Lions in SA

Why Bok sweep is vital

2009-06-28 14:55
Email | Print
British & Irish Lions coach Ian McGeechan. (Gallo Inmages)

Rob Houwing - Sport24 chief writer

Pretoria – Magnanimity was in notably short supply among the British and Irish Lions brains trust as they bitterly digested the surrender of the Test series to the Springboks at Loftus.

It was partly understandable: even the most partisan South African fans will acknowledge deep down that the Lions had opportunities to be 2-0 up in the three-Test series, instead of suddenly 2-0 down and out of the reckoning with Johannesburg still to come.

The tourists threw the kitchen sink (sometimes even the granite tops, it seemed) at the Boks in the Jacaranda City … and still it wasn’t enough against the World Cup champions.

That very fact ought to have orchestrated at least a measured doffing of caps to the home side by the Lions’ coach of rightful gravitas, Ian McGeechan, and captain Paul O’Connell when they fronted up to the media on Saturday night.

But the focus, thanks to the travelling pressmen, was primarily on the Lions’ catalogue of “could have beens” and the various controversial issues from a fiery, full-blooded Test.

The baton of graciousness was picked up instead by Will Greenwood, the former England and Lions centre, who told the Sky Sports website in tribute to the Bok rearguard rampage: “It is a great team that can come back like that. The Springboks had been so under the cosh and yet stayed in the game.”

Quite so. Re-run the match in its entirety and it becomes ever more apparent that this seasoned Bok side, under its fine leader John Smit, has “BMT” in sack-loads: it was responsible for the crucial last half-hour or so of the contest being definitively bossed by the eventual winners, and this after their humiliating back-footed status in the first half.

Look at the match again and you can also see that well nigh as many Lions players flirted with over-robustness and ill-discipline as their pilloried Bok counterparts – although there is no excusing Schalk Burger’s rank foul play in the opening minute that might so easily have cost South Africa the match had they played 79 minutes with 14 men instead of only 10.

Whatever the outcome of his citing hearing (unknown as this was penned) Burger should play no part in the final Test as a team punishment for his gross stupidity. Well, no, not only as a form of censure: Heinrich Brussow richly deserves to recapture the No 6 jersey anyway after his 18 minutes of restless industry off the bench at the tail-end of the match.

The tenacious Free Stater was almost as influential as another supersub, Morne Steyn, in the amazing turnaround, and commentator Bob Skinstad was so right when he noted: “(Brussow) could steal a ball through a key hole.”

While you have to feel sorry for Ruan Pienaar, still coming to grips with the demands of flyhalf and decent in the first Test, an ice-cool Steyn did enough (um, how about clinched the series?) in a short time to warrant a maiden start against the Lions at Coca-Cola Park next weekend.

Yet it is uncertain whether logic will prevail in selection for the dead-rubber encounter: there are whispers that Bok coach Peter de Villiers, arguably more mad-professor than ever in his tetchy answers to journalists’ questions post-Loftus, will push for some “creative” picks now that the series is done and dusted.

It would be a hare-brained mistake, for there is some unfinished business for the Springboks to take care of.

The clean sweep is “on” and they must make every effort to achieve it, if only to finally subdue all northern hemisphere belief that it is the Lions, instead, who should be playing the Johannesburg finale from an unassailable position.

Despite a disturbingly buxom injury toll from Loftus that could have an important bearing on their prospects in the Big Smoke, McGeechan insists that his side will come out firing for an overdue victory in the last Test: “Just wearing a Lions jersey is motivation enough.”

Still, Smit has also fired out an encouraging missive about remaining Bok ambitions, correctly pointing out that his side “haven’t fully hit the button yet”.

The Boks simply must go for the jugular. For it is very, very hard to quibble about 3-0, isn’t it?

While a few experienced Springbok warhorses are off best levels at present – Bakkies Botha, Jean de Villiers and Adi Jacobs among them – the starting XV for Coca-Cola Park to be named on Tuesday ought to look something like this, assuming everyone is fit: Francois Steyn, JP Pietersen, Adrian Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Pierre Spies, Juan Smith, Heinrich Brussow, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, John Smit (capt), Bismarck du Plessis, Beast Mtawarira.

Not too many punters would beef, however, if a place were found in the backline for Jaque Fourie for a rather fuller game than he has had of late …

Your Comments

Anonymous User6/29/2009 2:02 PM
I suggest PDV must concider all boks who were not allowed to play againstthe Lions for their Provincial sides and who were now also left out of the Boks squad for the test series, i.e. guys like Ryan Kankovskie and Jongi Nokwe. We are already 2-0 up and should make it 3-0 with quality players like them. Give every one a run against the Lions.
GBES6/29/2009 10:31 AM
What a game gents ! It was rough & even the spectators were out of breath. The clash of bodies were a sight to see,but PdV and his SUPER BOKS won. This week PdV went from zero to Hero with his super subs. Next week we are going to run every ball at these tamed Lions, and show the British press our class.Well done Springboks.
Morne-fan6/29/2009 8:23 AM
As PDV nie vir Morne Steyn en Jaque Fourie in die BEGINSPAN kies vir Saterdag nier, moet hy maar bedank....!! PDV, ..the Boks weakest link, Good Bye..!!
slg6/29/2009 4:51 AM
Having two play-makers in the centers is plain stupid. Either Wynand Olivier or Jacques Fourie should be in the number 12 berth, Jean De Villiers and Adi Jacobs covering the play-makers number 13 birth.
Warren6/29/2009 1:03 AM
Well, the whole bloody game over here in England has turned out to be down to Schalk’s thing. In my opinion the guy could not see too much - before some people stop me, I would like to see the scars on the guys face for an indication of how rough it was...A ban will come but hope the time is fair. As for the incident affecting the game well more bleeting! To hang on to the fact that a card is key for the Lions to win! Just to think the best out of the British Isles to play one team - should be unfair, But its not! Sorry for not being too sporty, but when all you hear is negativity. Bakkies has been banned fine probably cos the guy was injured but there was plenty of no arm tackles from the Lions last game and the game before to boys don't feel too hard done by.
Anonymous User6/28/2009 10:22 PM
Agree that Heinrich Adams should get a show on the bench. I reckon he's the most under-rated player in SA, overshadowed as he is by Fourie du Preez. What a pleasure to watch him on the few occasions he gets a run... he's got a terrific pass, and seems able to angle it to the correct player at the last possible moment. Amazing.
Anonymous User6/28/2009 7:55 PM
Great comeback - 3 tries to 1 says it all Boks should have played Brussow,Steyn and Fourie from start- would like to see all with Wynand Olivier on Sat- have Kankowski on bench to come on at 60 mins - Heini Adams on bench for January who is not in shape - time to rest Jacobs and De Villiers - Brussow is our answer to Mcaw/Smith etc and is in his prime right now - this should be his time - ditto for Steyn whose game is complete. Francois is doing a great job at full back.
Anonymous User6/28/2009 7:30 PM
Watch for Earl Rose to make his test debut on Saturday since it is a dead rubber!
Dubai Bok6/28/2009 7:03 PM
Been only getting the British view on the game here in Dubai. The only good thing was that we got the South African commentary on the telly. It was "lekker" to hear our boys and I see we have learned from the Aussies with our rather biased commentary. Nothing wrong with that! Now all that is left is for the Boks to demolish those "kittens" in the final game...Go Bokke you good things!
Mark6/28/2009 6:56 PM
I think the backline made too many skip passes when we had overlaps, that just cancelled them out.
Charlie6/28/2009 6:34 PM
You people still wighn and grighn only in SA and SAns. Here i sit in Dubai and no other contry whines like you guys back home. They won for Gods sake when are you ever happy THEY WON ...Kom ek spell dit uit vir julle...Hulle het gewen reg nou hou op whine .....A win is a win until the fat lady sings and she did they won.....
Anonymous User6/28/2009 6:29 PM
rugby players must be the dumbest professional sportsmen in the world or they don't know the rules of the game they play. with all the penalties in the 2 games so far , we the spectators, have to watch a kicker take at least a minute to place the ball on a tee and then focus, aim blah dee blah, kick, that at least 15 minutes of a game where absolutely nothing happens, i wont event go into "uncontested scrums".
Ouklip6/28/2009 5:41 PM
@GeePMB - Springbok rugby has been notably clean in the past decade? Where where you when Corne Krige was noted as the dirtiest international captain. This was not the first time Schalk or Bakkies did something questionable.
pernick6/28/2009 5:29 PM
Hey Bokke - make us proud with a 3 -0 tally - but do it playing the ball and not by trying to moer the poms off the ball. Get back some real respect.
Boerseun6/28/2009 5:27 PM
BMT means Bloubulle Maar Treurig....
Wim6/28/2009 5:24 PM
Big Match Temprament...something our cricket guys need...
bongo6/28/2009 4:54 PM
BMT= big match temperament
Paul6/28/2009 4:54 PM
We normally whinge about the ref, but is he entitled to query a decision by the TV ref? After Jaque Fourie's try he almost asked the TV ref to reconsider. Surely by referring the decision upstairs he relinquishes the right to decide? I also thought that he was quite lenient towards the Lions for a Frenchman; must be because of the many Irish and Welshmen, and few Englishmen in the side.
Willa 6/28/2009 4:47 PM
15 Steyn 14 JPP 13 Fourie 12 Olivier 11 Habana 10 Steyn 9 FDP 8 Spies 7 Smith 6 Brussow 5 Matfield 4 Bakkies 3 Smit 2 Bismarck 1 Beast 16 Carstens 17 Ralepele 18 Bekker 19 Kankowski 20 de Villiers 21 Pienaar 22 Jacobs
DC6/28/2009 4:27 PM
What is "BMT"?
ono6/28/2009 4:04 PM
Why on earth would you have Ado Jacobs in? Put Wynand Olivier in for him. What about Kankowski on the bench for That idiot Burger
GeePMB6/28/2009 3:52 PM
Start with Morne at flyhalf, and put Pienaar on the bench as back-up scrum-half. Drop Adi Jacobs and have Fourie in the starting line-up. Brussow on the flank and send Schalk Burger home even before the citing commision bans him. Springbok rugby has been notably clean in the past decade and cynical tactics by Burger could have cost us the series let alone the game. Totally unacceptable. And to the Lions, give some credit to the boks for their tenacity and ability to come back seemingly from the dead. THAT"S why we are world champions.
Walt6/28/2009 3:51 PM
I agree with your selection, except for Jacobs (stand-around-and-watch) and 'Helium Head' (the mad hatter). Instead I would go for Wynand Olivier and/or Jaque Fourie. Also some coaching is needed on backline defence and a lesson in, 'how-to-pass-a-rugby-ball'; with particular focus on timing. That should amount to a rugby lesson to the Lions. At all costs keep Helium tucked away in a locked cupboard!
Gary6/28/2009 3:50 PM
You never want to see it happen, but thank goodness Danie Rossouw was injured. If it wasn't for his injury, I don't think Brussow would have got on the field. Yet again DeVilliers chose the wrong reserves and people to sub. He can't be blamed though for what has to be the most indisciplined Springbok showing of many years. The players need to take a long hard look at themselves. The match video will show all the niggle, off-the-ball stuff, knock-ons, penalties etc. We gave the ball away at every opportunity. No wonder the Lions looked so good in the first 50, as they did in the last 30 last week. We have to learn to hang onto the ball, and keep our heads. PS. After watching the game again, almost in slow-motion, the Lions are lucky they didn't get pinged a lot more by the ref.
player236/28/2009 3:48 PM
At the moment there is very little to choose between the teams but a 3-0 white wash can't be argued against. The suggested team looks good with maybe just Jacque Fourie in place off Adrian Jacobs. Pretty sure the mad prof's selections will however make it as difficult as possible for the boks to win the last one....
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Super 14 - Crusaders v Lions

Super 14 - Bulls v Hurricanes

Super 14 - Blues v Brumbies

Featured Blog

We all know that FIFA are the head honchos of the beautiful game. They set out laws that govern the sport and we are supposed to fall in line and follow. Now I agree that there must be rules in place for everyone to follow but what I don’t get, is how FIFA are currently strutting around like they own South Africa, says Mr Controversy.

Latest blogs

Bulls wake up 3/19/2010 11:44:28 PM

Steve Walsh's tattoo 3/19/2010 11:43:37 PM

IncrediBULL Character 3/19/2010 11:22:02 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your hero?

Nominate your hero and win R 10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide