have a duel like this with England.”

He is also delighted with the way in which the bowlers performed in the fourth test.

“We bowled aggressively and with a lot of determination. The newcomers, Wayne Parnell and Ryan McLaren, also slotted in well and the future looks bright,” said Smith.
In Steyn and Morkel, South Africa also now have a combination with the new ball that can take them far.

Smith praised the Test wicket that had been prepared by groundsman Chris Scott.

“It was nice to play on a wicket that offered something for everyone,” he said.

Your Comments

jade1/19/2010 11:15 AM
@all..Reality south afric a could not take the twenty wickets when required in the drawn matches. They just didnt do it.. I enjoyed the matches. The English have attitude..I like that.. The proteas should accept that they have to step up to get to number one. The english made the games fantastic, nail bitting, worth paying for!!!
Sam@Jannas1/19/2010 8:45 AM
Sorry Boet, you lost this debate, run along now
saffia1/18/2010 11:31 PM
@justathought. The man has an attitude problem. Fullstop
justathought1/18/2010 8:08 PM
Whats with the Stuart Broad witch hunt? There are perfectly good explanaitions for all of his 'crimes' which you guys are choosing to ignore. When he supposedly stamped on the ball, he simply lifted his foot to stop the ball as it rolled towards him. The idea that a fast bowler would trample on a new ball (it was 15 overs old) is ludicrous. He could never have known where he would have damaged it, and how, so that idea is nonsense. The match referee and ICC agreed that there was no case to answer. When he referred his decision for the catch off his glove, he wasn't disputing the fact that the ball touched his glove. He was asking the 3rd umpire if his hand was still on the bat handle, as he was in the process of taking it off the handle when the ball hit it. If his hand had not been in contact with the handle when the ball struck it, he would not have been out. I think that's reasonable grounds to enquire. His discussion about how long teams have to appeal a decision was a polite enquiry, not an argument. This is the first time England have played using the referral system, and they are learning as they go along. Finally, he is 23 years old. He isn't the finished article, nor does he claim to be perfect. He plays with passion and aggression, neither of which is a bad thing. Give him a break. What was Graeme Smith like as a 23 year old?
GuruStu1/18/2010 7:30 PM
The South African team is the best team in the world!!! However they dont realise it. They will know after we beat India, the Indians will be grieving in they local Lassie Bar... Look at the Australian team, they oooozzed superiority! I wanna see the proteas dominate like they dominate the Chelsea flower show!
Stag1/18/2010 6:15 PM
Most of the pro fans here are confusing the team’s achievements with the captain’s achievements. I rate the Proteas as the best team in world cricket at the moment but they always fail when under pressure. Narcissism and leadership are a proven failure as the military academies worldwide found out many years ago. When troops are under pressure they (like our players) will not “die” for their leader. I believe that this is the main reason our lads fail when under pressure. Nobody like a “windgat”
Biff Fan 1/18/2010 5:19 PM
Terence, you hit the nail on the head. Where are all those comments of "Proteas is (sic) all Chockers!!!!!!!!!!!!!(sic)" now? The Proteas rock. I'd take one Wayne Parnell and Morne Morkel over England's best XI any day. Why? Because they have cojones. Look it up.
Jannas1/18/2010 5:08 PM
Smith is the cricket equvalent to the rugby clown De Villiers - he cannot keep his trap shut when he should. And mr Wilson, it's you faithfull Smith groupies that are the idiots. You are as embarassing as him.
Terence1/18/2010 4:35 PM
Well done Proteas. where are all the Boucher haters now? Cmon, you guys have always had something to say, where are you now?????? Pathetic, glad he shut you all up. well done Mark on a great series, not just your batting, but also your keeping and leadership.
George Wilson1/18/2010 3:48 PM
Sounds like a bunch of idiots reading through these pages. Smith will go down as our best Captain ever. He and Mickey Arthur have taken this team to a new level and this legacy will continue for years to come. We did deserve to win 3 - 1 and any POM with half a brain will admit that. If any POM had a full brain he will also admit that England are simply not good enough to force the game and will always just sit back and wait for the game to develop and live off mistakes. It is easy to criticize Smith for his comments, try emulate him first, if you cannot, pack your bags and emigrate to the land of mediocrity.....England.
Thomas@Jannas1/18/2010 2:46 PM
WOW, you supported that with so many facts, my mind Is at a loss, A sponsored party ha Ha Ha
Raj1/18/2010 1:43 PM
Rayale - if you exclude the things you mentioned you should factor in that if we had 20 minutes extra peer test in the 1st and 3rd test we would have won those as well. Don't be stupid- you want to factor in if's and maybe's for solid fact??? and then declare a winner??? Consider the English apporach to the low sight-screen issue when we were touring there last year. We play hard and it is up to the umpires to enforce the rules - they confirmed that Smith wasn't out so what are you complaining about....Stewart Broad stood when he gloved the ball- and the umpires had to make the call....the Englisk are kak...and they know it!!!!
rinono1/18/2010 1:20 PM
why do people hate our captain with such passion?????? very strange indeed.Can these people advice on which cricketer they think can do a better job than Smith?
Jannas1/18/2010 1:04 PM
@Thomas. Probably at a party where SAB sponsored them with free liquor. Question is... can they remember voting or did someone just grab the guest list?
Thomas@Jannas1/18/2010 12:08 PM
Zolani Quote from wisdon Cricket, The Panel That rated Smith as a great captain, They are happy to be associated with smith,
Ant1/18/2010 11:44 AM
Well said Zolani. The mind boggles as to what these fools would like Smith to do and say - he is a brilliant captain with the record to prove it. There is no other SA cricket captain with a record that comes even close to his. His batting average as an opening batsman is above 50 which is remarkable. His interviews are always spot on and overseas journalists are always impressed by the guy. His players adore him and he shows faith in them too. What more do we want??? Obviously from some of the comments here we need a captain who scores 100 every time he bats, wins every test and then tells the oposing team how great they were, and how he's learn't some valuble lessons from them. The main lesson he learned from this England team was how not to behave like spoilt losers when decisions don't go your way in a test match. VIVA Captain fantastic Graeme Smith. PS You should have heard the applause he got from the Wanderers every time he approached the boundry ropes. Apparently it's not only the players and the coaching staff and the visiting media who love him and rate him so highly.
Jannas1/18/2010 11:40 AM
@Zolani and Patriot Typical GS supporters, cannot take criticism and resorting to personal attacks. You are as bad as your hero that you so worship. Enjoy. He is still a poor example to our young sportsmen. I'm sure some of the names that Zolani dropped will be horrified if they see that they are linked to GS.
@Pete1/18/2010 11:26 AM
Interesting comment considering there was only 4 tests and NOT 5!!!
Patriot@Zolani1/18/2010 10:47 AM
You tell them Zolani, I to rate Smith as a Fantastic Captain and The list of Important World Cricketers opinion of Smiths Captaincy far outways dim witts like Herman,Wd3,tyza, Jannaz etc, I think Smith Shagged, Tyza's girl, thats why he hates smith so much
zolani@Herman1/18/2010 10:21 AM
we are proud of Smith as captain, and a player, I only play Club cricket, but Im yet to meet a cricket player who does not rate him as a fantastic Captain, So Dont take my opinion for it, Take the head of the Wisdon Cricket Panel, was what he achieved as captain, leading his team to 33 Test wins - more than any other South African captain - and 74 ODI wins. Under his leadership South Africa recorded historic Test series wins in Australia and England, Take theese guys opinion on what a great Captain Smith is, not theese Bozo Bloggers, Jonathan Agnew, BBC cricket correspondent; Mushtaq Ahmed, former Pakistan legspinner; Sambit Bal, Cricinfo editor; Scyld Berry, editor, Wisden Cricketers' Almanack; Rahul Bhattacharya, writer; Harsha Bhogle, writer and TV presenter; Geoff Boycott, former England opener; Alex Brown, deputy editor, Cricinfo; John Buchanan, former Australia coach; Ian Chappell, former Australia captain; Tony Cozier, writer and commentator; Martin Crowe, former New Zealand captain; Peter English, Australasia editor, Cricinfo; Graham Gooch, former England captain; Tony Greig, former England captain, and commentator; Gideon Haigh, writer; Rob Houwing, chief writer for Sport24.co.za; Athar Ali Khan, former Bangladesh opener; Rashid Latif , former Pakistan wicketkeeper; Geoff Lawson, former Australia fast bowler; David Lloyd, former England coach; Ranjan Madugalle, ICC match referee; Pradeep Magazine , writer; Sanjay Manjrekar, writer and former India batsman; Neil Manthorp, broadcaster and writer; Ayaz Memon, writer; Suresh Menon, writer; Andrew Miller, UK editor, Cricinfo; Tom Moody, former Australia allrounder, former Sri Lanka coach; Dileep Premachandran, associate editor, Cricinfo; Ramiz Raja, former Pakistan batsman; Mark Richardson, former New Zealand opener; Peter Roebuck, writer; Christian Ryan, former editor of Wisden Australia; Osman Samiuddin, Pakistan editor, Cricinfo; John Stern, editor of the Wisden Cricketer; Javagal Srinath, former India fast bowler; Daniel Vettori, New Zealand captain
wd31/18/2010 10:06 AM
Smith is unprofessional when he comments on another team. A good captain would refrain from doing this and rather deflect the question and comment on the performance of his own team or suggest that the question should be put to Strauss and not him. Smith knows that the review system was a contentious issue for the English and was just “feeding the monkey”. This is an old trick of his and he uses the same cowardly tactic to attack KP in the press. He remains arrogant !
tyza1/18/2010 10:06 AM
please can smith...just shut it for once......"the meek will inherit the world"..this oak doesnt have one humble bone in his body...im a proud south african and a cricketer for a living but Mickey Arthur nd Smith are Aroogant wankers.so so so embarassing
Jannas1/18/2010 9:47 AM
Someone has to tell this arrogant Smith and his equally arrogant groupies that carries his banner, that a series draw is not a win. He blabbers on like a fool. It is embarassing.
pete1/18/2010 9:41 AM
Turning points in series: Smith giving ball to Mkaya, massive time wasting by Collingwood and Bell (legal?) in the 4th and some great bowling in 5 th. I am amazed that Broad was not sanctioned for his childish tantrums
Kevin1/18/2010 9:33 AM
Graeme, no disrespect to the South African side, a win is a win! But lets face it you should practice what you preach .....you always a big mouth before a game and then what happens ......you normally see your ass. The problem with you Graeme is you have never grown up, you need to know when to talk and when to shut up .....you have it the wrong way around at the moment! Be humble you clown .....
pete1/18/2010 9:29 AM
Turning points in series: Smith giving ball to Mkaya, massive time wasting by Collingwood and Bell (legal?) in the 4th and some great bowling in 5 th. I am amazed that Broad was not sanctioned for his childish tantrums
JustinD1/18/2010 9:29 AM
Smith, Boucher & Kallis......pure quality!!!!!
POM1/18/2010 9:27 AM
Andrew Strauss, selectors made the mistake should have chosen to field. anyway he and flower new at the job what is Smith and Arthur excuse for snatching a draw out of the jaws of victory?
clint1/18/2010 9:27 AM
I do think the English was overrated, but that said I also think the Proteas went into this series, especially after the first drawn test where they came so close to win with way to lacksure attitude. This was a good test for our boys to realize that they need to constantly lift their game no matter who the opposition is. I lost all respect (or the little that was left) with Broad. Its unbelievable that the entire english squad allows on childish juvinile full grown man to disrupt their carma like this. When he complained to the match referee about the fact he was given out (rightfully so as was proven on the replay) it smacked of my childhood years when if you something did not go your way in manopoly you would turn ove the board game and shout "I dont wanna play anymore until......"Well done to the Proteas whom showed their true colors the last test. The glimpses I saw of the likes of Maclaren, Morkel, Parnell and even a part time bowler like Duminy points to a truly awsome well balanced attack that can tear any batting line up apart. We still have to make room for one true out and out spinner and I do think we have great spinners in SA its just a question of pushing them all to try and better their atributes. Hats off to Bouchy, a little bull terrier that still has alot of fight in him.
Brendon1/18/2010 9:21 AM
@Rayale : I couldn't agree more with your point, all sports have turned into a 'win at any cost' scenario... what happened to true sportsmanship and just enjoying the quality and skill level of these highly talented individuals?!! I think we spectators have lost the plot, look at all the whinging and moaning even in these posts! Funny thing is the moaning still continues even when we win... lol. Well congrats both teams, I thoroughly enjoyed watching some high caliber cricket!
cammie1/18/2010 9:19 AM
@ Matt - utter drivel!!! Regardless of what does or says there will always be those who detract from his ability as one of the finest of today's captains, worldwide. He was very obnoxious in his early years as captain, but the man's record speaks for itself, both as a player and as captain
cammie1/18/2010 9:19 AM
@ Matt - utter drivel!!! Regardless of what does or says there will always be those who detract from his ability as one of the finest of today's captains, worldwide. He was very obnoxious in his early years as captain, but the man's record speaks for itself, both as a player and as captain
@Matt1/18/2010 9:13 AM
Journalists ask Smith the Questions and then use the words to Headline a Artical, Questions are chosen Carefully and answers manapulated to twist words without lying, Its not like smith go's out and makes theeses statements, The Truth is smith and the Poms, had a great Piss up yesterday evening, and said cheers to a fair game, the rest is all Media Hype, Thomas
Imraan1/18/2010 9:12 AM
Well done to England and South Africa, a thoroughly enjoyabletest series...MORE.
Mike@CapeT1/18/2010 9:11 AM
Oh Matt....you are an a$#*hole! Presumably, Smith was asked for his comments during an interview....he was pretty humble in suggesting that it was the English team themselves, that let themselves down and he was quite honest in that he felt SA lacked the killer punch in 2 of the tests! Grow up Matt and get a life!
Herman1/18/2010 9:11 AM
I just wish we can get a new captain. Someone we as a country can be proud of, not a person like GS with his arrogant, irritating attitude. Regardless of the SA team's won yesterday, he is still the reason I don't feel proud of them. Bring back someone with the stature like Hansie, Sean or even the world's best wicket keeper, Boucher.
Dom1/18/2010 9:08 AM
Stuart Broad: I agree with the earlier comment, this chap is a spoilt brat! (His Dad is on the English cricket board) Although a talented youngster, he cant take the hard knocks & seemingly sulks when things dont go his way.......he gets my W@nker Award. Well done to Biff and the boys.....Good luck in India
Gaz1/18/2010 9:07 AM
@ Matt - Of course Smith has a lot to say, that's his job as a Captain. My respect for Strauss has dwindled, shut up about the referral system now, it works like that for both sides, look how Broad stood yesterday when he knew he was out....get over it! Great series - should have taken it 3-1 a true reflection!
Top 41/18/2010 9:06 AM
Graeme Smith and Jacques Kallis proved once again what a major difference there is in there batting ability and that of the English batsmen. They performed when it mattered most. English top order cannot compare to what SA has to offer. It was proven in the 4th test. Smith and Kallis are batsmen that any international team would welcome.
Just Cricket1/18/2010 9:03 AM
It just shows that when you cheat England (ball tampering in Newlands) the wheels of justice will turn against you. Funny that when the referral system works for you (Durban) England, you have no issues, but oh my soul let it not be in your favour then you go crying to the ICC. Don't talk about Smith walking, Broad also does not. Winging Weeping Whiners!!! Also saying that the wicket on Joburg was made for the SA opening bowlers amounts to nothing when you decided to bat first Strauss. The statistics are telling: 5 of the 8 top runs scorers are from the Proteas, none of the English bowlers averaged below 33 vs Morkel and Duminy 21, Steyn 23, 5 of the 7 hundreds were scored by SA, none of the English bowlers have a strike rate better than 60 (1 wicket every 10 overs) vs Duminy 40, Morkel 46 and Steyn 47. Man for man the Proteas totally outplayed England for all but one innings in Durban. Well done Proteas, you played some good cricket!
Ian1/18/2010 9:01 AM
What a series. Thankyou SA and England for the entertainment and nail biting sessions. Of course I am delighted that SA managed top salavge a draw - they are my team, It was beginning to look like we would win most of the battles and still loose the war.
cricket is my life1/18/2010 8:57 AM
'the series shuold have ended 3-1'- wiser words were never spoken. I also think that its amusing that the series was seperated by 16 runs in total: 2 draws + 1 innings & 90 runs + 1 innings & 74 runs = the proteas could have, should have and would have won had steyn been in there earlier =]
El1/18/2010 8:53 AM
Well done to Graeme and the boys. I hope that the outpouring of support they receive after this great performance will continue during the tour to India. And can somebody in the England camp please teach Stuart 'Little' Broad about showing good sportsmanship. He was an absolute pain to watch during this series and his antics were nothing short of pathetic. Standing on the ball, having a fit about the time it took us to refer a decision, then taking 3 hours to get to pitch yesterday to acting all confused about being given out. Honestly, give him a BAFTA already!
El1/18/2010 8:52 AM
Well done to Graeme and the boys. I hope that the outpouring of support they receive after this great performance will continue during the tour to India. And can somebody in the England camp please teach Stuart 'Little' Broad about showing good sportsmanship. He was an absolute pain to watch during this series and his antics were nothing short of pathetic. Standing on the ball, having a fit about the time it took us to refer a decision, then taking 3 hours to get to pitch yesterday to acting all confused about being given out. Honestly, give him a BAFTA already!
Matt1/18/2010 8:49 AM
Will Graeme Smith ever remain quiet & humble in victory? Let's face it he ALWAYS has something to say after a win, and generally criticises the opposition about some petty issue... when will he learn just to take the victory in his stride and move on with things? Don't forget, South Africa LOST the ODI series to England and managed to LEVEL the series on the final day... not WIN the series, but LEVEL the series... it's easy to say "Oh, we were one wicket away in two of the other tests" but facts are they simply were not good enough to win the series on HOME soil... it's amazing how quiet Smith has been throughout this whole series until now, predictably straight after a rare win...
Nick1/18/2010 8:48 AM
The Poms played boring cricket. Apart from the SA collapse on the test that was lost, SA were all over the poms in all but one test. They play to draw and were very lucky not to be 3-1 down.
Rayale1/18/2010 8:47 AM
Graham was out on 15 AB was out probably three times in one innings and Boucher was out on 37. Take away there relatively big scores and the outcome could have been different. The revue system along with the poor umpires all conspired to ensure that England don't pull another draw and win the series. in the past a batsman would walk the moment he knows that he nicked the ball not anymore. Graham you are no more than a cheat who plays for himself and not for the team. There are no more gentleman in sport it is win at all cost no matter what. Look at the Thiery Henry incident yet FIFA still sports the Fair Play banner--- what a joke and yet everyone castigated Hansie. Hansie you were a far better captain than Graham could ever be. I salute you. Everything that you were accused of or admitted to is still happening and worse. All i am waiting for is to see Bafana send 12 players onto the field win the game and then offer a Graham Smith response " i can't help it if the referee didn't count the number of players before the game started. Win at all cost no matter what. How sad.
Raj1/18/2010 8:25 AM
Brilliant...about time we get back to form.....bowling and batting were aggressive. I have been saying, from the start, that the English are overrated - they come with hype and pomp that are bred in their media...and we happily follow that trail....Smith is an excellent captain and boucher still has a lot of cricket in him. I don't care about the make-up of the team anymore...you don't get a more South African person than Smith. Bravo proteas...the detractors have been silenced...until next time. Trott and Pietersen- their would never have been place for you in the SA side...so no loss to us.
Don R1/18/2010 8:18 AM
I agree with Graeme Smith - the English team were really caught up with the referral system. Plus they were boring and always had an attitude or more explicit - they had a massive chip on their shoulders. If they showed more postitive attitude and less determination to the externals they could have thrashed us. Well done Protea's.
fuzzy1/18/2010 8:12 AM
Sour grape poms
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

The lighter side of Francois Hougaard

Best goal celebration ever?

Best penalty ever?

Front Row Grunt - Tank's blog

Info on the op Bismarck is recovering from

Featured Blog

Lobo salutes Muttiah Muralidaran's genius. He developed the doosra into an art form and terrorised batsmen with his cunning and his wily ways. Although his career was overshadowed by the "chucking" controversy, no-one will ever beat his mark of 800 Test wickets.

Latest blogs

Overhaul in Formula 1 7/29/2010 3:47:49 PM

Knowledge Musona is SA's Jet Club Rookie of the Year. 7/29/2010 3:44:19 PM

Currie cup predictions 7/29/2010 3:17:15 PM

Vote

Of the four South African born players in the English cricket side, who would you most like to have a beer with at the end of the series?

Who is your Hero?

Nominate your hero and win R10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide