Lions in SA

Olivier: It's time for action

2009-07-03 07:52
Email | Print
Wants to make a lasting impression (Gallo)

JJ Harmse

Pretoria – Springbok centre Wynand Olivier has waited a long time to make it back into the national side and that is why he wants to ensure that Saturday's third Test against the British and Irish Lions at Coca-Cola Park is a big one.

Olivier last played for the Springboks in 2007, but after an excellent Super14 season this year, Peter de Villiers p[ulled him into the national squad.

"I feel I haven't really played a big Test for the Boks, so hopefully people will remember me as a player who played a very good game against the Lions," Olivier said.

He has played five times against the All Blacks and England and four times against the Wallabies but feels this Test against the Lions will be something special. "It is special because it is the Lions. But I am also determined to play for a place in the starting team."

Olivier is especially pleased to have Morné Steyn on his inside and Jaque Fourie on his outside. "Jaque and I, especially in 2006, played a few times together when Jean (de Villiers) was injured and he is such a good player that you can't help but want to play along side him."

"Morné and I are Bulls team-mates and friends, so I am very happy to be alongside him when he plays his first Test as part of the run on side. I'm not exactly going to try to keep him calm, though. You know him, he is calm enough," Olivier said.

He hasn't played for five weeks, but Olivier said he feels fit.  "At the end of the Super14 series I had a few aches and pains but have now completely recovered from them. So I'm ready for action."

According to Olivier the call to join the Bok camp was a good, but being selected is even better. "I thought my inclusion in the squad was a reward for the hard work I'd put in, but later on I felt I was just making up the numbers. Now I'm getting the chance to play and make a mark. I don't know if there is a chance of making the Tri-Nations team but I'm sure going to use it,” said Olivier.

Equally pleased about his inclusion is Sharks eighth man Ryan Kankowski. His father, Tino, played for the Eastern Province against the Lions in their opening match in 1980. Now Ryan is getting a chance to play in the last Test of the 2009 Lions tour.

"It is definitely something my dad and I have spoken about, and it means a lot that we both got to play against the Lions."

It's been a month since Kankowski last played rugby but he thinks his absence from the game will be an advantage.

"It was a long Super14 and you appreciate the rest you get. But we've worked hard over the last few weeks in the camp and I feel fit," said Kankowski.

It will be Kankowski's eighth Test and though he hasn't yet played with Heinrich Brüssow, he believes they will form a good combination with Juan Smith.

"Brüssow is brilliant on the ground while Juan never stops tackling and driving the ball up. It will hopefully give me the chance to stretch my legs with the ball in hand," said Kankowski.

"It is a big opportunity for all of us. The series has been won, but it is our job now to make it 3-0," he added.

Your Comments

UK Lion7/4/2009 5:36 PM
nick 7/3/2009 9:20 AM Nick Please explain now Mr. Big
Lion supporter7/4/2009 5:29 PM
WELL DONE WYNAND. Watched the match and if you were passing the bal........l we (Lions) couldn't not won the game Thanks again
Troll7/3/2009 1:10 PM
Give em hell boet. Good luck. Boks by 12. BOKKE FOREVER
Pieter 7/3/2009 12:16 PM
@Genis: you sound like a softie, why drink pink if you could keep it real maybe your a girl? Wynand and Jaque are the best centre combination, there are going to be fireworks on Saturday in the midfield!
hoo boy...7/3/2009 9:50 AM
Congratulations, Wynand. Wishing you everything of the best for the game.
Brownsuit7/3/2009 9:34 AM
@Genis, my we're a bit of a poof aren't we?
cark7/3/2009 9:32 AM
Big question for everyone. The springboks have a forward and backline coach. A fitness and defensive coach. Then theres percy the kicking coach and the technical and logistics guy that does all the reseach. There is a lifestyle coach, a shrink, a doctor,a physio and the media liason. With all these coaches, what is PDV left to do. Or is he the mistakes coach??
Jacques7/3/2009 9:26 AM
We only need Habana on wing and Pierre on no8. Ryan is to small.......
MARIUS7/3/2009 9:26 AM
I am a Shark supporter and really like Kanko however, I think that our "laugh a minute" coach has once again proven his ability to stick his actions to his words wrong. Remember that he is always the one going on about combinations above individuals. Even though i want Kanko to play, why the hell did he take Spies out for this COMBINATION? He could have had a all bulls 8,9,10,12 combination at that! Why did he not play Morne Steyn in the first two tests where he could have then at least hed a all bulls 8,9,10 combinations? No, he had to screw up the combination with his, not a fly-half at all, Ruan Pienaar then! I think Saturday's game will be a spectacular however predict that the BIL will certainly give the new back three quite a number of air balls to field. Hopefully our guys have practiced this week to cathc high balls, they will get tested come this Saturday. I also think that we will see on Saturday the value of Bismark in the scrums, as the same front rows are up against one another again than in the first test, bar Bissie. Having all that said i hope for a 7 point win, GO BOKKE! O ja, Petertjie- onthou om hulle persoonlik geluk te wens as hulle gewen het hoor!
nick7/3/2009 9:20 AM
Uiteindelik tot sy sinne gekom met n goeie spankeuse.
EC7/3/2009 9:07 AM
Picking a bok squad of 28 players was such a farce. They were led to believe that the team will be selected from those 28 players but now de Villiers is running around, picking players like Zane from the emerging bok side. Shows what a bit of pressure can do to him. I think he is reading these comments every day and good for him. He is slowly learning a bit about the game.Not that I am complaining - Zane should have been there in the first place. With a bit more pressure, he might see the light and stick to this centre combination. Much better side but would prefer to see Habana there.
Sonny7/3/2009 9:01 AM
@Genis. Ag shame! Bakkies is a hard man boet! You probably wear pink underwear as well!
Willie7/3/2009 8:57 AM
I'm a Spies fan, but I feel him coming on in the las 20 min might be a good thing. Lets see how this goes...
Genis7/3/2009 8:25 AM
Right. Now here we have the ultimate gentleman in modern day rugby, alongside Brian O Driscoll. Wynand, unlike his team mate BIG BULLY Bakkies, plays the game hard and fair. With Wynand i'll have a pink drink or two.
Pierre7/3/2009 8:24 AM
This is very close to the best team. We should take the game and PdV will notice his mistakes with selections. Apart from Bismark and Bakkies this should have been the first selection from the start of the series.
SPRINGBOK FAN7/3/2009 8:22 AM
Go Wynand. Your were the best centre with J Fourie in the S14. Why the hell you 2 did not play together in the first 2 tests boggles the mind. J de Villiers and Jacobs are out of form, but they are Helium's little favourite pets. Same thing with M Steyn and Z Kirchner. Finally Helium is seeing the light!!! (and oxygen).
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Super 14 - Stormers v Cheetahs

Super 14 - Highlanders v Sharks

Super 14 - Crusaders v Lions

Super 14 Team of the Tournament

Your chance to play Super 14 selector!

Featured Blog

Blogger Scene and not herd has come to the realisation that the process behind the draw for the 2011 Rugby World Cup is desperately flawed and it has become frustratingly obvious that the world's better teams are not rewarded for excellence.

Latest blogs

Looking Good! 3/22/2010 10:49:30 AM

Thank you Stormers for saving SA rugby! 3/22/2010 8:15:23 AM

Bloggers and boogers II 3/22/2010 7:55:08 AM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your hero?

Nominate your hero and win R 10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide