Cook puts England in charge

2012-12-07 12:58
Alastair Cook (Gallo)
Kolkata - England advanced to 509 for six at stumps - a lead of 193 - on the third day of the third Test against India in Kolkata on Friday.

Scoreboard: India v England

According to website, Matt Prior (40 not out) and Graeme Swann (21 not out) will strive to continue England's dominance in the morning.

Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen and Samit Patel all lost their wickets during the evening stint, but that did not have any negative impact on the impetus of the visitors as they still added 128 runs in this period.

Bell was the first to go, two overs after resumption of play, when he failed to move his feet to Ishant Sharma, and Mahendra Singh Dhoni completed the dismissal behind the stumps.

Pietersen brought up his half-century, but soon after tried to sweep the straight one from Ravichandran Ashwin and was trapped in front for 54.

Samit Patel (33) got a start, but fell for a wide one from Pragyan Ojha - the spinner's third success of the innings - and Virender Sehwag snaffled the catch in the slips on the second attempt.

India claimed two wickets in the afternoon session - first the wicket of Jonathan Trott for 87 when he pushed at a wide ball from Ojha and Dhoni took a sharp catch behind, ending a superb stand of 173 for the second wicket.

A few overs later, Alastair Cook had a slight aberration, when - 10 runs short of his double-ton - he backed up as non-striker, turned around and was about to ground his bat, then, inexplicably, he tried to get out of the way of the ball having not got back, creating a perfect gap for the ball to fly through and hit his stumps.

England resumed the day on 216 for one and looked untroubled for most of the time, adding a cautious 80 runs in the first session.

However, with Cook on 156, India were given a second chance to sent the England captain back, when he drove a ball straight back to Sharma, but the speedster dropped the easiest of return catches any bowler can hope for.


India: V Sehwag, G Gambhir, CA Pujara, SR Tendulkar, V Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (captain & wk), R Ashwin, Z Khan, PP Ojha, I Sharma

England: AN Cook (captain), NRD Compton, IJL Trott, KP Pietersen, IR Bell, SR Patel, MJ Prior (wk), GP Swann, MS Panesar, JM Anderson, ST Finn



Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

We're down to the semi-finals of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. Who do you see winning the title when all is said and done?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.