Hauritz out of Ashes squad

2010-11-20 07:11
Nathan Hauritz (AP)

Sydney - Off-spinner Nathan Hauritz was the major omission when the Australian squad was reduced to 13 players on Saturday for next week's opening Ashes Test against England in Brisbane.

Hauritz made way for younger spinners, left-arm wrist-spinner Xavier Doherty and leg-spinner Steven Smith.

Hauritz has played 17 Tests and taken 63 wickets at an average of almost 35. If Doherty, 27, is chosen to play in next Thursday's match it will be his Test debut, while Smith, 21, has played in two Tests.

Selectors last Monday named an initial 17-man squad and said that four players would be cut from the selection this weekend after assessing the form of the contenders in England's tour match against Australia A and three Sheffield Shield games.

"Nathan Hauritz is one of these players omitted and he can consider himself unlucky as his Australian record has been very good over the past 12 months," chairperson of selectors Andrew Hilditch said.

"However the panel believes the left-arm orthodox variety Xavier Doherty provides against a predominantly right-handed English batting middle-order is the better option in this game."

Batsmen Callum Ferguson and Usman Khawaja along with paceman Ryan Harris were the other players left out of the squad.

"Callum and Usman are both wonderful young players who we believe will play a big role for Australian cricket moving forward but on this occasion the experienced middle order has been preferred," Hilditch said.

"We felt Ryan Harris needed further time to recover from his knee injury and also believe the four fast bowlers we have selected are in good form and will be key weapons for us winning the Ashes Series this summer."

Hilditch said he believes his panel has chosen a strong and well balanced squad, selected specifically with the conditions in Brisbane in mind.

"The squad contains a number of experienced Test players and some exciting young talent and we firmly believe it has the ability to win the first Test of the Ashes Series in Brisbane," he said.

England regained the Ashes in last year's series in England, but have not won a series in Australia since Mike Gatting's team of 1986/87.

Australia - Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke (vice-captain), Doug Bollinger, Xavier Doherty, Brad Haddin, Mike Hussey, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Marcus North, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Shane Watson.

Read more on:    ashes  |  nathan hauritz


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Add your comment
Comment 0 characters remaining
Live Video Streaming
  • Blitz
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @00:00
  • SS1
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @01:00
  • SS2
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @02:00
  • SS3
    Mon, 24 Nov 2014 @03:00
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Should the Proteas have gone for the win after needing 16 runs from 19 balls with three wickets in hand against India?

Love 2 Meet

Got something you'd like to get off your chest? Got a burning desire to air an opinion? If so, be sure to sign-up on Sport24's FORUM!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

Newsletters Sign up for the Morning Glory, Super 15 and Soccer newsletters

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Forum Have your Say on Sport24's brand new Forum!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

iPhone Latest Sport24 news on your iPhone

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.