Aussies win toss, bat at Lord's

2015-07-16 11:39
Steve Smith (AP)

Lord's  - Australia won the toss and opted to bat first in the second Ashes test against England in overcast conditions at Lord's on Thursday.

England named an unchanged team after winning the first test of the five-match series in Cardiff by 169 runs.

Australia included wicketkeeper Peter Nevill in place of Brad Haddin, who misses the game for personal reasons. Nevill makes his test debut at the age of 29.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh was preferred to the more experienced Shane Watson.


England - Alastair Cook (captain), Adam Lyth, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Moeen Ali, Stuart Broad, Mark Wood, James Anderson

Australia - David Warner, Chris Rogers, Steve Smith, Michael Clarke (captain), Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon

Read more on:    australia  |  ashes  |  steve smith  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Previous Results

Date Match Result

Who will win the 2015 edition of the Ashes?

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership in full swing, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates or Bidvest Wits mount a serious challenge? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.