AB vies for top CSA award

2012-05-24 13:19
AB de Villiers (Gallo)
Johannesburg - The 2012 South African Cricket Awards categories feature an exciting batch of nominees, with the winners to be announced at the Gala Dinner on Wednesday, June 6 at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg.

The SA Cricketer of the Year is the most prestigious award of the evening and in contention are AB de Villiers, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Hashim Amla.

Jacques Kallis was the winner of this award in 2011, with past winners including Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Shaun Pollock and Makhaya Ntini.

The newly-appointed Proteas’ T20 and ODI captain AB de Villiers earned nominations in three categories, including the One-Day International Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and for the SA Cricketer of the Year which he has never won.

De Villiers currently averages close to 50 in both ODI’s and Test’s and was the leading run-scorer for the Proteas with a highest score of 160 against Sri Lanka this season.

Morne Morkel was the Proteas’ leading wicket-taker in T20 and ODI cricket, and has earned recognition by being nominated for the T20 Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and for the SA Cricketer of the Year. His ODI career-best of 5/38 against New Zealand in Napier capped off a superb season for him.

Faf du Plessis of the Titans has been rewarded for his all-round performances on the domestic scene this season, receiving nominations for the One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year, T20 Cricketer of the Year and the Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year.

The young Highveld Lions’ batsman, Temba Bavuma, had an excellent first-class campaign, and has been nominated for the SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year alongside Lions’ team-mate Alviro Petersen and Du Plessis.

The Proteas’ explosive debutant, Richard Levi has been nominated for the International T20 Cricketer of Year as well as the KFC “So Good” Award for his record-breaking 117 against New Zealand in Hamilton.

CSA’s Acting CEO, Jacques Faul congratulated all of the nominees: “Being nominated for the SA Cricket Awards is a proud moment in any cricketer’s career. It is the recognition for all of your hard and diligent performances throughout the season, congratulations to all of the nominees!

“CSA Day is a special day on the cricketing calendar, a day where we get to celebrate the achievement of leading players and administrators for their excellence in amateur cricket, domestic professional cricket and operations, as well as the ultimate level of the SA team awards.”

Professional Awards: Operational

CSA Umpire of the Year: Johan Cloete –Shaun George – Adrian Holdstock
CSA Scorer’ Association of the Year: Gauteng – Boland – Northerns
CSA Groundsman of the Year: Chris Scott – Louis Kruger – Nico Pretorius

Professional Awards: Domestic

CSA One-Day Cup Cricketer of the Year : Charl Langeveldt – Faf du Plessis – Dean Elgar
MiWay T20 Cricketer of the Year: Chris Morris – Farhaan Behardien – Faf du Plessis
Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year: Temba Bavuma – Alviro Petersen – Faf du Plessis

Professional Awards: International
CSA International T20 Cricketer of the Year: Johan Botha – Morne Morkel – Richard Levi
Sunfoil One-Day International Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers – Morne Morkel – Lonwabo Tsotsobe
Sunfoil Test Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers – Dale Steyn – Vernon Philander
KFC “So Good” Award: Vernon Philander – Richard Levi – Marchant de Lange
SA Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn – Vernon Philander – Hashim Amla – Morne Morkel – AB de Villiers

Read more on:    ab de villiers  |  cricket

What To Read Next


Read News24’s Comments Policy publishes all comments posted on articles provided that they adhere to our Comments Policy. Should you wish to report a comment for editorial review, please do so by clicking the 'Report Comment' button to the right of each comment.

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.
Live Video Streaming
Video Highlights
Sport Talk

Love 2 Meet
Sport24 on Twitter

Follow Sport24 news on Twitter


With the Absa Premiership nearing its conclusion, who will be crowned champions when all is said and done? Will Mamelodi Sundowns defend their title? Or can Bidvest Wits hold them off? A bridge too far for new boys Cape Town City FC? Stay glued to Sport24 to find out!

Latest blogs

Who should open the batting alongside Dean Elgar in SA's four-Test series against England in July?

Twitter Follow Sport24 on Twitter

Facebook "Like" Sport24's Facebook page

WIN Enter and win with Sport24!

BlackBerry Stay in the loop on your BlackBerry

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

There are new stories on the homepage. Click here to see them.