Soccer

Malema: Santana must go

2009-10-15 11:57
Email | Print
Joel Santana (File)

Cape Town - ANC Youth League leader Julius Malema has entered the controversy on Bafana Bafana coach Joel Santana’s future by calling on the Brazilian to resign.

Malema says in a report in the Pretoria News, that if the Bafana mentor refuses to do so, he wants Lucas Radebe to be brought in to work with the Brazilian in the run-up to the World Cup.

“Santana must go and (Carlos Alberto) Parreira must not come back,” he told a 1 700-strong delegation of students at the University of Turfloop in Polokwane on Wednesday night.

“If we lose, we must lose to one of our own. And if we win, we win with our own. Lucas is well placed to do this job. He is the best of South African football. He is proud to be one of our own.

“And because these (Bafana Bafana) boys grew up wanting to be like Lucas, why can they not be coached by him if they want to play like him?” he says in the report.

“As a winning nation, we can't have a losing team,” Malema added.

Your Comments

Hloma Mathe10/17/2009 5:09 PM
We all know Malema shoots from the hip like all loose cannons do, but to ignore him would be unwise. Nevertheless, he correctly states that we need our own people to take our national soccer club to triumph or loss, but only by our own people. Two coaches I have in mind, Shakes Mashaba and Mlungisi Ngubane. These two are amongst the great sons our soil has ever produced, whom if given the opportunity to take care and coach our national club now and urgently, without any interference or hindrance whatsoever, I can assure our compatriots, our boys will see the finals and possible, I say possible, the cup will remain in our land of our forefathers with their great-great grand sons' engravenment in the books of history of our continent in its length and breadth. These two coaches have all the abilities and capabilities to ensure a convincing success. One more thing they should be allowed to choose their own players to make it on the line, even if it means to overhaul the whole personnel. For this to happen we need to voice out our concern, mobilise our people, because we know very well that this soccer club does not belong to SAFA, nor does it belong to South Africa, but to the whole African continent, the diaspora and to every Black man in the universe. United we triumph, divided we despair.
Mpho Mohlomi10/16/2009 4:06 PM
Come on Julius, You was running out of speech in your paper Boss? You have to take your nose out on where you not belong Bru. Keep on insulting elders, because that is where you good at. This issue of football need strategic thinkers and intellectuals. Not people like you.
Dogg10/16/2009 2:20 PM
You know, it makes me wants to throw out when people are defending this stupid coach in the name of Santana. that idiot doesnt know anything about football, he is clueless. he probably was Pereira's ball boy in Brasil. so maarn please stop being blind folded, this moron must go.
emma koelema Malema 10/16/2009 1:34 PM
Exactly who the hell is Malema you all ask. He is a concerned fan like all of us. He is just known in teh media therefore he gets a article and we get a blog. But for the 1st time in my life I agree with malema.
MLU10/16/2009 1:07 PM
We South Africans just love Malema hey? this little article shoudn't even be making it to the news.why are we even debating this? what if it was Trevor Manuel(another politician), would we be up in arms like this? dont think so.Someone just give Malema an award for being the top news maker of our time. By the way Malema,you're right, Santana must go........
mduduzi --wa Gert Sibande10/16/2009 12:24 PM
It seems people they hate Malema so much.The focus is our continous embarrassement. Julius is not a kitchen boy. We elected a leader not a programmed robot.Bafana Bafana is composed of youth players who misled and incorrectly coached by a clueless coach.We will leave no stone unturned.
Tom Selleck10/16/2009 12:01 PM
GO SANTANA .... THE BEST COACH IN THE WORLD AT THE MOMENT, LOOK AT WHAT HE`S WORKING WITH ! HE`S LIKE JESUS PERFORMING MIRACLES EVERYDAY.
LOL10/16/2009 11:59 AM
Malema never talked sense in his life. He is always misleading students and he think he can dictate his vulgar language to South Africans. He must never ever talk about soccer because he never palyed soccer before. He must focus on his limited career of politics and leave Santana alone. None of the Bafana memebers said he wants to be coached by Lucas. Lucas is a good role model and he was supposed to be one of the team observers. MALEMA, STOP DICTATING TO SOUTH AFRICANS!!! Start thinking on you feet bro!! Not everything is about politics. Political Science is very important for you.
David10/16/2009 11:49 AM
Its NOT SANTANA ITS POOR ADMINISTRATION AND LEADERSHIP AT SAFA!!!!!!! Our football as whole is bad - premier league, no of international stars, number of players in top european teams etc etc
Thembalabantubonke10/16/2009 11:42 AM
@rarezi Please, no Clive Barker Winning once does not guarantee you are best for life Agree that rather pay a local coach to screw up the team. Thankfully Malema is not in government, otherwise we would banned by now
r10/16/2009 11:37 AM
Malema must focus on the youth league
Hans10/16/2009 11:31 AM
monna wa gesho moo gona o bolela nnete,monna yo santana o swanetse go sepela,mokwetisi ga ebe motho wa kamo gae africa borwa.Santana s not fluent in english so as some of our south african players. So how are they going to present the process of transmitting information from one person to another,obviously they are going to fail both parties.i think the use of incentive pay system will be the best priority to succeed nothing else.People need motivation to do things in a properly way.for example you pay mr santana millions a month bt the player is getting R5000 for that so in dis case mr santana one who s motivated n he will win by taking his salary at home each n every month.The best thing s to promise the player dis n dat if they win their matches,look at the Europeans those ppl are gettting gud money for playing n dats thier motivation nothing more.
rarezi10/16/2009 11:27 AM
why south africa spending too much money on Kak coach,pls hire Clive barker to be the head coach .
mkhakhathi10/16/2009 11:21 AM
shut up malema,pls concatrate on polotics, i don't like your style you so boring ,polotics and soccer is more different betwen those two .poor coment from big mouth malema.
Moloko aka Mothemela10/16/2009 10:57 AM
Shut the hell up..u are now insulting somebody who was just commenting and who does not even have powers to fire and hire..leave Malema alne and focus on the problem..we are facing a major problem here with Sathan oh Santhana who doesnt wana resign and thinks he is here for the world cup and cannot produce a litre of a milk..Cant you see that we are in a mess yeah people????we cannot even beat Amabhokoboko if they can play with our national team...jerrrrrrrr...leave my home boy alone
Colin Campbell10/16/2009 10:21 AM
@ Stop the rot -- I agree with you that THOSE times are on their way, but then don't you think its a good thing. I don't agree with the Apartheid era, which was almost a military/police state, but there was hardly any crime and everything was controlled and manageable!! Apartheid was a bad part of our history where the cops abused their power to do their racial crimes and vendettas. Maybe if we had more of a controlled police state then all US citizens might actually feel safe in our own homes and the criminals will be the ones poo-ing in their pants..So I say -- give the police more power to do their job, but we must also regulate that power we give them..
Simon10/16/2009 10:02 AM
Julius - a total digrace to youth of this country, and please Bro, just stop with yuor non-senses before we welcome visitors from all the world - you are no longer swearing, and now poor Santana in yuor lips
Stop the rot10/16/2009 9:27 AM
Aaah the court jester rears his ugly mug again...has his say and all of you suckers buy into this crap. While Malema takes your focus and attention away, the ANC led government and large corporations such as Eskom are raping you and because your focus is on Malema you people do not realise what is still to come. Time to wake up South Afica, stop paying attention to the court jester who is only there to take your focus from what is coming. Cell phone registrations to stop crime when actually it is about government control, rights to search houses without warrants to catch criminals...the police state is coming and you all are going to vote for it because you have been brainwashed into thinking that there is no other solution....and you are already thinking but at least I will be safe...watch V for Vendetta those times are coming for all of us
Colin Campbell10/16/2009 8:34 AM
@ Vela.. What the *big swear word*!! Malema is an absolute idiot. I can't believe people actually listen to him. He speaks to the people about what the people already have issues on in order to get HIS OWN popularity up! As for Santana --> Think of the implications of firing him would be.. We as a country would look week (as we already do) because of all the 'couch' firing that has gone through the years and the new couch would have to start all over again with a team that probably sucks to start off with.. I blame the players for loving the money in the game rather then the beautiful game itself..
HT10/15/2009 11:21 PM
hahaha..all the coments are amusing...i at least laughed today..i like julious.he aint going nowhere.word up malema..every time u make me laugh morena!
scelo10/15/2009 10:26 PM
We have a coach who is leading us no where and that is a fact, if he is not fired I can only think that the football leaders in this country (SAFA) do not have the balls to do so, Malema's knowledge of soccer can be debated in another forum.I think he was just commenting like any other SA citizen would.
Elias Jones Mokhunoane10/15/2009 7:09 PM
i fully agree with the only Malema who can stand his ground nd yes Joel " Still Building" Santana must go with immediate effect, actuallyhe must be fired since he is not willin to resign. Nothin good will come out of that man..
Rob10/15/2009 6:24 PM
@ Colin Camphell. I agree with what you say. Why always blame to coach? If I were he, after the team had lost their 5th game I would have kicked out some of the players. What I would like to know is.. How do these guys get sellected.? I get the feeling that the regional clubs don't want their star players to do national duty as that would then mean they would have weakened sides,which may lose and thereby not get the big winners cheques. In rugby and cricket the provicial teams do without the "big boys" while they do national duty. Does that also happen with soccer? Please somebody enlighten me!! Further, if it is true that the players play poorly in order to get rid of their coach,then the whole lot should be dropped. Give those others who really really want to put on the national soccer jersey a chance to prove themselves. Oh. Yes. About J.M. ...................... enough said.
Vela10/15/2009 5:00 PM
I can never understand the thinking of all those who criticize Malema, I guess most people as indicated in these comments don't like the truth(It's bitter) and actually u are the ones who should be called morons.U are a shame'
AnnelizeR10/15/2009 4:52 PM
Juliusie my big Baby - please become the Soccer Coach and show the South Africans what you can achieve! Put your money where your mouth is my Baby! Practice what your Preach!
Mpho10/15/2009 4:12 PM
Please Malema just concetrate on polotics as iam writing this comments people are burning the street in Starndaton thats where your focus should be not soccer, even a three year old can see u never kick a soccer ball in your life so please focus to your profile and leave our coach in one peace
kYLLEX10/15/2009 4:04 PM
Hands off our Junior Minister of Sport!!
Tshiginga10/15/2009 4:02 PM
8 defeats out of 9 games and heads are not rolling???? I think it is typical of our culture of not holding people accountable. I will give it to Julius, he has the balls to say what people only whisper to themselves. Poor performers must be fired in all spheres of our society (government, private sector, sports etc).
Moloko Mothemela10/15/2009 4:01 PM
People people people, Just stop there with ur racist slur..Julius is one of our people and he can comment whenever he is not happy about things...where is our Minister of sport? maybe Julius should be given a post and maybe things will run smooth. How can a couch get more that what our President is getting and afteral perform this bad? Can a man get an Amen?
curious10/15/2009 3:57 PM
I'd like to know why Julius gets as much publicity as he does. Is it because of his controversial opinions? Why is it that we hear more of Julius than of our president? Can the man who was elected to lead our country please do so now, and make this juvenile hold his stupid tongue.
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE @Gogga10/15/2009 3:50 PM
I stand corrected it is 25 and under he is way too old to be leading
Michael10/15/2009 3:46 PM
Malema must be the next south africa football couch because he thinks it is easy.
betty10/15/2009 3:28 PM
this man has an opionion about everything and everyone .....and so a master at none so too speak...his outburst is not worthy of the a response but cause everyone newspapers and respondees like ourselves gives him the time of day we in effect giving him "licence" to continue with his dwaddle
Tongue-in-cheek10/15/2009 3:27 PM
If Ju-ju played soccer in equal proportion to the sense he spoke, he'd be painting (distorted) lines on the field on a Saturday morning. I was going to say he'd be sitting on the subs bench but that would require someone with maturity and sense of teamwork and co-operation. If SAFA knew what they were doing, Santana would not have been appointed in the first place. If Santana knew what he was doing he would've involved more past star players like Lucas, Fish and the like to help mentor the players and hold him accountable for decisions around tactics and selection.
crazy10/15/2009 3:25 PM
malema wa setlatla,ngwana o o ntena ntho e putsoa. Ha a ye sekolong a lo bala. Please he's not well educated, he thinks he's all that in politics.
Simon10/15/2009 3:22 PM
WE ALL NEED TO STOP READING THESE ARTICLES... and iol/news24 NEED TO STOP PRINTING THEM! it gives this guy credit! he is a bloody moron, and I won't apologize for saying that! because its the TRUTH! My parents always used to tell me, that if its not true it shouldn't affect you... So lets just ignore this (struggling to not curse) imbecile... because what he says is always rubbish!
Gogga10/15/2009 3:22 PM
"What is the age restriction to be seen as Youth Leader ?? Can anybody tell me there should be a cut off age that you can not longer be considered part of the ANC Youth" Malema dont you think you over your expiry date by now .. ???? and should give it while you still ahead (behind) ???
Steve10/15/2009 3:20 PM
obviously Big Nose is failing us but Lucas will not be a good coach, we like Brazillians and hell we are stuck with 1. SAFA was stupid on hiring a man with no exprience in international football and this are the rewards. But as 4 Malema well....a fool makes a lot of noise.
Mamaile Manthata10/15/2009 3:18 PM
People shuld understand the angle cde julius is talking from,whether a politician,scientist whatever the reallity is Santana has failed us as a soccer loving nation and i 'm personal disturbed and disgusted by the amount of money he is getting. lets rather shame ourselves with our own boots on. 1.5m , 500 000 and 150 000 does it make sense. really nonsense.
clinton10/15/2009 3:18 PM
So bra Juluis. Its got nothing to do with the fact that there is no to very little development going into the NO1 sport of our nation. Its got nothing to do with the attitude of our players that seem to be unable to score against another team even if the goalie is not on the bloody field. Its got nothing to do with the fact that the big fat cats on top demand huge pay hikes and ginormous salaries while the actual support to players and clubs is nothing short of a joke. Its got nothing to do with our players conditioning and the lack of dissipline and commitment they show towards our country and the jersey. I vote Malema go coach the national football team, that way we would have laugh before, during and after each and every Bafana Bafana match. Oi< bra Juluis, have you noticed that people are burning down things and then you chose to open your big mouth to important issues like this. Wonder what came first, the wood or the work?
POST MY COMMENTS @iceman1982060310/15/2009 3:16 PM
ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
anonymous10/15/2009 3:13 PM
malema and santana has something in common they are both brainless
JB10/15/2009 3:10 PM
LMAO @ Tokoloshe
Rendani Malumedzha10/15/2009 2:59 PM
Malema, There is nothing wrong with our couch.......if the guys dnt want to score, there is nothing that Santana can do. He showed them as to how to play quality football, which they are playing. I was not aware that yoou are a soccer fan, but i think you should digest your ideas first before they can go to the public.
Pfani10/15/2009 2:55 PM
Malema is demn right, those critising him are cowards. Instead of talking about what he said they attack a person. Santana lost 7 games, last time Bakker lost how many games and then he was fired, was Malema involved- NO. Shame on you guys. Dunga is coaching Brazil without any coaching experience, Maradona is coaching Argentina without any coaching experience. Those guys played football, their pear respects them. Who said polotics and sports doesn’t mix, why South Africa was burned by FIFA. Guys get wise and start talking sense. You criticise a guy and say he talk nonsense but almost 90% of guys who have commented are worse. You are the fortunate once who got access to computers who thins you are wise because of education that someone told you that education makes a wiser than everyone. Get real guys.
Cedrick Palmer Lumadi10/15/2009 2:43 PM
Julius Malema, I suggest you stay away from soccer, concentrate on your politics matters.
Mack10/15/2009 2:43 PM
Aaah c'mon Jules, I was expecting something a bit more creative than that! I got so excited when I saw you in the news again! You're gettin boring, chubby cheeks!
Gerry 10/15/2009 2:40 PM
I 've been advocating the resignation of Santana for sometime now ,but,now that Malema has entered this debate I think I'm gonna change my stand point , lest I be associated with the likes of Malema .
Juliarse10/15/2009 2:40 PM
Again,Verbal Diarrhoea at it's best,it never ends.What normal person wants to change a coach at this stage.Changing coaches now is a bit late in the day.This should have been done about six months ago,but,then again,malema's half brain is six months behind time.I wonder what he knows about soccer,the only ball he ever held in his hand is his own.
glen10/15/2009 2:38 PM
malema runs the youth league, therefore he is only good enough to train the U19 side
larkin10/15/2009 2:37 PM
Malema doesnt know anything about anything.......he belongs in a circus...
Vuyi10/15/2009 2:34 PM
What does Malema know about soccer? can he even kick a ball. Santana must stay SA as a nation must support him. We can't keep on changing the coach, 2010 is around the corner. I think he needs Clive as assistant coach, and me Vuyi as a waterboy.
Vuyi10/15/2009 2:33 PM
What does Malema know about soccer? can he even kick a ball. Santana must stay SA as a nation must support him. We can't keep on changing the coach, 2010 is around the corner. I think he needs Clive as assistant coach, and me Vuyi as a waterboy.
junsau10/15/2009 2:29 PM
Surely if Malema say's he should go then he should stay.
DR10/15/2009 2:29 PM
Julius why were you not at the airport. Bafana looks like boys and play like girls.
iceman1982060310/15/2009 2:23 PM
@ Juju 12:24 . Malema wont play himself because he'll argue that there are more white spots on the ball than black ones.
Kosie10/15/2009 2:23 PM
The whole government is just as useless as Malema! Leave Santana because I want the world to see next year how useless we are. 0 games will be won!
Al10/15/2009 2:22 PM
thabo - u said it perfectly brother!...when u get his account number let me know. like the rest of the level headed south africans out there - there will be folk tithing to that fund...
lela10/15/2009 2:22 PM
the soccer team need something they will never have....its something that you are born with......its called pride!
Vernon10/15/2009 2:20 PM
Julius, go and fire incompetent and corrupt municipal officials in Sakhile, Sanderton and Deepsloot and leave soccer for soccer lovers!
lela10/15/2009 2:19 PM
Juluis...winning nation..?...you are on the wrong planet?
Lilian10/15/2009 2:19 PM
How many coaches have bafana had in the last 10 years???? None have managed to do anything with these overated lazy idiots. Motor mouth, in case you have forgotten, your brief is YOUTH. What are you doing about developing youth? What is the youth league doing to develop new talent? I say make motor mouth the coach. Put him in the goals. No team will want to go near him so bafana bafana can score all they want!!!!! . I don't know why I still watch these idiots playing. Is there a word in pedi for TEAM? Tell motor mouth sothat he can pass it on to them. Lucas is too smart to touch that job with a barge pole. Motor mouth time for your next diaper change!!! Off you go little one!!!!! Offer that job to a coach for No money, only then will you find out if there are any for the taking, who will do it for the love of the game or for the money!!!
terence10/15/2009 2:16 PM
Thanks Julius.....i needed a good laugh today.....just when i thought i would never laugh again. I can always depend on you. Throwing my comedy dvd's away with immediate effect. I demand you say something through the press everyday....You go boy (oops).Julius..
TRuTH10/15/2009 2:10 PM
Truth hurts....
Fezz10/15/2009 2:09 PM
Shame on you Malema! Anyone knows which sport he played as a toddler. We cant afford to fire Santana now; its very late
we loba10/15/2009 2:08 PM
Santana must go,why cant we have south african coach,we want to play against brazil and we go get a coach there.Santana is earning a lot of money for nothing and i feel its a waste.He must go back HOME tonight.
James Tshbalala10/15/2009 2:08 PM
Julius Malama .. You are our hero the more you talk , the more support we get for the DA . Keep up the good work Umfaan . ... Baas James hena tanda wena too much !
Juju my Hero10/15/2009 2:07 PM
Juju Juju Juju Juju Juju. WOW I love this guy. you bring humour in everything... I bet you think Santana has an affair with Zille, now they want to sabotage BafaBafana. I also think so. hahahahahaha come on Juju say it we need the laughter. Juju Juju Juju Juju Juju
Bantu 10/15/2009 2:06 PM
“As a winning nation, we can't have a losing team,” Malema added. i don't normally listen to Julius, but he has a point, by keeping Santana are we guranteed anything (Second Round, Quater-final) ? the answer is NO, so if there's are no gurantees in soccer fire him now, Why wait until he losses against Japan and Jamaica, to realise that he is clueless.
HJS10/15/2009 1:56 PM
Lucas Radebe have no coaching experience, why would he be considered a good choice. Someone like Gordon Igesund, who achieved championship status with different clubs, must surely be a much better choice. I do believe however, that his skin colour is a bit pale for Julius Malema's liking.
Tlou10/15/2009 1:55 PM
i am not malema's big fan but for once I will support his statement. Santana is useless and that is a fact!!!! i have never envied Malema until this day. For a change he has got it right. People will obviously get angry about it, just because it's Julius who said it but let's face it people, this time the poor boy is right.
Amanda @ Noel 1:2210/15/2009 1:55 PM
Spot on Noel - nice one. My sentiments exactly. See my first post at 12:54.
Jakes10/15/2009 1:53 PM
Even when he says something worth while he sounds stupid!
Boet10/15/2009 1:51 PM
I would like to volunteer to be our national couch, but I can't speak Portuguese!
Thabo10/15/2009 1:49 PM
Julius, brother - why do you not speak about anything that our seniors are responsible for that actually affects the poor of our beloved country? Did you hear about the price increase "proposed" by Eskom? Is it too much to work out how much 45% is? I'll explain, if you take away the "%", the 45 depicts your IQ. I DEMAND that you go - I think you should be the first black South African on the moon AND STAY THERE!! I will personally contribute to the fund - please send me your account number. You and your mouth are a disgrace!
Renny10/15/2009 1:45 PM
When is someone gonna take Mr. Malema out of his misery. He's a racist pig. What a bad example for our youth.
nndavhe rams10/15/2009 1:43 PM
malema was sold in the auction and now he wants big nose to be sold too.guys lets not fire big nose and his team(bafana team) but pls dont pay them if they loose.we have lots of players who can play for their country not this stupids monkeys.if they want something they must work for it.i know this players are going to request their salaries to be adjusted or they will threaten to boycot the games.PLS DONT GIVE THEM THE CONTRACT,THEY MUST PLAY FOR THEIR COUNTRY.LEMAS TELL ME IF THEY IS ANY AUCTION PLS.....
benny10/15/2009 1:39 PM
please rleave malema alon the problem is santana not malema if anybody got issue with write to the news paper. but about lucas been coach i am totally against that as good player is not a goood coach . check marodonna. satana must leave today
Johan10/15/2009 1:37 PM
Motor Mouth malema at it again what a joke , maybe his big mouth compromises for short commings in other areas of his body....small things amuse small minds......
Rix10/15/2009 1:36 PM
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE malema stop making a #%#^%^%# fool of yourself..........IDIOT......D**S
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE @Mossy10/15/2009 1:35 PM
LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! He puts his finger into every rotten pie
Jimmy10/15/2009 1:32 PM
Give Julius the job and shut him up.
Eric10/15/2009 1:31 PM
Some time ago my daughter saw BIG JULES sitting at East london airport under the Unaccompanied Minors sign. So appropriate!!! He should stay there.
notasoccerfan10/15/2009 1:30 PM
well if the players dont agree with the coach guess what they play like sissies just to get rid of him, the same thing happen all over the world it's easy to blame the coach, I feel sorry for Santana.
Phello10/15/2009 1:27 PM
Politics and Sports don't mix this clearly one typical example, now that we know who Julius prefers to be a coach, well he should know that he's preferable coach has not coach even an ameteur team.
why???10/15/2009 1:27 PM
why should santana be replaced? it is the players who think they are to high-and-mighty to listen what he says!!! malema, what the hell????
noel10/15/2009 1:22 PM
Malema is right Santana must go. Why do we need to blame non - South African coaches if the team can't win. We need a South African coach, then at least we can blame South Africans because Bafana are not going to win in any case no matter what or who the coach is. The players do not make the grade: no commitment, lack of skill and just don't care attitude. BUT POOR LUCAS no my friends please do not get a gentleman like Lucas involved with a bunch of like Bafana. Lucas does not need K@K in his life. So please nominate another guy with whom you can play Mr coach with but not Lucas.
Bernard10/15/2009 1:21 PM
Keep Santana - Malema must go. Malema is a huge embarassment to our country. Why don't the government lock up this loose cannon. I don't even know why anyone even listens to this nobody called Malema. He is an uneducated, uncooth fat upstart. He should go and get a job in the Roads dept digging ditches.
Fleuressence10/15/2009 1:21 PM
SANTANA: At least your reputation precedes you positively and your honor intact. Cannot expect you to train undisciplined people, like trying to teach a donkey. MALEMA: Would love to know what your I.Q is? The fingers on my one hand is probably too many to count. You need to become extinct like dinasoars, just fossils to remind us of you!
neo10/15/2009 1:20 PM
Oh Julius again!!!u hardly know how many players make a soccer team, my God.We haven't heard you announcing your youth plan whilst in office. i doubt if you can type words on your laptop or computer.you are too much busy with issues that doesnt concern you.ARE YOU PERHAPS OUR NEW MINISTER OF SPORT? OH, PLEASE SHUT UP!!!!!!!!!
faye@royceimaging.co.za10/15/2009 1:18 PM
I agree with Delano. Let Julius take over Santana's job. Hey Malema, should you not be in Diepsloot or wherever your masses are burning everything in sight because of Poor Delivery Services???
Boxer!10/15/2009 1:17 PM
Cde President is very right saying that Santana must leave! He has not delivered anything regarding what he should have done. All these characters that are going on with insults attacking Cde Malema pretending to be having South African soccer and sporting interests at heart are"fools at full speed without any kind of full stop" - human bonsais disguised as proper human beings in a race of their own! Their hatered for Cde Julius has blinded them from pertinent social and national issues! But above all they are so ill-bred that they subject all of us to the swearing which I suppose they were taught by their parents. Santana has failed period! And I do not see how Pareira can be recalled. We enriched him and he is the one who got us into this mess. He must stay in Brazill with his family,- it needs him.
vincent10/15/2009 1:13 PM
When is Julius leaving!
Bob10/15/2009 1:11 PM
Why don't we replace the WHOLE Cabinet with Julius Malema? He has a mouth big enough for all of them. He has opinions bigger than the whole Budget and he is stupid enough to even accept the job.
Katvis10/15/2009 1:10 PM
Ai, ai, ai - This guy (Juluis Malema) is G O O D and CLEVER!! He knows everything and is always right!! Give him the job and see s*@* happens in all the places!
Mike10/15/2009 1:10 PM
Now you know Melema is just a joke. I mean if he wants to be taken seriouse why is he not at the Sakhile township trying to calm them down and do what HE SHOUDL BE DOING!!! Dilivering on all the promises he and his ANC friends made these people! Probably cuz he will get killed!
EISH10/15/2009 1:10 PM
JZ please put a plan in action to do damage control because Malema is an A***OLE. the people don't listen to him and he makes S.A look like a fool to the rest of the world.
Selaelo10/15/2009 1:10 PM
Got no words for this boy. Wa mbora julius. Julius mst go.
Mark10/15/2009 1:09 PM
Finally, he says something good!
JP10/15/2009 1:07 PM
Malema : Santana must Go... S.A : Malema must go....
Dr Khoza10/15/2009 1:06 PM
Leave Juju alone people(LOL)...if u fail 8 out of 9 tests in a row, what are your chances of passing the exams. whatever anyone says, Santana must be one of the worst coaches we ever had.
Justice10/15/2009 1:06 PM
Here's a suggestion,please fire Julius from the youth league and fire Santana and all of Bafana Bafana players and bring guys like Gavin hunt & Pitso Mosimane & Mangoba Mkhize with Serame letswaoka and let them groom our under 20 squad for 2014 even if they don't do well next year it will be a good learning experience.
Dave10/15/2009 1:05 PM
Julius clearly thinks he runs the country. Hey! Maybe he does!
Ben10/15/2009 1:04 PM
Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt...... Wrap your mind around that one Malema (u 2 Seleke )....
SANTI10/15/2009 1:04 PM
JM, you should really take time and listen to yourself and I am sure that you will agree that you really do talk a load of #4&6#. Most of the time you have no clue about what is going on, but it seems that you just have to have your say. I have always admired and respected Lukas Radebe and I really hope that he keeps very far away from you. Instead of always just making a noise (like an empty vessel) take the time to sort out the real problems that you supposed to be doing
Billy10/15/2009 1:04 PM
Jules @ your age you should be with the ANCS(enior)L, suppose you are just too immature too join them, thus the reason you still consider yourself part of the youth.
Tumelo10/15/2009 1:03 PM
If I was Santana, I would start reserving my flight back to Rio. Malema means business.
Matthew10/15/2009 1:03 PM
Does Lucas Radebe have any coaching qualifications or experience? Why would he be a good choice?
SANTI10/15/2009 1:03 PM
JM, you should really take time and listen to yourself and I am sure that you will agree that you really do talk a load of #4&6#. Most of the time you have no clue about what is going on, but it seems that you just have to have your say. I have always admired and respected Lukas Radebe and I really hope that he keeps very far away from you. Instead of always just making a noise (like an empty vessel) take the time to sort out the real problems that you supposed to be doing
Viva JM10/15/2009 1:03 PM
Julius is 100% right by saying Santana should go but also 100% wrong that Lucas should coach.Who did he coach in his life..I still belive Jomo and Clive can do us proud.
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE10/15/2009 1:02 PM
Does this motor mouth know who the previous players of Bafana Bafana were, he needs to do research and then speak.......
Colin Campbell10/15/2009 1:02 PM
Hmm.. It seems like that whenever there is a controversy Mr Malema always seems to want to get involved.. I agree that Malema knows nothing about soccer or mostly anything else for that matter and all he seems to do these days is pick up on issues and jumps on the side with the biggest following..!! I for one don't pay any attention to him usually!! In the case of the current soccer crisis - Do you think it is really the coaching squad that needs to be blamed? We have come a long way in these past two years. From 'isha-boba' (or however you spell it) to passing soccer. We do however have the problem of passing way too much or not accurately enough. Also never to mention that we don't have any decent strikers!! I think, personally, keep the coach on in his position and give him some help. He has a big task ahead of him and needs all the positive help he can get.. I'd even offer my help if I could!! To all you negative people -- rather give support then moan because things aren't going to plan.. Remember BAFANA BAFANA needs their supporters to believe in them no matter what happens!!
Mr Mosaya10/15/2009 1:02 PM
When is this gona be 36 years old so that he can be out? he is misleading
POST MY COMMENTS PLEASE10/15/2009 1:01 PM
This man spits venom of hatred every time he opens his mouth, and who told him these players only wanted to be like Lucas Radebe, yes he was a good soccer right in his time, there are many soccer idols that the young players are aspiring to be. Why does he not be the goalkeeper of Bafana seeing he wants his own.....
Luka10/15/2009 12:57 PM
South Africa, beware of mach fixing!!!!!!!!!! Bafana Bafana are very spoilt. They play like sissies and blame Satana thereafter. We used to play soccer bare footed, in ordinary pairs of trousers and scored 25 goals without sponsorship, with empty stomach etc! Even if they can be coached by Julius Malema or Lucas Hadebe or Santana, or Clive, Jomo they will remain the same. These boys are very spoilt and fussy. They failed to perform under the world's acclaimed person's leadership (Perrreira). They must just change their attitude and kick the ball like the other national squads. I once heard someone saying "they lose because there is no funding." What the hell does funding have to do with running and scoring a goal?
Amanda10/15/2009 12:54 PM
Malema, malema, malema. WTF? The guys have'nt even started playing and you are already looking for someone else to blame. You stupid racist little boy. Not even god can help this team. They are past useless. Maybe you should try putting in some "quota" players. Moron.
GeePMB10/15/2009 12:54 PM
To the best of my knowledge, Luca does not have his international coaching ticket. Whilst I agree Lucas should be involved (along with Mark Fish and Niel Tovey) SAFA needs to investigate the team in general and not just Santana. As for Malema, he has an opinion on everything and is rapidly being viewed by most for what he really is, an uneducated glory seeker!
colin10/15/2009 12:54 PM
I say Julius you say dummy! What a fool! Julius you should focus on the youth league and shut the f*@* up! This guy’s stupidity runs to infinity!
SANTANA10/15/2009 12:53 PM
MALEMA SHOULD GO!!!!!!!!!!
francois10/15/2009 12:52 PM
Malema-p*****ol, must you open your gap about everything and everyone, you are so afraid that if you don't get mentioned in the media at least once a day people will actually forget about you...you are nothing but hot air and it will soon be proven to the world that you are an uneducated buffoon.
vincent10/15/2009 12:50 PM
When is Julius leaving!
jackey10/15/2009 12:49 PM
Why does News 24 always publish what this puppet says ?? The elections are over dude go pay your speeding fines or better mobilise the youth & go fight your "revolutionary" war against Nando's & Nedbank and leave sport alone...Are you gonna make SAFA "ungovernable" if Santana doesnt leave ?? Or what is "ungovernable is sepedi ???? & why Lucas ??? Bloody Idiot !!!!!!!!
MO10/15/2009 12:48 PM
Julius doenst know anything about soccer.our problem is not with the coach BUT is with the players.Even if lucas come he wont do nothing!!!!!
JDJ * ManU10/15/2009 12:48 PM
Can some tell Julius to shut the hell up and go do his matric. He can't even talk properly but want to comment on the Football, I'm sure he does not even know the nature of coaching... You make me Sick Julius.
Andrew10/15/2009 12:46 PM
Where was Julius Malema this morning when Bafana Bafana arrived at OR Tambo? Will he give the entire team R60 000.00 each for their efforts? Let Julius be the next coach.
Delano10/15/2009 12:45 PM
Why not let Julius control the soccer in South Africa and then the team can be called Malema Malema.
Mossy10/15/2009 12:44 PM
Its just so funny that MR Seleke would bring up Santana's bad english.....LOL
Mafisto10/15/2009 12:44 PM
Like it or not Julius rock the hell out of you.
Mossy10/15/2009 12:43 PM
OHHHH my word wat an idiot..He shud be concerned about wat the youth of this country and he is just involving himself in things that dont concern him...next he will be telling CSA to make Makhaya Ntini the proteas coach.
derrick10/15/2009 12:41 PM
WHY ARE WE WORRYING ARE SELFS OVER THE MOUTH OF MR M THE MORE WE REACT TO HIM THE MORE IT OPENS HIS MOUTH ,AT LEAST I AGREE WITH HIM THE ROO SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN IT AFTER THE DEBACLE OF PERRIEA. LETS FACE IT BAFANA ARE A NIGHTMARE TO COACH. THE PREMIERSHIP A JOKE TAKE A LOOK HOW RUGBY AN THE BOKS DO IT . DERRICK
Jack10/15/2009 12:40 PM
I congratulate Santana. Because no matter what, he is getting PAID big bucks. He probably knows BANANA BANANA don't have a hope in H3LL of winning a single match, even if it were against under 12's!!! Viva the dark useless soccer players we have. VIVA! Viva Julias the Idiot for opening his trap ONCE again. VIVA
Jet10/15/2009 12:38 PM
I can believe this guys is meant to be one of our leaders!! he is freaking annoying and puts his nose where it doesn't below. Unbelievable!!! Some one out there in the universe please shut him up he is clueless!!! Bafana is been playing top teams in the world and we've been losing against them, what will be the point of playing weak teams winning and then fail dismally in the world cup....Leave Santana alone
JJ10/15/2009 12:38 PM
Dawn was Lesele u r the one u should shut up.Hw can a national team perform this way and minister not even mention a word.This is the pride of the nation until lately. Atleast it shows malema takes our footbal very serious.
Nell10/15/2009 12:38 PM
Julius M should enter SA's got Talent. He's so funny as you just laugh at his rediculous comments...he'll most likely win it!!! What a dumb-ass! The ANC must be so proud of their 'YOUTH'!!!!.....ha-ha-ha!
DT10/15/2009 12:38 PM
No-one can be a more useless doos than our moronic Julius - but is he ready to resign?
Tokoloshe10/15/2009 12:35 PM
Now that Julius is on his case, here is some advice for Santana. Quickly send the team for gender tests, but of course lie to them, as that will enhance his reputation with Julius. Of course, he will have to know how to deal with the truth if it is discovered that some of the Bafana team are in fact girls. Wouldn't surprise me, the way they're playing. (Incidentally, there is no English word for Tokoloshe, so therefore I do no exist).
Alan10/15/2009 12:34 PM
Julius Malema, Jackass of all, Master of absolutely none.
aubrey makou10/15/2009 12:33 PM
I think the safa commitee has failed us as nation by hiring coaches that does not even understand english. i think pareira himself makes things worse by bringing santana and fooling our safa exco
shakes10/15/2009 12:32 PM
julius you are right, santana must not go alone. he must take the so called captain with and the non- showing commitment players like: teko, benson, gaxa, sibaya and fernandes with. aaron almost maimed pienaar the other day in a league game, why? it's simple, because pienaar is anti santana.
lol10/15/2009 12:32 PM
LOL! Julius is starting to place blame early for Bafana's certain epic fail!
Alan10/15/2009 12:32 PM
Julius, here is a suggetion......Why don't you go!
Toons10/15/2009 12:32 PM
Maybe, just maybe - Our team can just not cut it??
Antionette10/15/2009 12:29 PM
MALEMA - SHUT YOUR GOB - Do you have to remark about everything - you actually know NOTHING - You are simply a big mouth driven by raw hate! Be careful - HATE IS LIKE A FLAME - IT DEVOUERS YOU - I don't think that there is a more stupid person in the world of politics
Sonny@Thabo Seleke10/15/2009 12:29 PM
Oh God it speaks! What does Julius Makwapa know about soccer? By your comments you know even less. Go herd goats in the Sudan. Hopefully a Arab will take target practice at you. Take motor mouth Makwapa with you.
Mandy10/15/2009 12:29 PM
Julius boy, don't talk about things you know NOTHING about. In fact, do not open your mouth at all because what comes out of that hole is scary stuff.
Jaco10/15/2009 12:25 PM
When is the ANC going to shut this idiot up? Julius, you don't know anything about soccer, the Semenya debacle or anything that you constantly blabber about. Please do this country a favour and stop opening your mouth.
coen10/15/2009 12:25 PM
Why doesn't Julius himself take up the responibility to help the players. He can then apoint his own technical team and get all the glamour when transforming these guys into winners. He can also then proof that he is actually very clever and that he is able to put words into deeds. Come on Julius , show us what you are made off.
Juju10/15/2009 12:24 PM
If Santana doesnt go then Bennie must come back. Why cant Malema play soccer.
Sipho10/15/2009 12:24 PM
Of course blame the Coach who gets a stupid salary but who agreed to it in the first place ?? Then again it is not him on the pitch its the usless players who are also overpaid, school kids would be better and cheaper too.
Koos10/15/2009 12:23 PM
If Chuene had even the least bit of jelly fish backbone, he should have adressed the obvious matter of his own wrong doings himself. You are a coward Leonard Chuene!
John10/15/2009 12:22 PM
Why do we publicise whatever Julius is saying. During the past 18 months, so much publicity has gone Malema's way and not a word of wisdom ever came out of his mouth. Maybe he should rather have a opinion about crafts, say woodwork, but I am sure rubbish would again follow.
SJAAK10/15/2009 12:20 PM
MALEMA JY IS N POEPHOL.POLITICS SHOULD STAY AWAY FROM SPORT. ITS NOT THE COACH ITS THE USELESS PLAYERS. THERE IS LOTS OF TALENTED PLAYERS THATS SUPOSE TO BE IN TH BAFANA TEAM. STAY OUT OF IT GO AND MAKE ANOTHER NANDOS AD YOU PUPPET.
Joeseph10/15/2009 12:19 PM
I`m sure by Julius saying "one of our own" he means lets just get a black person there for the sake of him being black. It doesnt matter which coach you get, the players are so useless and only care about their bank accounts. No passion, no professionalism.
Thabo Seleke10/15/2009 12:17 PM
Blame santana. why? he is ignorant and arrogant. Blame Santana. why? his poor selecttion. Favourism. Blame santana. why? His pattern, or system too defensive.players they dont understand his philosphy. Blame Santana. Why ? ill positioning of Players Blame santana. Why? he is a Coward & he is afraidd to sustitude. Blame Santana. Why? he dont have plan A or B Blame Santana. Why ? poor english.
koosofietsie10/15/2009 12:13 PM
Malema.... What excactly has this got to do with you? PLEASE just try and stay away from the media for a while. go join the Circus or something.
Thabo Seleke10/15/2009 12:07 PM
You know Juju I was wondering where u where while all this was happening and again u didn't disappoint, thx for intervening as our sport minister is nowhere to be found, or probably shopping for a BMW. This santana is the same as a thief. He's fooling us telling us that everything is on track, he's delusional bcos he seems to be more happy about his salary than he is with the team.
Dawn wa Lesele10/15/2009 12:05 PM
Malema, shut the hell up. What, did you & Lucas have a meeting where you promised to nominate him to the technical team? Go somewhere & talk f**** like you do most of the time while you are actually supposed to be addressing issues impacting on the youth like teenage pregnancy, suicide, education, basic health care, etc.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Introducing Bokkie

Dale Steyn's jaw-dropping spell

Varsity Cup - Ikeys v Pukke

Featured Blog

Nary a ball had been kicked in anger in the Super 14, but years of woe haven't dampened Huge Dude's spirit. 'This is their year', he says, the year when the Lions will go forth and conquer, and crush all foes beneath them to a bloody pulp! Take note, fair-weather fans, we have a true supporter in our midst!

Vote

Following Bafana's nightmare 2010 Soccer World Cup draw, where do you see them finishing in their group?

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide