Cricket's wall of shame

2011-11-01 20:22
Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif (File)

London - Pakistan's Salman Butt and Mohammad Asif were found guilty by an English court on Tuesday of their involvement in a betting scam, while Mohammad Aamer accepted the charges.

In February, former Test captain Butt and pace bowlers Asif and Aamer became the first players to be punished by the International Cricket Council (ICC) following their investigation into the spot-fixing allegations.

Before them, all the players who had been implicated in corruption cases were dealt with by their respective cricket boards.

Here AFP lists major cases of bans handed out:

Life bans:

May 2000: Former Pakistan captain Salim Malik banned for life by a judicial inquiry conducted by judge Malik Mohammad Qayyum. Salim Malik was alleged to have fixed matches on Pakistan's tour of New Zealand in 1993, South Africa and Zimbabwe (1994-95).

Australian players Shane Warne, Mark Waugh and Tim May also alleged Malik offered them bribes to under-perform during Australia's tour to Pakistan in 1994.

Team-mate Rashid Latif also accused Malik of wrongdoing.

Pakistan paceman Ata-ur-Rehman banned for life for perjury during the Qayyum inquiry. His ban was overturned by the Pakistan Cricket Board in 2003 - a decision accepted by the ICC in 2006.

October 2000: Former South Africa captain Hansie Cronje banned for life by the United Cricket Board of South Africa after he admitted to match-fixing and having contacts with bookmakers. Cronje died in a plane crash in June 2002.

December 2000: Former India captain Mohammad Azharuddin banned for life after an investigation conducted by the Crime Bureau of Investigation (CBI) in India. He was found to have contacts with bookmakers and manipulated match results.

December 2000: Former Indian off-spinner Ajay Sharma banned for life in the same inquiry, conducted by the CBI.


December 2000: The same CBI inquiry found India's Ajay Jadeja had links with bookmakers. He was banned for five years, but on appeal was allowed to play in domestic cricket in India three years later.

October 2000: South African opener Herschelle Gibbs and paceman Henry Williams both banned for six months after admitting to under-perform in agreement with Cronje. Both failed to follow through on their agreement.

August 2004: Kenya's Maurice Odume banned for five years by the Kenyan Cricket Association for associating with bookmakers.

May 2008: West India all-rounder Marlon Samuels banned for two years for links with a bookmaker.

February 2011: Pakistan's Salman Butt banned for 10 years for spot-fixing. Mohammad Asif banned for seven years and Mohammad Aamer for five years.


ECB chief mulls 4-day Tests

2015-03-31 20:07


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Australia won their fifth Cricket World Cup over the weekend. Does it leave a bitter taste in your mouth that the Proteas didn't get to play them?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.