Soccer

De Sa: SAFA went for quick fix

2009-10-26 12:38
Email | Print
Back in town (File)

Johannesburg - Wits head coach Roger de Sa on Monday said the South African Football Association have gone for a quick fix by rehiring Brazilian World Cup winner Carlos Alberto Parreira, as Bafana Bafana’s head coach.

But De Sa stressed that the country must rally behind Parreira who won the World Cup with Brazil in 1994.

“We must make the best of this new appointment and get behind Parreira. At the end of the day we are all South Africans and must show our patriotism and support Bafana and the new coach,” De Sa said.

Parreira takes over from countryman Joel Santana, who quit after 17 disastrous months in charge.

Parreira left Bafana last April due to his wife’s illness but accepted a contract to take Bafana to the 2010 World Cup finals.

Said De Sa: “In my opinion Safa are looking to Parreira to wave his magic wand. It is like putting on a new tyre when the road needs repairing.

"Safa have done no development of players or coaches. Maybe Parreira will do well, I do not know.

"However, under Santana the structures at national level collapsed. We need a five to six year plan for not just Bafana, but from the grassroots, to get our soccer back into shape.

"Hiring Parreira will not make everything right overnight. To me this is not the way forward, but we need to back Parreira.”

But De Sa, a former Bafana goalkeeper and goalkeeping coach, added Safa should have appointed Pitso Mosimane, the current national assistant coach.

“Pitso is ready and should have been promoted when Santana left.

“We have eight months to go to the World Cup and I agree Santana had to go, but I had hoped Safa would have shown some confidence in a local coach as in my mind a coach like Pitso, who has been involved with Bafana over the past two years, deserved a break.”

But De Sa said Parreira would be a big improvement on Santana who showed his arrogance by refusing to speak to local coaches or accepting advice.

“At least Parreira, when he took charge of Bafana last time, had meetings with PSL coaches and discussed Bafana with us.

"In that respect Parreira is a professional and can only do better than his predecessor.”

Your Comments

lil10/27/2009 10:06 AM
@AC, I have been saying the same thing for the past few months, there's so much a coach can do and the rest is up to the players. Sometimes South Africa can really play wonderful football and never score and the fact that they can't score even if they should win the game with 5 or 6 nil will never be a coaches problem. Our players do not realize that when they were the SA kit, that is a privilege and should be treated as such
lil10/27/2009 10:01 AM
@Valentino, you know we are all South Africans here and just because Bafana is not performing doesn't mean we should give up hope. we are here to discuss football not politics so please find another forum to vent your political views cos we certainly are not interested. Some of us really need to grow up and stop with this nonsense.
Wisani10/27/2009 8:43 AM
SAFA pls stop wasting our time and money because Parreira i don't think he can make a difference now since he failed the first time before that stupid boy sAtaN
Geoff10/26/2009 7:33 PM
The best person would be Shakes Mashaba who was very poorly treated by SAFA after a successful spell. He's a great coach, knows how to develop players and, very important, instils a winning mentality into his teams.
lynxi10/26/2009 3:34 PM
how about giving the players some decent money and let's invest in our own, watch them win games when they know there is a nice little sum waiting for them to be picked up...
Santana "s Dad10/26/2009 3:30 PM
i think the second person must leave is Aron mokoena is a bad backline ,he must follow his brother Santana.
lynxi10/26/2009 3:25 PM
how about giving the players some decent money and let's invest in our own, watch them win games when they know there is a nice little sum waiting for them to be picked up...
Victor10/26/2009 3:22 PM
It must be noted that BAFANA BAFANA did not embarrass themselves or the nation during the confed cup, despite only achieving one victory against NZ they did not look out of place against two of the best national squads in world football at this stage [SPAIN / BRAZIL]. Is it possible that in order for our squad to up their game added incentives have to be negotiated? [show me the money!!!!]. Our players must be instilled with the spirit that it is a privilege and an honor to represent ones national team and not a right.
Richard Ramudzuli10/26/2009 2:54 PM
dream on bafana
fedup 10/26/2009 2:37 PM
so sad but its true, we south Africans are the most gullible people in the world. everybody is taking us for a ride. Politicians, business , ESKOM and SAFA know that so easily fouled they don’t even have to be creative in their lies. Take this coaching issue, Perriera never did quite, he went on leave and put his friend in place to keep is seat warm. he comes back and we are ask to follow him like a flock of sheep heading to the slaughter house. Look at Eskom and the cell phone networks they are ripping us off with a smile. they have admitted to ripping us off but yet we just complain and go along pay.
Len van Heerden10/26/2009 2:26 PM
Parreira will quit in May 2010
RauRau10/26/2009 2:21 PM
the first person to go out of BB must be Aaron Mokoena
Fredie10/26/2009 2:14 PM
I think that Malema should be coach.
Jerry 10/26/2009 2:10 PM
With little knowledge o football aoolw me to comment as follws: Psycologically this is how huma mind works when applied for an actiovity. You get a foreign coach whose experience is foreign to a player. He mentors him to taclkle soccre activies using his background experience of his home environment. The local player then internalise that strategy and begin to apply it in reality in a pitch. His counetr part is coached by a local coach and has experience of local foot ball. The 2 combined are applied in a field with so much individed application of 2 strategies (local experience added with foreign approach). The couter part out smart the Bafana Bafana player. He become frustrated and human mind dictates that he react emotionally. He is then cought up in applying real local approach as he is now controlled by the mind. The opponent realises the frustratiion and excell more. He then score 1, 2 3 goals and Bafana is out. Position 75, 85 in Fifa rankings. SAFA then hires aniother foreign coach. What would be the results. Who knows perhaps conspirancy theiory applies here. Everything is possible on earth!!
Diski 9-910/26/2009 2:08 PM
Please stop misleading us about the reasons why Carlos left previously, everybody knows that it was not his wife's illness and yet the media (including Sport24) continue to feed us that lie. Herebelow is an extract from Sport24 published in April last year: "The coach denied that his resignation - officially announced on Monday - was due to a serious illness allegedly affecting his wife, Leila. "Leila is fine. She had problems, but she is fine now... The problem is something else... I am far away from everyone, from my grandchildren I could not stand it any longer," he said."
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE10/26/2009 2:04 PM
What favour has Brazil done for South Africa that these coaches keep being re-instated, and what is Parreira's salary this time, is his wife miraculously healed, what is going to happen come 2010 is he going to ditch us like he did before
Doks10/26/2009 2:01 PM
Why was Shakes Mashaba sacked.The real man for this position. This Parreira, Eish! His downfall and embarrasment for SA will be allowing Mokoena to retain the captainship. Improvement if we think of any in the team is to start by getting rid of that captain.
Dave10/26/2009 1:53 PM
Why not hire a South African coach to coach South African players in a South African way! Why push this Brazil way on us!? It doesn't seem to be working at all!!
John Coltrain10/26/2009 1:23 PM
Santana was brought in to lay the foundation for Parreira's tactics. Now that the players know what their roles are, perhaps CAP can get some more results. Continue the Brazilian philosophy!
AC10/26/2009 1:20 PM
As much as I support Bafana Bafana, I have to say that I do not believe that the Coaches are to blame, the Hierachy is. There is no football development in this country, the big clubs do not have Acadamy's open to everyone and they do not get Government assistance unless their name is Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates. The Powers that be are in it for the money, and players are hardly ever really thought about. In addition our football has no discipline, our officials are weak and corrupt and we have an attitude that Local is Lekker. Local is not lekker, look at the difference Steven Pienaar brings to the squad, it is very evident. You need a mixture of youth and experience, of local and overseas based players and more importantly you need an ATTITUDE of playing for the love of YOUR COUNTRY, and not the love of money!!!
nigel10/26/2009 1:16 PM
"Safa have done no development of players or coaches. We need a five to six year plan for not just Bafana, but from the grassroots, to get our soccer back into shape" .....this is strikingly similar to the ANC govt.s efforts on education, electricity generation, SABC, SAA, service delivery etc etc....run it into the ground for years & then look for quick fixes when they finally realise the shyte has his the fan...
Veron10/26/2009 1:16 PM
How much will Parreira earn? Please SAFA tell the nation!
jfky10/26/2009 1:13 PM
At what price was Parreira called back? Money does not solve selection by merit.
valentino10/26/2009 1:09 PM
Who cares, Bafana is kak period. They can change coaches till they are blue in the face, but the team will stay useless. And by the way, where was that doos malema when the team came back from Europe? Shame, he cannot really score cheap political points with a loser team can he, ha ha ha!!!
Jogn10/26/2009 1:08 PM
I do not agree with De Sa on Pitso, i think what needed to happen with the departure of Santana, was the firing of the whole techinical team as they have also failed. I however agree that the collapse of the structure is a major issue and we therefore have no choice but rally behind Parreira. SA(bafana bafana) fans should brace themselves however for major disappointment going into the WORLD CUP 2010!!!!
Roberto10/26/2009 1:00 PM
I agree with the artical. Finally their will be communication between the coach and the players. Parreira will guide Bafana Bafana through the World Cup. Elite players will be called up and under performed players will make their way. The players of the national team have the greatest respect for Parreira and something tells me their performance will be much better with the upcoming matches against Japan and Jamaica.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Latest blogs

Bulls looking a tad pale? 2/9/2010 3:32:15 PM

Buy World cup tickets!!! The world is laughing... 2/9/2010 3:26:16 PM

Brilliant win! 2/9/2010 2:51:16 PM

Vote

Following Bafana's nightmare 2010 Soccer World Cup draw, where do you see them finishing in their group?

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide