Amla up for top ICC award

2012-08-30 08:10
Hashim Amla (Gallo)

Colombo - Australia's Michael Clarke has been selected as captain of the International Cricket Council's Test team of the year and also been shortlisted with South Africans Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara for the International Cricketer of the Year award.

All four have been shortlisted for the Test Cricketer of the Year award, while Sangakkara has been nominated along with team-mate Lasith Malinga and India's M.S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli for the ODI player of the year prize.

The shortlists, announced on Thursday, were selected by a 32-member panel featuring media and former players from a period spanning from August 4, 2011 until August 6 this year. The winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy will be announced at a ceremony in Colombo on September 15, ahead of the Twenty20 World Cup.

Paceman Dale Steyn was selected in the ICC Test team for the fifth consecutive year, joining fellow South Africans Amla, Philander and Jacques Kallis in the XI. AB de Villiers was named as 12th man.

Clarke, who has led Australia's resurgence in Test cricket since replacing Ricky Ponting as captain last year, was selected to lead the honorary team which features players from six countries.

Opener Alastair Cook, wicketkeeper Matt Prior and paceman Stuart Broad were selected from England, which recently surrendered the No 1 Test ranking to South Africa. Sangakkara was selected to bat at No 3, with West Indies Shivnarine Chanderpaul at No 6, while Pakistan's Saeed Ajmal was chosen as the spin bowler.

Amla, Kallis and Sangakkara have made the ICC Test XI for three consecutive years.

"Those selected can be justifiably proud of their achievements and well deserving of the recognition they receive as great cricketers of their era," ICC chief executive David Richardson said.

Other categories to be decided on September 15 include the best performance in a Twenty20 international - with West Indian Chris Gayle and Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan among those nominated - and emerging cricketer of the year.

The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order):

Alastair Cook (Eng)
Hashim Amla (SA)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
Jacques Kallis (SA)
Michael Clarke (Aus, captain)
Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Matt Prior (Eng - wicketkeeper)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Saeed Ajmal (Pak)
Vernon Philander (SA)
Dale Steyn (SA)

12th Man – AB de Villiers (SA)

List of nominations for the International Cricket Council awards announced by the world governing body in Colombo on Thursday:

Cricketer of the year:

Hashim Amla (RSA)

Michael Clarke (AUS)

Vernon Philander (RSA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Test cricketer of the year:

Hashim Amla (RSA)

Michael Clarke (AUS)

Vernon Philander (RSA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

One-day cricketer of the year:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (IND)

Virat Kohli (IND)

Lasith Malinga (SRI)

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Women's one-day cricketer of the year:

Lydia Greenway (ENG)

Anisa Mohammed (WIS)

Sarah Taylor (ENG)

Stafanie Taylor (WIS)

Emerging cricketer of the year:

Doug Bracewell (NZL)

Dinesh Chandimal (SRI)

Sunil Narine (WIS)

James Pattinson (AUS)

Associate and Affiliate cricketer of the year

George Dockrell (IRL)

Ed Joyce (IRL)

Kevin O'Brien (IRL)

Paul Stirling (IRL)

Dawlat Zadran (AFG)

Twenty20 international performance of the year:

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SRI) - 104 not out off 57 balls v Australia

Chris Gayle (WIS) - 85 not out off 52 balls v New Zealand

Richard Levi (RSA) - 117 not out off 51 balls v New Zealand

Ajantha Mendis (SRI) - six for 16 in four overs v Australia

Women's Twenty20 cricketer of the year:

Alyssa Healy (AUS)

Lisa Sthalekar (AUS)

Sarah Taylor (ENG)

Stafanie Taylor (WIS)

Umpire of the year:

Billy Bowden (NZL)

Aleem Dar (PAK)

Kumar Dharmasena (SRI)

Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Simon Taufel (AUS)

Rodney Tucker (AUS)

Spirit of cricket award:

Mohammad Hafeez (PAK)

Jacques Kallis (RSA)

Daniel Vettori (NZL)

AB de Villiers (RSA)

People's choice award:

James Anderson (ENG)

Jacques Kallis (RSA)

Vernon Philander (RSA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SRI)

Sachin Tendulkar (IND)

Winners will be announced at the awards night in Colombo on September 15.

Read more on:    proteas  |  icc  |  hashim amla  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


The 2017/18 PSL season is under way. Can Bidvest Wits defend their title? Will Soweto giants Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates emerge victorious? Or will the bookies' favourites, Mamelodi Sundowns, taste success for a record eighth time? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who should open the batting alongside Dean Elgar in SA's four-Test series against England in July?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.