Cricket World Cup 2011

Steyn strikes as Oz collapse

2011-02-15 15:15
Imran Tahir (File)

Bangalore - Paceman Dale Steyn grabbed three wickets as South Africa restricted Australia to 217 in their Cricket World Cup warm-up match on Tuesday despite half-centuries from Michael Clarke and Ricky Ponting.

LIVE: South Africa v Australia

Download a Proteas CWC wallpaper

The fast bowler finished with 3-21 off eight probing overs after Clarke (73) and skipper Ponting (55) boosted their team's hopes of setting a challenging target with a 122-run stand for the third wicket.

But Australia failed to build on those impressive efforts, losing their last eight wickets for just 89 runs in the day-night match at the Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

Steyn received strong support from left-arm spinner Robin Peterson, who removed both top run-scorers before accounting for Steven Smith to finish with 3-45.

Clarke, who fell for a duck in his team's defeat at the hands of India in their previous practice game, made amends with a responsible knock under pressure, playing some handsome shots to outscore his captain.

Ponting fell soon after completing his second successive half-century, caught by Hashim Amla at long-off off Peterson. The Australia captain, who made 57 in the previous warm-up game, hit seven fours in his 84-ball knock.

Clarke was caught behind while attempting to cut Peterson after hitting six fours in a 96-ball innings but the remaining batsmen faltered against South Africa's spin-pace combination.

Australia earlier made a poor start as in-form opener Shane Watson fell for a fourth-ball duck, trapped leg-before by Steyn in the opening over.

Brad Haddin also failed to open his account before being run out, leaving Australia struggling with two wickets down and just six runs on the board.

Steyn tested the Australian batsmen in his disciplined four-over opening spell, conceding just three runs for one wicket before later dismissing John Hastings and Jason Krejza.

Four-time World Cup champions Australia open their campaign against Zimbabwe in Ahmedabad on February 21, while South Africa meet the West Indies in their first match in Delhi on February 24.

Australia are in Group A with Pakistan, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada and Kenya while Group B comprises India, South Africa, England, the West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland and the Netherlands.

Four teams from each group will advance to the quarter-finals.



RT Ponting (captain), SR Watson, BJ Haddin†, MJ Clarke, DJ Hussey, CL White, TD Paine, SPD Smith, JW Hastings, MG Johnson, JJ Krejza, B Lee, SW Tait, DE Bollinger, CJ Ferguson 
South Africa:
HM Amla, GC Smith (captain), JH Kallis, AB de Villiers†, JP Duminy, F du Plessis, CA Ingram, Imran Tahir, RJ Peterson, WD Parnell, LL Tsotsobe, DW Steyn, M Morkel, MN van Wyk, J Botha 


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk
Cricket World Cup 2011

The day Aussies went 'soft'?

2011-04-01 07:37

Newly appointed Michael Clarke seems to represent a seismic change to Australian cricket captaincy characteristics. Read More


Who would you like to see named as the next Proteas' coach?


Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.