Australia bat against Ireland in ODI

2015-08-27 14:16
Steven Smith (SPORTZPICS)

Who ate all the chops? Does Schalk Burger know his cricket? There were more questions than answers after the Boks and Proteas braaied together!

Belfast - Newly-appointed Australia captain Steven Smith won the toss and elected to bat in the lone one-day international against Ireland at Stormont on Thursday.

Australia, in their first match at this level since beating New Zealand in the World Cup final in Melbourne in March, gave an ODI debut to opening batsman Joe Burns, who replaced the injured Aaron Finch.

This was the 26-year-old Smith's first match as full-time Australia captain since former skipper Michael Clarke retired from all international cricket following the team's innings and 46-run victory in the fifth and final Test at The Oval last week - a result that could not prevent England winning the five-match Ashes series 3-2.

Ireland left out spinner George Dockrell, with Andy McBrine coming in and Stuart Thompson replacing the injured Kevin O'Brien.

Niall O'Brien was down to keep wicket for the first time in an ODI for four years instead of Gary Wilson, selected as a specialist batsman.

Ireland, cricket's leading non-Test nation, only missed out on a place in the World Cup quarter-finals on net run-rate, being pipped to a last eight place by a West Indies team they beat in pool play.

However, they have yet to beat Australia.

Ireland are now coached by former New Zealand off-spinner John Bracewell after previous coach Phil Simmons left to take charge of his native West Indies following the World Cup.

Rain, which delayed the scheduled start by an hour and 45 minutes, reduced the match to a 47 overs per side contest.

This match precedes Australia's lone Twenty20 and five-match one-day series against England.


Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Ed Joyce, Niall O'Brien (wkt), Gary Wilson, Andy Balbirnie, John Mooney, Max Sorensen, Tim Murtagh, Stuart Thompson, Craig Young

Australia: Joe Burns, David Warner, Steven Smith (captain), George Bailey, Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wkt), Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile.

Umpires: S Ravi (IND), Mark Hawthorne (IRL)

TV umpire: Joel Wilson (WIS)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more on:    cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Under fire Proteas coach Russell Domingo has blamed player workloads and fatigue as the reason for the national team's woeful showing in the Tri Series in the Caribbean. Your thoughts?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.