Cowan set for Aussie debut

2011-12-24 10:34
Ed Cowan (File)

Melbourne - Australia will present India with a revamped top order for the Boxing Day Test, with opener Ed Cowan on Saturday named in the team alongside big-hitter David Warner and Shaun Marsh.

In-form newcomer Cowan was one of three additions to a 13-man Australian squad named last week for the Melbourne Cricket Ground Test beginning on Monday, after batsmen Phillip Hughes and Usman Khawaja were dumped.

The two other additions - Marsh and bowler Ben Hilfenhaus - also made the eleven but all-rounder Dan Christian failed to make the cut.

Australia, fresh from a humiliating defeat to lowly New Zealand in Hobart this month, will be missing all-rounder Shane Watson who is injured (hamstring/calf) while fast bowler Ryan Harris was not named in the squad.

Coach Mickey Arthur said Harris and Christian would "stay around the group" until their Twenty20 Big Bash League commitments took them away later in the week.

"And Shane Watson will also be with the group in Melbourne in order to build workloads and hopefully be fit for consideration for selection for upcoming Test matches," Arthur said.

India, ranked two places above Australia at second in Test cricket, are aiming to win their first series Down Under after failing in nine previous tours over 64 years.

Their batting line-up boasts two of Test cricket's greatest run scorers - Sachin Tendulkar (15 183) and Rahul Dravid (13 094), with Tendulkar bidding for his 100th international century on the Australian tour.

Michael Clarke's Australians meanwhile are in transition with several inexperienced players alongside Ricky Ponting, 37, and Mike Hussey, 36.

Warner has just two Tests under his belt while Marsh, who has suffered back trouble, has three.

It is hoped that right-handed Cowan will add some ballast to the top order.

The 29-year-old hit 109 for the Chairman's XI against India along with two centuries in this season's domestic Sheffield Shield and one for Australia A against the touring New Zealanders.

Australia: Michael Clarke (captain), Brad Haddin, Ed Cowan, Ben Hilfenhaus, Michael Hussey, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, James Pattinson, Ricky Ponting, Peter Siddle, David Warner, Mitchell Starc (12th man).

Read more on:    australia vs india


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
SuperBru Super Rugby challenge

Enter and challenge Sport24's staff!


As the Absa Premiership nears the Christmas break, a little over half the season remains. Who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Which teams will be relegated? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Should Proteas coach Russell Domingo stay - or go - as national coach?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.