Proteas 4th in ICC T20 table

2011-10-24 13:15
Johan Botha (Gallo)

Dubai - The Proteas have been ranked at No 4 on the inaugural International Cricket Council (ICC) Twenty20 table which was released at the ICC headquarters in Dubai on Monday.

This means that the Proteas are ranked in the top four in all three formats of the international game.

Those ranked ahead of them are World Twenty20 champions England, Sri Lanka and New Zealand and they will have the chance to improve their position with three away matches against both New Zealand and England next year. They do not have any Twenty20 fixtures against Sri Lanka during their upcoming tour of South Africa in December and January.

The rankings do not affect the draw for the 2012 edition of the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka as the groups have already been settled with the Proteas in the same section as Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe.

In the individual rankings there are four South African batsmen in the top 20 headed by Graeme Smith (10). The others are JP Duminy (13), Jacques Kallis (17) and AB de Villiers (20).

Johan Botha (5) is the leading ranked South African bowler followed by Morne Morkel (11) and Dale Steyn (16).

Kallis is ranked No 7 among the all-rounders with Albie Morkel at No 9.

The No 1 batsman, bowler and all-rounder on the rankings respectively are Eoin Morgan of England, Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka and Shane Watson of Australia.

ICC Twenty20 Championship table:

1. England 127
2. Sri Lanka 126
3. New Zealand 117
4. South Africa 113
5. India 112
6. Australia 111
7. Pakistan 97
8. West Indies 89
9. Afghanistan 75
10. Zimbabwe 54

Note: Bangladesh, Netherlands, Kenya, Ireland, Canada and Scotland will have to play eight T20Is before they will have a ranking. The table reflects all T20Is played since August 2009.


1. Eoin Morgan (ENG)    
2. B.McCullum (NZ)  
3. Kevin Pietersen (ENG)               
4. M. Jayawardene (SL)             
5. Suresh Raina (IND)        
6. T.Dilshan (SL)        
7. K. Sangakkara (SL)        
8. Umar Akmal (PAK)     
9. Shane Watson (AUS)      
10. Graeme Smith (SA)        

1. Ajantha Mendis (SL) 
2. Graeme Swann (ENG)       
3. Saeed Ajmal (PAK)      
4. N.McCullum (NZ)        
5. Johan Botha (SA)        
6. Shahid Afridi (PAK)       
7. Shaun Tait (AUS)     
8. Darren Sammy (WI)        
9. Harbhajan Singh (IND)         
10. Lasith Malinga (SL)       


1. Shane Watson (AUS)   
2. Shahid Afridi (PAK)     
3. David Hussey (AUS)        
4. M.Hafeez (PAK)   
5. Chris Gayle (WI)   
6. Yuvraj Singh (IND)      
7. Jacques Kallis (SA)          
8. T.Dilshan (SL)     
9. Albie Morkel (SA)      
10. Abdul Razzaq (PAK)

Read more on:    icc  |  paul collingwood

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


Big month in the world of golf as the FedEx Cup concludes on the PGA Tour, the Race to Dubai gathers steam on the European Tour and the Sunshine Tour offers local golfers the chance to bank some cash. Oh, and not forgetting the USA v Europe Ryder Cup showdown at Hazeltine!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.