Lions in SA

Div faces tough challenge

2009-05-22 13:04
Email | Print
Peter de Villiers (Gallo)

Johannesburg - After a year of mixed fortunes, on and off the field, Springbok coach Peter de Villiers faces his biggest test when the British and Irish Lions arrive in South Africa next week.

Unlike the start of his tenure in 2008 when he predicted big things for the South African Super 14 rugby sides, De Villiers has been far more reserved lately in making statements.

He is aware of what a Lions series means to the public and knows overall victory is not negotiable, especially considering what happened to the Boks in 1997 - they lost the series 2-1 - and the fact that he is one of the fortunate few who will get an opportunity to coach a team against the famous visitors.

De Villiers was in a no-win situation last year, taking over a team that had achieved plenty of success in the preceding four years, including winning the 2007 World Cup, under the guidance of Jake White.

South Africa's first black national coach wanted to stamp his mark on the team and the Boks played a different brand of rugby to that under White.

The Boks won nine of 13 Tests last year, but their dismal showing at home in the Tri-Nations left many fans wondering whether De Villiers was the right man for the job.

But by the end of the year, following record-breaking wins against New Zealand in Dunedin, Australia at Ellis Park and England at Twickenham, De Villiers was a hero.

He now enters his toughest challenge yet, three back-to-back Tests against the Lions, who many believe will be coached by the best of the best, wily Scot Ian McGeechan.

Favouring De Villiers is the fact he will be able to call on a large core of the Bok squad which has done duty over the last five years, including John Smit, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Pierre Spies, Fourie du Preez, Jean de Villiers and Bryan Habana.

The hard toil of the Super 14 may work against him, though. Already De Villiers will have to do without first-choice fullback Conrad Jantjes, while there are injury concerns over centres De Villiers, Wynand Olivier and Jaque Fourie and flyhalf Ruan Pienaar.

Veteran fullback Percy Montgomery has retired, while overseas-based stars such as flyhalf Butch James and tighthead prop CJ van der Linde are also injured.

While he may have some concerns of his own, the colourful De Villiers has already tried to unsettle the tourists by questioning a number of their selections.

He stated his surprise at the original non-selection of the captains of Wales (Ryan Jones), England (Steve Borthwick) and Scotland (Mike Blair) and also at the choice Ireland lock Paul O'Connell as captain.

"The one thing that surprised me was that the leaders of three home nations weren't included in the squad - the guys who play under those guys respect them," De Villiers said.

"Those are the guys that can stand up in meetings and try to resolve small niggles and things that can evolve on a long tour like this.

"Brian O'Driscoll was the captain of the last Lions team, even though he got injured, and he was the captain of the most successful Six Nations team this year. That's a second big surprise."

De Villiers will name his Springbok Test squad on June 1 just a few days after a Bok training squad of 23 players faces a Namibian Invitation XV in Windhoek.

"Without the opportunity of a few warm-up games we must ensure that we get the most out of this match, regardless of the fact that some players are not in attendance," said De Villiers.

"After this match we will assemble a Springbok squad that will have three weeks to prepare for the first Lions Test and we have to maximise the time at our disposal."

Your Comments

skywalker5/24/2009 6:18 PM
Wahahahahahahaha...CRASH.!!!...(the sound of Ian Mcgeechan laughing so hard he fell off his chair,upon hearing of the selection of January and Rose)
Kevin Rack5/24/2009 2:11 AM
PDiv(V.1) is the best thing that has happened to Bok rugby. The Bulls game last night showed this. Unpredicability is hard to defend against. Our backline has long been ignored and the old crash ball has been our undoing. Our boys are running at the space between the players and not over them. He is not the best coach in SA but he will take us down a path which will be better for us. My only whinge is the ANC jealousy of rugby versus football and BEE. Practice what you preach because racism is racism no matter what you call it. Dont have policies you fought against.
Craig Collins5/23/2009 11:39 PM
Expat, yes i remember, i was one of them and it had the desired effect. but i dont live in the past, you've beaten us twicw in the rwc. fair and square. Now, we're coming for you, hope your coach is ready to get slaughtered not only by the lions but by your own spectators as well.
expat5/23/2009 6:49 PM
Craig you have your head so far up your own "xxxx" you cant see the light of day. I have never known such a fickle nation as the brits - the poms slate all their teams/athletes; in fact anyone that makes a mistake is crusified! You may recall booing your own team off twickenham at half-time prior to the RWC, only to cheer them off at the end of the game when they norrowly beat us... Any negativity we may have is a fraction of the pommy way. Looking forward to what the pommy papers have to say after the tour!!!!
Craig Collins5/23/2009 11:32 AM
How do you SAFFAS say, hier kom 'n ding - Lions are going to Braai that springbokkie of yours. No wonder, look at all the negativity around you lot. Come learn from the poms, we support all our teams no matter what.
Bedies5/22/2009 10:58 PM
Lets cut the crap. DPV has already had one year as coach and the results last year suggested he still had lots to learn in terms of management, focus (consistent game plan) and public relations. PDV up to now has kept very quiet which tells me he has taken some good advice in terms of managing public relations ...... if he has improved his other skill sets too (entirely possible), then we should keep quiet for now and give him the chance he deserves!
Sam5/22/2009 8:57 PM
Please! How can inheriting a winning team of players be a no-win situation? How much do we believe in our victimhood, when we create a world-winning team and believe we're at a disadvantage? Yuk. Puts us in a deep pit of tar and keeps us there, makes it deifficult to succeed.
Tommy5/22/2009 5:31 PM
The fact is politicians will not leave sport alone.Now that we have DIV as coach, the time has come to field a team with out any whites in it. We obviously cant call them the All Blacks. I think we need suggestions from the fundis out there??
tazo5/22/2009 4:52 PM
angaZi...you and your ilk are the only ones who will not be satisfied regardless. Move on...let go of the hatred, and if you can't..shove off. We all tired of your silliness.
Anonymous User5/22/2009 4:50 PM
"Losing Jantjies is a blessing in disquise - you can play a drunk monk in his place and we will do better on fullback!" Please just don't let this happen, he most probably put Rose there......and then what???? Pieter is going to need a bigger snor to hide behind after this series!!!!
Thor5/22/2009 4:24 PM
No No , Earl must be given the chance....he is a rough diamond that will sparkle, and actually Luke Watson has the best stats in the Super 14. Both Luke and Earl should play.....go boks !
Anonymous User5/22/2009 3:52 PM
Thor,are you mad,Earl Rose might be first choice in the Springbok wife beating team but I wouldn't let the guy play in the u/19 E team for Soweto Comebacks
SW5/22/2009 3:52 PM
Die politieke keuse gaan nog baie polimiek veroorsaak. Blinde ondersteuning en arrogansie gaan hom in die stoel hou. Bly 'n bok en skree tot laaste fluitjie.
Tim5/22/2009 3:41 PM
The only reason Earl Rose is in the team is because his father is best mates with Twakkie! FACT! Why else would Earl's father run to Twakkie during the ALLEGED racism incident! Thats why Jake wasn't popular in certain circles, because he didn't select players because daddy knew so and so!
Anonymous User5/22/2009 3:39 PM
Angasi? U're not black dude! It's Angazi! Liar! Remember, Jake gave us a 49-0 thumping to the Aussies (but also won the WC), Rudolf Strauli was the worst coach ever and typically stupid! DIV has done a far better job than some previous coaches, but the critism on this block? You boys are idiots!
Anonymous User5/22/2009 3:30 PM
Good luck coach. with comments like these, no wonder there will never be unity in this country and some want to puke on the springbok. With a black coach, if the team wins, its the players and if they lose, its the coach.
keith5/22/2009 3:22 PM
P Diddy is the challenge!
wade5/22/2009 3:08 PM
Im sorry but anyone who thinks earl rose should play for the boks has totally lost it. He is unbelievably bad and the lions will be better off without him...let alone the bok side.
Zee5/22/2009 3:05 PM
Good luck Coach, make us proud! The Boks will take this series! @Angasi - you clearly missed the "record defeats against NZ, Aus and Eng". Typical South African, always focussing on the negative! Grow up and stop being so fickle young man!
Anonymous User5/22/2009 3:00 PM
Die kuns gaan nie wees om die beste 15 op papier op die veld te sit, maar liewer's om 15 manne te kry wat 100 % fiks en reg is.. Ek meen as Jean de Villiers bv. n ligte besering het, hy gaan mos nie die game mis nie, maar sulke gevalle kan maak dat die bokke verloor N man moet die moed he om 100 % met bestuur te praat oor beserings Ek is net bang die manne is meer in dit vir die geld
Carl5/22/2009 2:59 PM
I've played rugby for too many years to know that the coach points the team in a certain direction, but it is the players at the end of the day who must perform on the field and should be given the credit for the wins and losses. Div is by no stretch of the imagination a "good coach" and I doubt he will ever be as a chip on the shoulder does not disappear and this will always hamper him, plus having your head up your arse, does n't help either. We've lost so many good players through injury or ignorance that the performance on the field against the Lions is going to be very unpredictable and erratic especially if they include the most useless player to ever be included in a Springbok squad....you guessed it, Earl Rose. But good luck to the boys, we're always behind you, if not the coach!
Bongani5/22/2009 2:58 PM
I think PDV is a stupid. I am afraid these lions are going to beat us as the coach, he not too good. Our rugby boys have to win for the hole cuntry. Not good to lose to UK people!!
Thor5/22/2009 2:54 PM
I think Earl would be great at Full Back and also a great vice captain.....go Earl do us proud !
Chris5/22/2009 2:41 PM
What is the point? De Villiers is a puppet...he should never have been put incharge of the Boks in the first place.
ROBBIE5/22/2009 2:35 PM
DIV YOU MUST LEAVE POLITICS OUT OFF SPORT JUST REMBER THAT THE TEAM ON THE FIELD CAN MAKE OR BREAK YOUR NAME THE BOYS DO NOT HAVE PUT THERE BODIES ON THE LINE FOR YOU SO THINK BEFORE YOU SPEAK
Jannie5/22/2009 2:35 PM
I agree Keagan! Who the hell is this fool who ask my trust without a name! Luck is what win you games. Jake White has ride on some luck, and many other world class coaches. We have the players to win the series against the Lions. I support the team, I support the coach, I support every player who put on the Green and Gold of SA. Go Bokke!!!!!
John5/22/2009 2:21 PM
Yes this will be testing times for Mr PDV. Not only the Lions tour but the TN after that. I seriously suggest he leaves Rose & Newman out of his side even if it does upset their respective fathers and PDV's buddies.
Bredies5/22/2009 2:14 PM
The Springboks under De Villiers have become totally unpredictable - brilliant on one day and utterly disappointing the next. The series I think will go 2 - 1 to either side, just depends on how the wind blows on the day!
Anonymous User5/22/2009 2:08 PM
You are right Angasi, he has still proved nothing. He had one good win in NZ, smashed an Aussie team who could not have cared less about that game and beat a very poor English side, this by no means made him a hero.
Anonymous User5/22/2009 2:04 PM
He has no clue, wasted 12 caps on mujati and a few more on other players. I dont think De Villiers will do that bad in his tenure. But the coach after him is gonna suck. De Villiers received a full squad of experienced players from Jake White, but the way he is throughing new caps around is shocking and in the next 5 years after all Jake's boys have retired, there will be no more experienced players around since Peter is throughing caps around like they flyers. So good luck to springbok coach 2013
Anonymous User5/22/2009 2:01 PM
Let's us not be quick to speak, the records will tell real soon
Anonymous User5/22/2009 2:01 PM
Goddank jantjies is uit!!! nool wat daar agter rond hardloop in sirkels.
Anonymous User5/22/2009 1:57 PM
I dont support De Villiers... Because he is more concentrated on Quota than on the Springboks...
Keagan5/22/2009 1:55 PM
Now why on earth would I trust anyone who goes by the name of Anonymous???
Anonymous User5/22/2009 1:53 PM
HE WILL FAIL - TRUST ME! His luck is running out.
Anonymous User5/22/2009 1:45 PM
Losing Jantjies is a blessing in disquise - you can play a drunk monk in his place and we will do better on fullback !
Angasi5/22/2009 1:42 PM
"The Boks won nine of 13 Tests last year, but their dismal showing at home in the Tri-Nations left many fans wondering whether De Villiers was the right man for the job." All are still wondering the same thing, even the black fans like myself!!! Stupid unarticulate de villiers...
Anonymous User5/22/2009 1:31 PM
Goodluck Coach... GO BOKKE!!!
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Peter Crouch's Robot Dance

David Beckham hates the Glazers too!

2010 Final Countdown - Security

Featured Blog

250 million quid. That's what Real Madrid paid out last year to get their hands on Ronaldo, Kaka and Karim Benzema, all in the hopes of getting to the Champions League final. But it was not to be as they were dumped from the competition by Lyon. Meanwhile, at Ron's old club, a Rooney masterclass sends Man U through to the quarterfinals. REM is loving it...

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide