Australia in SA

SA bat in decisive ODI

2011-10-28 14:10
Hashim Amla (Gallo)
Durban - Proteas captain Hashim Amla won the toss for the third time in the three-match series against Australia and opted to bat first in their final one-day international (ODI) in Durban on Friday.

The ODI series is level at 1-1 and while Australia will remain in the top spot of the ICC world rankings, South Africa could leap into second place, ahead of Sri Lanka and India, if they win the series.

The Proteas remain unchanged from their last two matches while Australia have made one change to their side.

Shaun Marsh returns from a shoulder injury and replaces Steve Smith, while vice-captain Shane Watson remains in the starting line-up despite leaving the field midway through an over with back spasms in the last game.

The weather is cloudy with a chance of showers in the afternoon and thunderstorms predicted for the evening.


South Africa:

Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla (captain), Jacques Kallis, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Mark Boucher (wk), Johan Botha, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe


David Warner, Shane Watson, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke (captain), Shaun Marsh, Mike Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Xavier Doherty, Doug Bollinger, Pat Cummins

Read more on:    australia in sa  |  hashim amla  |  durban

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

03 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Perth 04:30
12 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Hobart 01:30
24 November 2016
Australia v South Africa, Adelaide Oval 05:30
Previous Results

Date Match Result

Graeme Smith's shock decision to retire is...

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.