England all out for 260

2010-11-25 09:01
Peter Siddle (AP)

Brisbane - England were all out for 260 after winning the toss late on the opening day of the first Ashes test against Australia at the Gabba on Thursday.

Ian Bell top-scored with 76 and Peter Siddle captured 6-54, including a hat-trick.

Siddle, preferred to Doug Bollinger in the starting 11 at the Gabba, swung the game Australia's way after removing the dangerous Pietersen and Collingwood during the middle session.

At tea, England, after winning the toss, were 172 for four with opening batsman Alastair Cook unbeaten on 60 in 244 minutes and Ian Bell 26 not out.

The wholehearted Siddle's second bowling spell proved productive when he snared the big wicket of Pietersen, who averages over 50 against Australia.

Pietersen yet again failed to go on after playing himself in and fell to Siddle for 43 in the 38th over.

Pietersen went on the front foot to drive only to get a thick edge and Ricky Ponting took a secure catch at second slip.

England's high-profile batsman was at the crease for 96 minutes and hammered some beautiful cover drives among his six boundaries.

Collingwood only lasted eight balls before falling in Siddle's next over, edging to Marcus North at third slip for four.

Siddle had taken 2-4 off nine balls.

In the morning session England lost the wickets of skipper Andrew Strauss off the third ball of the match and Jonathan Trott in the 14th over.

Strauss sliced a wide Ben Hilfenhaus delivery straight to Mike Hussey in the gully for a duck.

Strauss's dismissal follows his inglorious last series in Australia four years ago when he made just 247 runs at 24.70 and scored only one half-century in his 10 Test innings.

Watson bowled Trott for 29 with an inswinger on the last ball of his opening over which collected his off-stump.

Cook had batted through the opening two sessions after having a life on 26 when debutant test spinner Xavier Doherty put down a catch at point.

Australian skipper Ponting lost his two challenges when the TV umpire ruled against a lbw decision on Trott (8) in Siddle's second over and Bell (18) who survived an inconclusive catch off Johnson.

England have not won the Brisbane test since Mike Gatting's team prevailed by seven wickets six tours ago -- on the way to their last Australian series victory in 1986/87.


Australia: SM Katich, SR Watson, RT Ponting (capt), MJ Clarke, MEK Hussey, MJ North, BJ Haddin (wk), MG Johnson, XJ Doherty, PM Siddle, BW Hilfenhaus

England: AJ Strauss (capt), AN Cook, IJL Trott, KP Pietersen, PD Collingwood, IR Bell, MJ Prior (wk), SCJ Broad, GP Swann, JM Anderson, ST Finn

Read more on:    ashes  |  peter siddle  |  ian bell

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
1 comment
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the 2015 edition of the Ashes?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter

English Premiership flutter

Take Sport24's "expert" tips at your peril...


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.