Lions in SA

Criticism at Bok protest grows

2009-07-05 22:22
Email | Print
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers (File)

London - Despite reports the IRB will take action against the Springboks for wearing white armbands in the third and final Test against the touring British and Irish Lions at Coca-Cola Park in protest at Bakkies Botha's two week suspension, by Sunday evening SARU hadn't been notified of any investigation.

SARU CEO Johan Prinsloo said the players should rather have followed the correct channels in airing their grievances.

"If there's a problem, there are channels that ought to have been followed. One needs to find solutions rather than create further problems."

Meanwhile, former British and Irish Lions and Ireland hooker Keith Wood believes the Springboks' protest was unnecessary.

"I’m annoyed by it. It just looked ridiculous. Such protests should be done over something far more serious than what happened to Botha.

"He’s been unlucky in the disciplinary process to get a two-match ban and most people recognise that, but to make such a deal out of it was surprising to say the least. If you are going to protest then have something to protest over."

The Telegraph website on Sunday reported that the IRB would be investigating the Boks' action.

Your Comments

Hans7/14/2009 12:00 PM
Look at the scoreboard. We won the series and the British and Irish Lions lost. The Springboks are world champions. It is a pity that we did not win the third test as well to put the Lions properly in their place There is also a time that you must stand up for what you think is right even if that takes your focus momentarily away from winning another test or those who do not like it call you "unprofessional". Freedom of expression is guaranteed in our constitution and is to the best of my knowledge accepted in most if not all rugby plying countries, so why the big uproar about the peacefull wearing of white arm bands? I think it would have been unprofessionel if the Boks would have performed a RAKA before every match by doing a war dance of their own with words like " Oe ah aahh woe wha whaahh! Justice for all! Refs with open eyes, play the ball not the man. Ref do you know the rules. Keep you eyes open and apply justice to all. Justice for all. Bayete" Go bokke go!" or something similar.
Amanda7/7/2009 6:50 PM
I would like to know if persons like Ken even know what rugby is about?? If he did, he would know that Bakkies did nothing wrong. Where does he come from with the reference to racism?? Everything is not about race is SA!! If you read carefully all cooments are about RUGBY, the game!! I agree with Luke, proper channels do not work.
Amanda7/7/2009 6:28 PM
Ann you must have been asleep through the whole De Villiers era, they got away with much more than what happend recently!!! I agree, what happened with Bakkies was the referee's mistake, we all know that, even Keith Wood! Then surely the referee should be punished for making mistakes (how else will they learn and be more carefull the next time), especially when we all can see that he made a mistake. Did he even offer an apology?? Keith, I wonder how you would have reacted if the tables were turned. I support the BOKS 100%, great guys for sticking with your team mate!!
Ann7/7/2009 9:15 AM
Rugby, it is a beautiful game when played by rugbyplayers according to the rules. We live in an aggressive society where violence is the name of the game. Please do not take it onto the sportsfield. Any aggression should be nipped in the bud - immediately. Referees make mistakes, they are human. Players lose their cool. Then take the punishment and respect the decision (right or wrong). Oh! How I miss the gentlemen of the Dawie de Villiers era. Now THAT was rugby. Those were real men.
Ann7/7/2009 9:14 AM
Rugby, it is a beautiful game when played by rugbyplayers according to the rules. We live in an aggressive society where violence is the name of the game. Please do not take it onto the sportsfield. Any aggression should be nipped in the bud - immediately. Referees make mistakes, they are human. Players lose their cool. Then take the punishment and respect the decision (right or wrong). Oh! How I miss the gentlemen of the Dawie de Villiers era. Now THAT was rugby. Those were real men.
JS7/7/2009 9:11 AM
@ Fintonio - We are really happy for you that you are the king of spelling, but sadly you know nothing about rugby and the statistics thereof, but that is not difficult to spot, so, good for you, but rather go give an opinion on a spelling forum, buy buy.
Justice7/6/2009 11:08 PM
SARU better stand up for Bakkies and the players - Justice for Bakkies and Justice for the Boks - the SA public should also standup for this and make a noise about it
Jan7/6/2009 10:49 PM
10 out of ten for PdV and the Boks. The IRB should rather investigate the corruption regarding refereeing against South Africa! Even our South African press are too lacsadaisical to do it!
Deonic7/6/2009 10:46 PM
This past Saturday's game was very insightful from a SA point of view for several reasons: 1. We could judge the readyness of our "reserves" 2. It demonstrated clearly how important it is to focus on the game and not the side-shows. The Boks can only blame themselves for not being focused, and as a result being outplayed. 3. Some key players could rest for the tri-nations. Remember Jake White's reserve team going over to Australasia before the successful WC tournament? Not a bad move. There is more at stake than a meaningless win against the Lions. Note that this happened in one of the few matches that SA can afford to loose this year. So what is the damage. Nothing. We have the series 2-1. And the WC. And the Sevens. And the S14. The first three involved, guess who as the runners-up? Maybe now you understand the English frustration. Being second best is not cool. So let us act like the champions we are and shut up and enjoy it. This is the best run that we have had in decades. I am prepared to have a few beers on that. No amount of name-calling or arrogance is going to change the feeling inside me, the knowledge that we are no 1. Next time when somebody goes ape about ... well basically the fact that we are South Africans - Just grin. Turn the other cheek, because inside, you know that nothing will change the no 1 position. This just to air my views about the game. My response on refereeing and what goes on around it to follow soon.
Bob 7/6/2009 9:55 PM
We have only won about 3 times out of about 18 games with that ref. so odds were stacked. However a focus and a win would have put that theory to bed. Bakkies won't be around forever -- get use to it!!
Daniel7/6/2009 9:55 PM
Fintonio, you right, the lesson has endeth, 2-1. Off you go , hehe. Language wise, wonder how many spelling errors you've made in your life, probably countless, disappear.
Dok17/6/2009 9:45 PM
The time has come for the real Bok supporters, PLAYER 23, to stand up and say we support all our teams. Who needs enemies when you have administrators like SARFU who obviously is not a supporter of the Bok team! United we stand, divided we fall! Don't know why they are there as they obviously is to pap broekig to defend the SPRINGBOK team! As player 23 we need to stand up and say NO MORE! No more targeting our national teams, no more administrators not standing up for us, no more letting our players stand alone. As a Springbok supporter I support the wearing of the white arm bands. In fact, the next arm band should say TAKE THAT IRB! If we allow administrators like Johan and the IRB to walk all over the Boks and belittle them, we are nothing better then they are. SO RISE UP PLAYER 23, AND BE A TRUE BOK SUPPORTER. RISE UP PLAYER 23 AND SAY MY BLOOD IS TRULY GREEN. RISE UP, FOR OUR BOYS WOULD ASK NOTHING LESS!
IAN7/6/2009 9:45 PM
shaw suspended 2 weeks what j smit &and his teem did is unforgivable childish for world champs more like world chumps
Fintonio7/6/2009 9:02 PM
You guys are the most pathetic, hypocritical bunch of uneducated whingers in the world. I spent hours after the 2nd Test reading complete bull on this site about how the BIL supporters were sore losers and moaners - well look at you lot now! Stuart Dickinson blah blah blah, IRB is picking on us boo hoo, Lions played dirty waaaaah waaaaah. Botha was hard done by - get over it, so was Nathan Hines but you didn't see the BIL come out with some juvenile protest. And stop crying about Andrew Sheridan patting your player in the groin, it was absolutely nothing that doesn't go on in the bottom of every ruck. It was meant to antagonise not injure - I suppose you whinging saffers want every player that gives a sarcastic pat on the back or ruffle of the hair to an opponent cited? You guys are the laughing stock of world rugby. Pathetic, truly pathetic. PS And learn to spell - we didn't invent this great language so you lot could make it up as you go along - "cite" is spelt with a "c", "Keith" is spelt "ei", "ridiculous" has two "u"s and "definitely" has two "i"s. Here endeth the lesson, both in rugby and spelling!
Jan7/6/2009 8:44 PM
Watching and listening rugby since the middle sixties , the past series against the Lions stands out as the worst show of referees who could have spent their Saturday afternoons somewhere else. Off the ball insidents which were allowed reminds too much of well known All Black tactics, as well as scratching the ball by hand from loose play
Chris D7/6/2009 8:21 PM
What a bunch of crying babies in this forum. As a few said, get a live. The springboks lost because they were not good enough and that is a fact. The Lions also had their suffles and fot the most out of the game. THIS is FACT and the score shows that. For those who like to bring in color / race must also get a grip on life. Once again, look at the comments and see how wide it has be commented on every-ones poor performances [EVERY-ONE in cluding Div] [ O' yes, dont for get what old proor Jake had to go through] or for those who done well their brilliant game. The problem with critisim in South Africa become a race issue the moment reality kicks in that an indivudual or team performs bad. Take Bafana Bafana. They did poor and be honest, I never came accross people put a racial issue to it but boy, let it be rugby then the politics kicks in. Play the ball or the issue and not the person. Lekker slaap ou grote.
Andre7/6/2009 8:21 PM
I can't agree more with that guy who told selwyn et al off about racism!! I live in England and boy!! Are THEY racists!! I mean they said in todays Newspapers how disgusting they are with P de V's comments!! You know, even THEY have critisised him for bringing Ricky (out of form) onto the pitch! Stuart Barnes wrote in one of the papers here sometime ago;' If you ask a lot of Blacks in SA who Habana and Pieterson is, they will say - They are two Black Springbok wings. And if you you asked whites in SA the same question, they will say 'They are two brilliant Springbok wings!! I rest my case!
asher7/6/2009 8:01 PM
What is striking in this blog is the number of anti-bok critics that call us names: little girls, cry babies etc. Obviously that is the level of contest that they want rugby to become .. two teams that stand apart from each other and call each other names. As a Bok supporter, maybe I am a whiner, little girl, cry baby etc.. who cares .. we have done well despite international criticism, and despite Dickenson want to throw a spanner in the Springbok machine for the tri-nations .. a much more important contest among 3 countries who understand the spirit of the game. 3 cheers for the sport of Southern Rugby Union!
JS7/6/2009 2:20 PM
The Boks lost because the rev made sure we never got momentum on Saturday. He blew us up on every attack. We had a great team and should have won win quite a margin. The Boks got very frustrated and that is why Brussouw and even Spies etc got into manhandling. The Lions players stole the balls with their hand in the malls and the rev did nothing about that. Any team will get frustrated if the rev do not take control of the game and if he only punishes one team and the other team get away with murder. The Lions however looked very good on the day - all credit to them although it is not too difficult to look good if the rev help you to keep the ball out of the opponent’s hands.
ken7/6/2009 2:00 PM
bakkies,Men take punishment and do not whinge,little girls cry
Fissim7/6/2009 1:14 PM
Shame on you Boks for not pitching up on Saturday for a test match against one of the strongest sides in the world, and secondly for using Coca-Cola park as a venue to throw your toys.
bakkies7/6/2009 1:10 PM
Well done to the Boks and PdV for wearing the arm-bandS...! The Boks always get the short end of the stick from the citing-panel and other rugby judges...Bakkies Botha is a true VICTIM....useless IRB..!!
Deepee7/6/2009 12:03 PM
Silly debate - South Africa are the World Champions DESPITE what the IRB and inept officials like Stuart Dickenson throw at us. The really big concern for me is how many of you cakes can't even spell.....!!!
ken7/6/2009 11:43 AM
Guys,you seem to have forgotten that the comment is about rugby,all of you grow up and stop the racist insult thing,you are no credit to South Africa,just leave and try and find a country that does not have racism,you wont.
Johnny7/6/2009 11:10 AM
This has buggerall to do with racism. PdeV is out of his depth. During the '07 world cup Schalk was also banned for a few games.JW was able to lead his troops (mostly same players) under these conditions by keeping them focussed on the game and task ahead. Nou wat nou!
@ Vity, Selwyn, Lance7/6/2009 11:06 AM
I am so tired of hearing this colour thing. We hate Div because he is black ..... Has SA never bayed for the blood of a white coach??? Please! Jake (white)got flack in the beginning, Straueli (white)(Kamp Staaldraad!!!).Schalk is getting a reaming from the public (white). I have not seen a negative comment about a player on these forums that brings their colour into issue, yet it is many idiots out there that then say those comments are purely based on colour, and THEY are the one's bringing colour into it. The people that crit Adi and Div and Ricky, are also the same one's that praise Bryan, Beast, and Kirchner, but are 'racist' because they crit SOME black players. Get a life you twits. YOU are the one's so focused on colour that you cannot see the man anymore. No one, apart from you 'racist labellers' has ever brought colour into this. when are you going to accept the fact that we are South African's. I say that YOU are the ones that are keeping segregation and racism alive by continually feeding energy into something that is not there. I am sure that some of the comments are race based, but until you have met with each individual person and understood why they said them, you cannot label all of them as racists. the three of you are a bunch of clown bigots!!!! Please get out of this country, because your mindset is exactly what is wrong with South Africa, and we will never be harmonious with your dumb a** attitudes. The three of you will probably end up qualifying for Darwin Awards you are so thick!!!
JS7/6/2009 10:57 AM
SA players end up being the culprits in every international tournament and we never say or show that we disagree with the decisions(specifically the unfair ones) against us. I support what they did and also support the fact that PdV backed his players in this action. Many people here are very inconsistent with their criticism towards PdV. If he didn't back them they would have critisised him for that - come on guys, give him a break, at least he and the selectors chose a great team for the day.
NeilA @ Lance7/6/2009 10:28 AM
boy are you a little cry baby, your whole life is going to be consumed by your petty little issues, and that big chip on your crying little shoulder, yours has to be the most pathetic comment i have ever read on this site, the only one here with the colour issues is yourself, with you complaining about racism, yet every second comment of yours is racist, God i wish idiots like you, and theres loads of them could grow up and stop your crying
Protest Support7/6/2009 10:25 AM
Kieth Woods a knob! The Boks were protesting against the unfair treatment we always get! How is it that Bakkies gets banned for nothing, Burger gets banned for something, but Sheridan gets a handshake for punching Andries Bekker in the testicles - full view, camera. The citing commision are a bunch of bias knobs!
Jan7/6/2009 10:23 AM
I believe I'm not a rugby expert - but I love the game very much. However, nowadays our coach and some smart-ass players think that us, the supporters are low-class or just plain stupid. Perhaps they are right - we are stupid to pay the horrendously high tickets to go and watch our beloved game... Yes, perhaps we are stupid to think that they should beahve more professional... But, hey, who are we? What do we know? One thing I do know is that someone is going to be humbled...
Dean7/6/2009 10:21 AM
I believe the protest was completely fair because there actually aren't any channels anymore that give results. Bakkies had a massive injustice done to him and I disagree that there are more important issues. Rugby could suffer if citings like this continue as John Smit etc said in the past week. Sorry folks, there are very ways to get attention like this has done and I am 100% behind it. Bakkies' ban was a disgrace. The team the Springboks fielded on Saturday was almost as bad though! If I had paid R1100 for a ticket and then had to watch the Springboks play their 2nd team, I would have been seriously bleak!
Dirk7/6/2009 10:05 AM
ViTy, why don't YOU f*** off to Australia...mate...YOU are a tipical dumb-***!!! Let me tell you something...if it had been a WHITE coach saying all this s*** that P said in the media...he would have been fired loooooong ago!!!
H7/6/2009 9:57 AM
The best protest would have been a series win of 3-0!
TS7/6/2009 9:51 AM
An action like this is bringing the game into disrepute. I think South Africans like to 'strike' / protest too much. The south african rugby authorities should take responsiblity on behalf of the players.
Matt7/6/2009 9:49 AM
Its embarrassing. I agree - there is a correct way to do these things. The Boks shouldn't have been allowed to run onto the field with those armbands and it's the Bok management that should've stopped them. Pathetic.
rs7/6/2009 9:44 AM
who cares? stupid article.
Lance7/6/2009 9:40 AM
The BOKS won the test 2-1. How are you NOT happy?As for PDV Haters, the guy has a white surname, and ya'll still can't accept him. I wonder if BOKS had a white coach wearing a BLACK armband what would you "HOLIER THAN THOW" draadsitter fans have said. Typical S.A fassion - you complain about everything. No one said anything when Bafana went to the semi's. Had they fallen out in round 1 it would have been because they are black right? Oh, I can't wait for the day when the BEAST puts one foot wrong, his color will come into play because according to JOHAN he's no SAVVY as white people? Please... You racists will die with your legacy, a legacy of hatred and complaints, does it not hurt you that your kids are playing with VUYANI at school? Shame on ALL racists, what would a white coach have done better? Typical actions of white fans, apparently Rugby belongs to these sods. I really hope you get a life as soon as possible - Oh, all of the negative comments are people who'll be watching the next game, in a GREEN BOK shirt nogal. LOL - hypocrits! Hier kom die bokke, hier kom die bokke...ta ta tatatatatatata...PDIV is the MAN!
Brad Lee7/6/2009 9:39 AM
Some of you guys may be right, or wrong, in your criticism of the coach or some players. The main thing is that we remain behind our team..."MY COUNTRY! RIGHT OR WRONG!"
selwyn from george7/6/2009 9:39 AM
shows how rugby is still being overpowered by the white minorities.
Winn7/6/2009 9:37 AM
I think what the boks should do at the first tri-nations game, if Bakkies is not allowed to play yet, is toi-toi, until he is allowed to play. The All-Blacks will be laughing so much, they won't be able to play properly, and we will win. Why do South Africans have such a "poor-me" attitude ? If I heard correctly, the Lions outscored us in every department over the course of the 3 tests. Hey, I guess that means we actually LOST the series. Aw, poor us.
Dumbass7/6/2009 9:34 AM
hey ViTy YOU ARE THE RACIST HERE!!! if someone criticizes you call him racist this is typical of somebody without an education, get out and see the world my friend. As a Cape colored Peter DEV is an idiot. so ViTy call me a racist.
mallencolly7/6/2009 9:29 AM
maybe you guys should all read the press release. They were "protesting" the inconsistent application of the laws of rugby (law 10.4 if I remember correctly). Bakkies is incidental in the protest. What they are saying is that rugby cannot be a spectacle if the players will not do things as they are unsure as to how the law will be interpreted. They want the IRB to have a look at the CONSISTENCY of application.
LMJ7/6/2009 9:27 AM
The Springboks have been focussing on the game, to no avail for 15 years. We have "played them off the pitch" again and again and still receive the short end of the stick.
Tyler7/6/2009 9:25 AM
Instead of focussing on a protest, they should first have won the game. Now they'll go down as the Boks who wore a white armband in protest and lost by a record equalling score to the Lions. Nobody denies Bakkies was hard done by, but sometimes going out and getting the job done despite setbacks is bigger than going out to make a statement.
ken7/6/2009 9:22 AM
THe Lions should have left the field in protest about those STUPID arm bands
Anon7/6/2009 9:22 AM
"Maak die Bulle almal Bokke" - and when they did, they lost the match!
oistar7/6/2009 9:21 AM
Just goes to show what a bunch of girls you bok supporters are
davey7/6/2009 9:19 AM
I remember reading in these columns last week how this was a terrific side because there were no WP players,Brussouw was far better than Burger etc. As much as I dont like him,Luke Watson made Brussouw look inept in the Stormers/Cheetahs game.Brussouw is only a whiz playing against an upright loose trio.The Lions worked this out,and negated him.Burger,as reckless as he is,adds height in the line outs and is a strong scrummager. The midfield is lost without de Villiers. And Bulls and Shark fans may not like it but Duane Vermeulen should be on the bench,and take over at 7 or 8 with 30 mins to go. By the way,was Johann Muller on the field on Saturday? And Spies did nothing in 3 tests????
ken7/6/2009 9:14 AM
Anon,you obviously have a white stick you are so blind to the fact that a better team beat the boks children on Saturday
Benjamin7/6/2009 9:14 AM
Well bokke...proudly wearing the white flag of surrender on your sleeves. Are we a bunch of cry babies now...this is no way for the WORLD CHAMPIONS to behave. Ag shame, Bakkies had to sit out 2 games......get over it already. The stupidity of the off the ball stuff of Saturday could have lead to more citings and bans........play the game and get on with it.
Ignatius7/6/2009 8:55 AM
The players have the right to express their views. I support them fully. In fact I believe John Smit should have called a 99. The Lions were simply not on Southern hemispher standard. They are over-protected and allowed to play negative rugby. No wonder the game is in such a state over there. Shaw, Sheridan, o'Driscoll and co. should have received a decent hiding for how they conducted themselves. Not to mention those idiots wearing the Boer war uniforms. I assume it will be OK to go and watch a game in the UK in full Nazi SS kit?!
Will7/6/2009 8:50 AM
It is maybe a good thing that we lost on Saturday, just so that the guys can grasp the fact that you cannot always win. The Lions were by far the better team on the day, and they used their opportunities that came their way. We did not use our opportunities, but we still have the series win, and that is what really counts. It is a great preparation for the Tri - Nations, and we must just focus on that and play great rugby. Go Bokke.
theuns7/6/2009 8:50 AM
The game of rugby is going in the wrong direction. There are too many inconsistencies - different interpretations of the rules, different standards for punishing dirty play, aqnd untouchable referees. On top of it all we in South Africa have to put up with discrimination in reverse - PdV is out of his depth (only riding on the legacy of Jake W), team selections based upon colour (Ricky J, Earl Rose) and strategic mistakes (replacements during matches. Probably time to forget about rugby and focus upon other things in life.
Will7/6/2009 8:44 AM
It is maybe a good thing that we lost on Saturday, just so that the guys can grasp the fact that you cannot always win. The Lions were by far the better team on the day, and they used their opportunities that came their way. We did not use our opportunities, but we still have the series win, and that is what really counts. It is a great preparation for the Tri - Nations, and we must just focus on that and play great rugby. Go Bokke.
ViTy7/6/2009 8:38 AM
PDeV may not be the worlds greatest coach and spokes person but he does his job, stop attacking the man for not being white and get over your racist selfes!! As for the Boks, welll done on winning the series and well doen on standing up for yourselves and your team mate. Yes Saturdays match was played crap because our boys were distracted. But they were distracted for a fair reason. And is you think the Boks are so weak and the coach not being white is so bad MOVE TO AUSTRALIA!!!
Spot7/6/2009 8:37 AM
Took note of the unnecessary aggression showed by Heinrich Brussow off the ball. Twice. Maybe the Boks should focus on the game instead of ridiculous armbands. Bismarck du Plessis's discipline is also a concern.
Johnny7/6/2009 8:33 AM
What a useless lot. Wearing those armbands and then playing like amateurs, eaqualing the record losing margin. Kitch and Jake build a team on discipline. Under PdV discipline is going downhill and so will our game as well. How is it possible that so many rugby supporters supports this nonsense? Underperforming Spies pulling at jerseys, Brossuw losing his cool. Is this the future. PdV going same route as Harry V, not being able to show leadership during adverse times. Here we go......
well done7/6/2009 8:26 AM
Well done...Bokke for wearing those arm-bands,...well done...!! .stupid IRB..
Neels7/6/2009 8:25 AM
Rugby is a professional sport and the players and administrators are suppose to be professional. I must admit that our people (especially the administrators) are far from professional. It is sad that players had to go to that length to show their dismay. BUT the outcome is that we have lost a test against the touring Lions. The focus of the players was at the wrong place. We could have won the series in a whitewash! It is time that our rugby administrators give their focus to things irritating the players. It is also time the players reach maturity and use the game - rugby - to make their stance. Just think how we would have laughed at the rugby world if we won the series in a whitewash with all the injustice done.
victim7/6/2009 8:21 AM
I am glad the IRB got the messasge. ..Johan Prinsloo's channels would have been blocked any way... We always receive the short end of the stick...The Boks can wear arm-band with every game for al that I care...Bakkies Botha, like JP Nel, is definately being victimised...
chap7/6/2009 8:21 AM
does anyone know where I can get white armbands? I'd like to protest against rubbish Springbok performances, blue bulls in the backline (other than FdP!) and Stuart Dickinson.
Greg7/6/2009 8:18 AM
Schalk Burger is a rugby thug and an ongoing embarressment to South Africa. Bakkies Botha is clesely behind him. They both deserve to stay off the field. Yes - the rules must be applied fairly and consistently. But maybe the next armband should protest at the fact that we lost the final match. And - for the few South African spectators that have been able to afford the ticket price - maybe they should protest the cost of tickets that effectively has left many seats empty at all three Tests. Maybe we should also introduce the toyi toyi at the start of all games as well. De Villers (Devil Ears) must stop playing the political role and focus on winning within the rules.
What the?7/6/2009 8:14 AM
Suprised about this behaviour in a country riddled by ridiculous strikes and protest? Are you unhappy because the so called squeeky clean Boks and their coaching staff actually has such a big chip on their shoulder that they believe rugby belongs to them? It is childish and pathetic and maybe they should be banned for at least two tri-nations tests. Maybe then they will get of their pedestals. An I am a Bok Supporter, this really sucks.
DR Fil7/6/2009 8:07 AM
Well done John Smit and the rest of the Boks for protesting at the way the Boks - and SA S14 - players always get the short end of the stick in these questionable citings and bans
Met Uysh!7/6/2009 8:04 AM
The only thing the Lions should get credit for is the way they were able to finally steer the Springboks focus away from the game and onto the off field situations. Thats why the Boks lost, not focussing on the game but worrying more about being cited for playing rugby. Keith Woods got some nerve, what abuot the non-issue of Schalk touching the Bil's player face (he did NOT eye gauge) and what a fuss the British made about that? There was no injustice but they went mad as if the player lost an eye. There was once again injustice towards to SA Players and it is high time they stand up against it.
Gerry7/6/2009 8:04 AM
Let the Boks rather play rugby (that is what they are contracted for), than to protest, which distract heir concentration from the game. See the scoreboard. And please, please get a proper coach. This one belongs in a circus.
Michael7/6/2009 7:59 AM
Div should have not allowed the players to run on the field with the school boy protest arm bands. He is in charge I hope. If he supported this childish protest then he should be hauled over the coals. The Boks got whipped on Saterday as their minds were on something else and bad team slection. The crap I read about the Bok try been disallowed - hell lok at first test at 3 not given Lions tries and I see two that should have been given. So who was badly done by then. This school boy protest really has cheapened the Boks in the world eyes and many local supporters.
Chris7/6/2009 7:58 AM
If the Lion prop hadf not hurt his shoulder no siting would have been made. They spend their 80 minutes driving each other out of and over scrums. Come on guys. I feel the Boks would rather have been some other place than Ellis Park Saturday. I blame the panel for turning the process into a circus. Not the Boks for not using the correct channels.
anon7/6/2009 7:56 AM
We are always targeted, but look at some of the tackles on the Boks ! The Lions are a bunch of whingers and should send a rugby team next time - not a bloody netball team ! Only way they won the third test was by citing our hard players - the ones that scare them !! (Then they proceed to trry and intimidate the Bok youngsters on Saturday) P DEV is a chop anyway - 10 changes and then he does not think it affected the way we played !
Brett7/6/2009 7:53 AM
WELL DONE BOKS, At least you stand up for your team mates isnt that what rugby is about THE TEAM, Bakkies was victimised and u guys showed to all the a holes sitting behind desks making crap calls that there needs to be some sort of fairness to all . Why does SARFU always sit back and do bugger all when it is clear to all and sundry that the BOKKE always get the s*** end of the stick. Perfect example look at what happened with Leaukie in the super 14 we didnt even bother to get the citing in on time , Now if that was a SA player 8 weeks for sure
Zane7/6/2009 7:53 AM
I support the Boks.... this has been carrying on for too long... the boks always get the short end of the stick and as world Champions we deserve more respect and totally fair descisions.... screw Kieth Wood.. he is a has been and he is just looking for headlines (A***e) S**** the whole IRB... they are the hypocrites and the Boks suffer under their MAX Mosley kind of organisation
PDV fan7/6/2009 7:50 AM
To all you PDV haters... The player is always hated, just like Moriniho at Chelsea. Dont live in the past guys, Jakes was a boring Coach... PDV gets the results and thats what important. Remember idiots that SA won the seies 2-1 and will go on and win the Tri nations as well
Herman7/6/2009 7:48 AM
SA players keep on getting the wrong end of decisions - and Johan Prinsloo still has the gall to announce that they should have followed the "channels". If these channels existed, our players would not have been unhappy! Go make the maths Prinsloo! Our players are treated differently - compare the late tackle Bismarck was penalised for, as opposed to the late tackle Kirchner received early in the game. It is about time that somebody starts doing something - we support our Boks 100%.
PAUL BUYS7/6/2009 7:47 AM
IF THEY LOSE ,THEY ALWAYS GET SOME REASON TO GET OUR PLAYERS SITED AND SUSPENDID,IT IS TIME THAT SA RUGBY START TO PUT THIER FOOT DOWN WITH THIS . I THINK THAT THE PLAYERS IS CORRECT WITH PROTEST , NEXT A STRIKE ,TO GET RID OF THE ONE EYED REF'S ASWELL . GO BOKKE GO
Mart7/6/2009 7:46 AM
Although I sympathise with Bakkies, I agree that it was an amateurish protest that would have been more effective by thrashing the opposition. Now we look like a****. As for Stuart Dickinson, at first Div said we are happy we're getting him to ref, and now that we lost, we're not happy. WTF ? Do we only like refs if they let us win ??? We are the world champs and we must show the world we deserve the title by our behaviour on the field, irrespective of all the kak calls that went against us.
Div7/6/2009 7:45 AM
I support the Boks' action. One can basically watch any international game where the Boks are involved and you will find that the Boks are penalized for actions where as if the other team does the same, they are not penalized. All we want is similar treatment for similar actions. It is one set of laws, apply it evenhandedly across the board to all teams. If the officials and / or referees can not do it - get out of the game!!
Div7/6/2009 7:45 AM
I support the Boks' action. One can basically watch any international game where the Boks are involved and you will find that the Boks are penalized for actions where as if the other team does the same, they are not penalized. All we want is similar treatment for similar actions. It is one set of laws, apply it evenhandedly across the board to all teams. If the officials and / or referees can not do it - get out of the game!!
Andries7/6/2009 7:44 AM
Well well the game wasn't good but that much I expected .The protest was a gr8t idea for to long SA has been at the recieving end of rugby's commision to ban player's over rubbish well done it is causing the effect you wanted Boys now just stick to your guns pls
nick7/6/2009 7:40 AM
@ Alan: Uh, dumb*** - we were actually winners when we put the armbands on. I for one fully support the boks in their protest. Despite being one of the best captains in the game John Smit doesn't get anywhere near the respect form referees he should. Although we lost the match fair and square, evey time John wanted to talk to Dickenson he was sent away. But if the Lions captian wanted to, it seemed like they had enough time to have a cup of tea during the chat. To all you idiots out there calling the boks dirty, go to hell. We are knowhere as bad as teams like the all blacks or this lions touring side (The one guy punched one of our players straight in the groin!). The boks were right in their protests. Last year when the president of SARU had something to say, SANZAR threatened him with legal action. Is this what profesional sport is coming to? When grown men from democratic nations can't excersise their right to free speech?
Johan7/6/2009 7:36 AM
It is time that the rugby bosses get the message. I would love the day the players leave the field because of poor refereeing. The 3 referees (who was appointed for the games by rugby "bosses") was definitely not doing a good job of it. They were also not even trying - look at the last one where the sprinbok players had to show the ref the lion hands in the rucks - disgusting. The rugby bosses (who are in this for money) must watch out for the public protest. Do you want to end up with no spectators and thus sponsors?
JOHAN KIRSTEN7/6/2009 7:34 AM
What are the qualifications of the panel members adjudicating the citings? I see their names end with QC and SC. Any rugby qualifications?
g7/6/2009 7:32 AM
alan youre an i****. they wore the armbands during the game that they ended up losing
Charles7/6/2009 7:32 AM
The players and PDeV [ANC supporter] are now going DOWN to government level and I do not want to be associated with such rubbish. The Boks are now trained to play the man and not the ball and the only way to let them come back to earth is to not attending the Tri-Nations games. My tickets are now up for sale!!
MB7/6/2009 7:29 AM
I dont think the armbands were the only form of protest. It looked like they were also told not to clean out at any ruck. They didn't once go into a ruck hard to clean out the Lions players that were steeling our ball left, right and centre. They just stood behind the rucks and looked on. .
AndreS7/6/2009 7:23 AM
This kind of treatment has been going on for many years now and our administrators have been sitting there doing nothing about it. In any game the boks play all 50/50 calls goes against us. Zane's try on Saturday is a good example. There was no proof that he touched the line but lets just not give it to them. Its not only the players that's fed up with it. Lets see what the administrators can do now that there is a bit of a situation. Remember, we dont know what has been said about this between the players and administrators. Maybe this was the last resort the players had. I am in support of their actions. Its time to sort this out for the players and the fans.
Jeff Aucamp7/6/2009 7:21 AM
The system has always been farcial when it comes to SA players.But stop trying to wade attention away from the fact that the Lions lost the series.
???7/6/2009 7:17 AM
Seriously how in all that is holy can you put this on PDV, ??? Seriously and everyone still wants to say it's not about race. He gets attacked for every single thing, including standing up and supporting his players. You racists will never ever change.
Pierre7/6/2009 7:16 AM
I support the protest! Well done Boks for standing up for your beliefs. Just a pity (some of) you played so poorly on Saturday. The protest would have had a much greater impact had we won...
Camelthief7/6/2009 7:14 AM
protests like this cheapen the serious reasons for wearing such symbols. This is ridiculous and has lowered my opinion of the team. We don't get treated unfairly anymore than anyone else...come on do you really believe there is an international conspiracy!? Fact is we have been one of the dirtiest teams in the world and this has been improving a lot under Jake White, but now we seem to be going back to dirty play...great example for the kids.
naas m janse van rensburg7/6/2009 7:11 AM
naas:THE PROPER CHANNELS ARE BLOCKED> The Players are allways " WRONG" the referee is allways wright. DIE RUGYPUBLIEK is ook gatvol vir al die swak en eensydige beslissing net soos die spelers.DIE SOGENAAMDE RUGBYBASE moet optree anders gaan RUBYSPELERS van die speelveld loop voor die 80 minute verby is,as dit gebeur wie gaan dan wen?
onlooker7/6/2009 7:07 AM
this smacks of pdv....i find it really hard to believe that the players did this on their own....
alan7/6/2009 7:05 AM
This is what happens every time we lose. Its high time we stopped crying (why is everybody picking on me) do we really think every referee in the world has got it in for us. we have become bigger whingers than the poms.As for Bakkies he is a thug.
Chris7/6/2009 6:58 AM
This protest was important for WORLD rugby - the arbitrary manner in which the sport is policed has become laughable. Instead of whinging about the protest, ask what sequence of events might have led to players giving up on the "proper channels".
May7/6/2009 6:52 AM
And anyone who thinks that the Boks have nothing to cry about should take a look at the video right here on Sport24 "Was the ref unsighted?" Not to mention the try that was simply not awarded! It would actually be an excellent protest if the Boks refused to compete under these conditions, and simply withdrew from international rugby for a while. Our boys are role models for behaviour both on and off the field, and they deserve better treatment from all of us, not just from the IRB.
Matty7/6/2009 6:48 AM
Some cheese with that WINE Mr Wood? So far all i hear is more lions W.INING The fact that no test was played in Cape Town obviously meant that the Lions test team couldn`t get to the lovely Cape wine farms aroun CT, So i guess they`re getting in as much wining in now as possible. Chardonnay Kieth, Merlot Mr Rowntree? Of course the emerging boks gave them a taste of the great Method Cap Classique at Newlands, which was enjoyed Immensely by all..
May7/6/2009 6:46 AM
I support the Boks 100%. It's high time SAficans got behind their sides and supported them through thick and thin instead of attacking them at every opportunity. It's because of our own supporters' attitude that the IRB has been able to treat our players like dirt. And despite this, the Boks are simply the greatest. The Lions' supporters cheer and sing whether their thugs are winning or losing. They follow them round the country. Where are we? Sitting at home griping that the Boks have nothing 'important' to protest about. Go Bokke!
hans7/6/2009 6:41 AM
Victory for Vickery - Beast is least.Ek is dankbaar ek was nie een van die ploerte wat R1200 betaal het vir hiedie balletvertoning van die bokke nie.Brussouw en Bismarck moet ook mos nou "gesite"word. Hierdie hele debakel maak my naarrrrrrrrrr.
Kaapenaar7/6/2009 6:40 AM
The article quotes one bloke (Keith Wood). The title of the article paints a different story. Weird.
Mark7/6/2009 6:37 AM
What a bunch of "wallies" we SA fans Media &. players are. When we won the 07 World cup we did'nt even celebrate it. The main talkig point the next day was Jake White's book. Now we win a series against the B&I lions and the main talking points are our Mickey Mouse Coach & the banning of a player, who seems to be making a name for himself for all the wrong reasons.
martin7/6/2009 6:34 AM
its a free world.....if you're not happy about things you are allowed to show it...simple
Joey7/6/2009 6:12 AM
This is the "new" South Africa. If things don't go your way, strike & protest. It is such an embarresment.
Lions7/6/2009 6:12 AM
Suprised they found anyone in the team who could spell Justice let alone understand what it means, it was like a bunch of school kids who had be told off by the teacher and decided to right bad things about them on there text books..........Bloody idiots,you are the the laughing stock of world rugby,what next,"stickers that say "eye gauging is cool" .
Jakes7/6/2009 6:05 AM
Stupid, stupid, stupid!!!!!!!! Focus on the game, then you would have played better. Seems to me like some "laerskool" idea, where are the players/coach with the brains? Why didn't the Boks played them off the pitch and send them with the mane in the backside back home? Justice 4 all my "nose".
Maureen7/6/2009 5:56 AM
And they lost this particular test? Surely the best form of protest in sport would be to ensure a convincing win - a bit of an anti-climax to try make a statement and then lose the match. Stick to rugby. If you do the "crime", you do the "time" and life isn't fair. As for the eye gouging it is disgraceful if not criminal.
Pieter7/6/2009 5:56 AM
What a bunch of idiots. Who is responsible to protect our players against unfair hearing outcomes? Right through the Super14 we saw overseas players get away with murder while our players were severely punished after so called "sightings". Who ever is in charge from SA's side in these hearings is not doing his job and should be fired. We must look out for our own since it seems no one else is. Although Div puts his fut in hit with things he says sometimes, he supports his players. Why don't those overpaid stiffs representing us internationally get of their fat backsides and stop kissing backsides at the IRB. We don't have to take it on the chin for ever.
Rene7/6/2009 5:00 AM
I agree 100% with Luke. What about a total strike.... no supporters turn up at the rugby games.... fantastic, I would love it. Let the IRB get the message. South african players are victimized. Kiwis and Aussies get away with doing the same. And what about Stuart Dickinson.... the worst ref ever.
Eben7/6/2009 4:35 AM
This is not about Bakkies. The judiciary system is flawed, which negatively impacts the game of rugby. This is not a once off scenario either. There were very flawed decisions made during last years tri-nations tournament as well. We see it in every tournament, but somehow the judiciary system is not a real problem according to Keith Wood? Shall we not protest and just continue indefinitely with the current judiciary system, or try and change the system and therefore the game for the better.
Martin7/5/2009 11:07 PM
It seems very silly when your side is not at the receiving end.It is supposedly then also fine that players hit the opposition between the legs and get away without even a word of caution. Strange
neal7/5/2009 11:05 PM
I dont think this protest was only about Bakkies suspension, it was also against all previous injustices and enough is enough. Why do SA teams always submit to having their butts kicked when we should stand up against unfair decisions.
WARREN7/5/2009 10:57 PM
Personally i think this has been coming for some time. The treatment SA gets from the international rugby communtiy is ridiculos and has been since isolation ended. They are sared of what we can produce. Thats the real reason they want us to 'follow the proper channels' NZ andAus have done it for the entire SANZAR period. Cant believe we have let this go on for so long.
rugbyfan7/5/2009 10:54 PM
The same crud as Monty's 100th! Remember that stupid party before the game & the big hype.... & then the crappiest game of Bok rugby that was ever played by such great players!
CP7/5/2009 10:51 PM
Keith Wood can go 'lump it'! This is worth protesting! For how long now have we been going through "official" channels with no outcome? This has to do with players careers and incomes. Who in the professional/business world, after putting everything on the line, would accept a pay-cut and a tongue lashing for what you had been told to do by a superior. "Call in the unions - let's have a strike!" KW - this happens in your part of the world. "Uh...thanks for trying! But next month buddy, no salary for you, and by the way we'll do that randomly to any of your colleagues on an ongoing basis." Nice way to collect cash for the IRB. Besides who is KW to talk anyhow - he tried to take policing and intimidating into his own hands on a certain Irish tour to the Republic and got rewarded for his efforts with his butt in hand and an early exit from Ellis Park(2nd Test).
Johan7/5/2009 10:50 PM
Yeah yeah!!! South Africa, or shall i rather say PDV done it again. How stupid can one be to protest like this. This must have been a PDV initiative. You do our name as SA more bad than good. PDV, you must go!!! As you say, rather give it back to the whites, we actually got savvy. And that is not something you can brag about. Step off!!! You are a disgrace. Not Proudly SA anymore.
rugbyfan7/5/2009 10:49 PM
I would have to agree with Mr Wood. The leader of the pack (PDV) if too much of a stirrer! FOCUS ON THE GAME OF RUGBY & NOTHING ELSE.....
Luke7/5/2009 10:47 PM
Proper channels don't work!!!!! SA players are victimized. Last game saw a repeat of the Bakkies incident, just a different player. No siting that I am aware of. As a fan I support the protest. Fans are what keeps the sport alive. No fans, no money, no IRB!!!! It's time they start listening
Nick7/5/2009 10:37 PM
They should have focused on the game and if they'd done that they would have done more for SA rugby than by their silly protest - it looks as if this was one of De Villiers' silly ideas as his picture shows he was wearing the band too.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Agassi-Sampras rivalry gets ugly!

Lance Armstrong-mania hits the Argus!

South Park spoofs Tiger Woods!

Featured Blog

Brigadier says he realised a few things this weekend: the Bulls are not missing Habana one bit, structures and talent are more important than buying superstars and Cape Town fans blatant lack of rugby knowledge. He reckons consistent under-achievers the Stormers have once again impressed at the Stadium of False Hope and won't be able to sustain it...

Latest blogs

Tiger's return is just another business deal 3/17/2010 10:54:12 PM

Got a Bone to pick 3/17/2010 4:37:52 PM

Crouching Tiger, Panting Media 3/17/2010 3:23:32 PM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Blueworld

Check your mate!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide