Lions in SA

Bok decision needed on Adi

2009-06-22 13:13
Email | Print
Adi Jacobs (Gallo)

Gavin Rich

Johannesburg -  The series against the British and Irish Lions is there for the taking, but if the Springboks want to be sure of winning the second Test and then have sustained success through the rest of the season, the time has come for the coach to make a difficult decision.

It has never been a secret that Adrian Jacobs has been one of Peter de Villiers's favourite players. Jacobs played for De Villiers at the Falcons when he coached there near the start of this decade, and it was De Villiers who brought Jacobs back from obscurity last season to play Test match rugby after a gap of five years.

Jacobs delivered more for the Boks and his coach than many people anticipated last year, and when the matches did open up, he showed great line-breaking ability and was an excellent finisher. While he showed bravery on defence, however, and put in a lot of effort there, the perception that he has a weakness on defence , and is a potential weak link at the back for the Boks, has never really gone away.

Lions assistant coach Warren Gatland, when looking at the strengths and weaknesses of the Boks on the eve of the Durban Test, listed Jacobs’s defence as a potential weakness in his armoury. And this was proved to be the case at Absa Stadium, where the Lions midfield of Jamie Roberts and Brian O’Driscoll did what many suspected would happen last year but didn’t - they exposed Jacobs.

It was almost like someone was calling open gates every time the Lions ran at the Bok midfield. De Villiers has said that he looks forward to working this week on the Bok cohesion on defence, but it would be naive of him to neglect the root cause of the Bok defensive problems - which is that there are now too many players in the backline configuration who do not boast tackling as their strong suit.

It might sound like an odd thing to say on a day when Ruan Pienaar was so outstanding at flyhalf, but the first Test was a game which showed how much the Boks miss Butch James when he is not around. And while Heinrich Brussow was excellent at the breakdown, and should never have been replaced, Schalk Burger’s physical presence on cover defence was also missed.

For all his strengths, Pienaar does not like tackling. He is not like James, who used to relish the physical challenge, and who used to shy the opposition teams away from running at his channel. The Lions are able to run at Pienaar without fear, and they know they can do the same to Jacobs, as they proved when they exploited that channel for their first try in the Durban game.

Jean de Villiers is the best defender of the three, and historically he has been a good defence organiser. You got the impression in 2008 that he did a lot of defending for Jacobs. But De Villiers, who played for so long with two tremendous tacklers on either side of him in James and Jaque Fourie, is not on his own a sufficient physical threat to the opposition on defence.

To compound matters, everyone knows that Jacobs is carrying a shoulder injury at the moment that a few months ago had some medical people recommending an operation. Sooner or later Jacobs is going to have to undergo that operation, and it may not be a coincidence that it is now at least three months, the same amount of time that he has been operating under the injury cloud, since Jacobs really excelled on the field.

It would be okay to continue carrying Jacobs if there were no other centres, but Fourie can deliver the physical threat that Jacobs is incapable of bringing, and a midfield combination of Fourie and De Villiers makes more sense for the Boks moving forward.

It is going to be interesting to see how the Bok coach sees it this week when the team is selected, for if he ignores what was obvious for everyone but himself in Durban (there was widespread shock when he pulled De Villiers, and not Jacobs, from the field) it could risk the Boks losing a Test match.

And against a Lions team that was disappointingly poor in the first game that is just not a result the Boks ought to be contemplating. They are streets ahead of the Lions in just about every area - with the one notable exception of the midfield.

Your Comments

D6/23/2009 12:43 PM
Jacobs last year had a great season for the Sharks and the boks, on attack he was devastating and ran great lines, on defense, he held his own and was strong enough to no t be a problem. He has had his injury for some time now and it is impacting his ability to get the ball at pace, run or even follow up for an offload never mind how it is affecting his game defensively. For his own sake, and I hope he comes back, he needs to be rested and rehabilitated thoguht otherwise his career will be over. Spies did have a quieter than expected game,but due to the softer pitch and no possession, Spies performs his best in the hard fields of the highveld. Keep him for Loftus, he's a different player. Keep Brussow and bring in Burger for Smith for this game, we need his cover defense for Brussows fetching. Spies to run off the rucks. Pienaar played quite well for his first game back, but needs support defensively, I hate to say it but bring in Olivier for de Villiers (even after his try saving tackle) or bring him on at 13, with Fourie to replace either Olivier or de Villiers early in second half depending on performance. Steyn to come on earlier for Pienaar if the game is tight, we will need his kicking on his home turf but he wont last a full game. Save him for later. Frans didnt have a great game but leave him on at 15 and see how he does, think he also prefers altitude where his boot can get us out of trouble and down their half every time. Leave the wings, for no possession, they did ok. Fourie to possibly replace and reshuffle back 3.
Anonymous User6/23/2009 10:24 AM
Bing January in at 9, Pienaar at fullback, Adi in centre and Earl Rose in flyhalf.
Beefcake6/23/2009 7:23 AM
Uncle you are an idiot! You obviously could'nt have watched the game because Sheridan did'nt even play. You comment on Spies when you don't even know who is playing. I suppose you want Kankowski to play who gets injured in the first 10 minutes of a bok game.
Nick6/23/2009 7:01 AM
Could all the Pierre Spies knockers please go jump off a bridge or something? Please? And oh yes Shaun, nobody is picking on Adi because his coloured, its because his useless in a tackle and can only score tries if he gets handed the ball 2 cm before the trie line. Both Jaque Fourie and Wynand Olivier excelled in this years Super 14, Adi didn't. This is called a FACT. Unlike you accusation about Spies, which is called a LIE. Do you understand the difference now? So shut your racist mouth and go and jump of that bridge. Yes that's right, your a racist.
Black Dude6/22/2009 5:52 PM
Adi will stay, cant any player be afforded a bad game every now and then, ONE game then you guys just tear him off like that, yall disgust me; as if Jaque did not miss tackles on that day. Adi will shut you up!!! SIS!
Riddler6/22/2009 5:45 PM
Pieter, If you are 100% honest, Pierre Spies becomes a bit of a passenger in hard tight games. Even the most one-eyed Blue Bulls supporters, if they are honest will admit that Spies only thrives in an open, loose running gameas and disappears when you require big hits and turnovers. Pierre's missed tackle count in the Super 14 is one of the highest amongst any forwards that played more than 10 games and he generates very few turnovers. I love the guy because he's a freak of nature, but there's a lot of areas in his game that require urgent attention. I'm not writing him off, because he's 25 and has a MASSIVE future, but there's lots of hard work to be done.
Mel-X6/22/2009 5:27 PM
I'll have this team based on merit. 15. F Steyn 14. JP Peterson 13. J Fourie 12. W. Olivier 11. B Habana 10. M Steyn 9. F Du Preez 8. P Spies 7. J Smith 6. S Burger 5. V Matfield 4. B Botha 3. J Smit 2. Bismarck 1. The Beast..... Bench 16. Russow 17. Brussou 18. Steenkamp 19. JDV 20. Vermaak 21. Pienaar 22. AD this way we have from no 8 - 12 all bulls in all key positions at loftus. After all they are S14 Champs so their confidance will Chiefs the Lions. I'll use the bench as impact players as AD is a better impact player then starter the same role he use to play for the Sharks in 2007 when they got to the S14 Final. Ad if we really want to we can ad Kankowski instead of Vermaak and use Pienaar as cover for both scrum and flyhalf. Now this is what I call merit.... Transvaal Supporter
Met Uysh!6/22/2009 4:29 PM
@WYNAND LOOTS: You clearly did not see the tackle that JdV made on Monye much earlier in the match to save a try! JdV and Fourie should be in with Wynand on the bench. Jacobs should have his shoulder fixed so he can be fit again for the next tour.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 4:12 PM
Agreed Jacobs was exposed and carrying an injury & should be replaced by Jacque. The argument about Spies is rediculous when you consider the amount of posession we had! This was not an open game at all. More importantly we should use both Heinrich and Schalk and rest Juan as he is looking overplayed at the moment. Give Spies a chance and bring on Kankofski in the 2nd half!
Lefty6/22/2009 4:09 PM
Goeie artikel Gavin. Nog altyd gedink Jacobs is nie regtig op die vlak nie. My senterpaar sou egter Jaque Fourie en Wynand Olivier wees. Jean de Villiers was nog nooit 'n uitstaande verdediger nie en op sy gevaarlikste uit die gebroke spel. Laat hom rus en gee die in-vorm Olivier 'n kans. Sterkte Bokke!!!
HaHa6/22/2009 3:29 PM
Anonymous User 6/22/2009 2:39 PM... I can see why you agree with Uncle..... you think JdV and Steyn played together at centre in the world cup?... think again bru.... Steyn REPLACED JdV at inside centre!!!!!
Wynand Loots6/22/2009 3:20 PM
The best tackle on Saturday was made by Morne Steyn. He saved a try and the test for South Africa. What else must Wynand Olivier do to be in the team. Currently he and Jacques Fourie is the best centres in South Africa. I would like to challenge Pieter de Villiers on this combination. Please wake up before SA loose the series.
Walt6/22/2009 3:19 PM
Agreed! I would go Wynand Olivier, though - a veritable wrecking ball on defence and attack! I prefer Heinrick Brussow (we need a fetcher), to Sckalk (whom, I think) is a tremendous 'storm in a teacup', much noise and hullybaloo, but no substance.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 3:15 PM
Play FS at 1st centre , and King JF at outside ...how brilliant were they at the world cup . Spies is a flat track bully....looks good when the opposition is kak ...I'd play RK , a perfect wise 8th man . Would love to see Skulk play alongside Brosouw .Sharkie
Angus6/22/2009 3:05 PM
The single change of Fourie in for Jacobs will add a lot of steel into the team. The rest did well. I am not even going to respond to Uncle's rubbish. On the bench Januarie out for Cockett or Vermaak and Rossouw out for Kankowski. I would also keep Brussouw as a starter, he won a lot of ball.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 2:57 PM
watch Jacobs will be n the side again this weekend. The coach will take Jaun out the team before jacob. Jacobs is south africa's achilles heel. rather have rose the jacobs anyone but this fool. oh and FIRE PETER DE VILLIERS, useless i bet you he reads rugby coaching for dummies during the game
Ek6/22/2009 2:57 PM
Jacobs' recent lapse in defense, and may I add attack, is not so recent at all. No tries scored in the S14 is telling. Jake White showed no interest in him at all - not even on the bench. If PdV wants to defend his selection on merit, it is a clear indication of Snor's and/or Muir knowledge of back line play. Jaque Fourie or Wynand Olivier HAS to be included. Morne Steyn should replace Pienaar. Morne's defense is much better than Ruan - his try saving tackle proves that and finally, his goal kicking is also better. Morne is more used to FdP's service than Ruan. But wait, maybe Snor will surprise us and boot Jacobs, but still retain 'the numbers' by selecting Earl Rose - now would THAT not be funny?
John6/22/2009 2:56 PM
You are being kind to Adi - Gavin. Fourie has always been a better player in all aspects of centre play and should have been reinstated the minute he got back from injury. The Fourie / JDV combination is world class and are easily able to match Roberts / O'Driscoll. Given of course they are fit and firing. If PDV had watched any S14 rugby (& I doubt he did) Jacques Fourie was the best 13 in the competition. Jacobs, at very best, was average. Say it like it is "Jacobs is pals with PDV"
Pieter6/22/2009 2:55 PM
LeonB...how did Pierre Spies underperform on Saturday? - does he have to score a try every game for him to have played well?? He did the hard work on the inside - cleaning rucks, securing the ball, winning line-outs - the game just wasn't one where everyone ran around breaking tackles.... how many times did our backline or any player for that matter run with the ball in hand (I can't remember any!!!) - our 2 tries were both from setpieces and scored by forwards... Shaun Brock... all I can say is ... Black and White - nothing else matters HUH?
Anonymous User6/22/2009 2:50 PM
I'm not a big Olivier fan. He did do wellin the super 14, but I'm still not convinced he is a test level player. Fourie on the other hand is one of the highest try scorers for the green and gold. Jacobs reminds me of Paulse - he has the pace and skills, but unfortunately his size limit him. Solution to world peach (and our centre problem) So put Fourie in starting centre position, F. Steyn on fullback and Zane Kirchner on the bench. Later in the game Fourie can come off, Steyn can move to centre and Kirchner to fullback.
NIC6/22/2009 2:48 PM
There are only one nr. 13 centre in the country, being Jacques Fourie. His try scoring record, his defensive attire and ability to be present at at least 80% of contact points, speaks for itself. Apart from the above he has a rugby brain on him and is finding himself in a position where he is kept out of the starting line-up by a player with halve his abilities. Granted Adi takes a gap, but does he create one, and unfortunately his defence has been exposed his entire career!
mike6/22/2009 2:47 PM
Jaques Fourie must replace Adi, and please get rid of Habana, he has slowed down and his defence is suspect. Leave Schalk out and leave Brussow in, even John Smit surprised me. Ruan Pienaar was much to my surprise good and Spies very quiet. Go Beast!!! I hope uncle Peter De villiers will see the "light."
bloubul6/22/2009 2:41 PM
PDV is an idiot. Good article. Fourie will close the channel up..otherwise Lions will be stupid not to target that channel extensively.Wynand's defense was solid this season but I would leave him on the bench.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 2:39 PM
Gert I'm afraid that uncle does have a point Spies wasn't that good. In fact if you listened to commentry they were also wondering about the impact Spies was having...I would also use Smith at 8 and bring in Burger. The best loose forward on the day was Brussow which leaves Spies on the bench. The world cup pairing of De villiers and Steyn should be re-united and new full back bought in....Steyn didn't give one the Rock of Gibraltor feeling at the back. Steyn is defensively solid and has a fundemental understanding with De V. As for Januarie....
wizdumb6/22/2009 2:38 PM
jaques should have been the #1 choice for outside centre. only reason adi was chosen, like stated in the article, was that adi is one of the "oog appeljies" of piet snor put jaques back and we will see a far better performance from the mid-field
Jenny6/22/2009 2:37 PM
We need Wynand Olivier in the Bok side. He has the beste highlights in SA rugby since Percy retired.
HaHa6/22/2009 2:35 PM
Nice one Uncle...show your lack of rugby knowledge for all to see.... Sheridan wasn't even playing Saturday !!!! Hahhahahahahah
Johnny 6/22/2009 2:33 PM
Adi Jacobs must be dropped... Why play him when he has a shoulder problem..??? Eisshh..!!!
Clint6/22/2009 2:30 PM
I am so sick of people always attacking the coach and the staff. It usually is people whom think they understand what should happen on any given Saturday. Our Bokke is currently doing bloody well and the negatifity that keeps on surrounding Peter whether we win or lose is starting to make me sick! Blou Bul, why dont you start getting behind our squad and coaches. Why do you think its Peters problem when players that has been chosen as Springboks fail to deliver on what they are suppose to do? If your'e a Bok on or off the bence there is sertian things expected from you? The positive thing is the coach (whom is the moronic De Villiers as you so aptly described him) has admited in dropping the soap and now supporters like yourselves is more than happy to let him bend over and pick it up. For goodness sake you guys are going on like a bunch of grade 1 that didnt get the porrage they was suppose to get this morning. FACT - The bokke WON. So why dont you negative supporters do us all a favour. Go buy yourself a red Lions shirt and support the other team because it seems you are neither happy if the bokke win or lose.
Stuart6/22/2009 2:29 PM
It just goes to show how many "poepolle" write comments on these blogs. They don't read, they probably watched the soccer instead of the rugby(@uncle). If you want to write something, guys, at least make sense, and make it relevant to the above blog/article.......
P Diddyville6/22/2009 2:24 PM
Afer this weekend's game, i honestly cant see how de Villiers can still deny what seems so blatantly obvious to every one else in SA rugby. There is NO justification in having Adi on the feild while we have guys like Jaque Fourie AND Wynand Olivier at the very top of their game!
P6/22/2009 2:21 PM
Eish Uncle...lay off the green stuff hey!!!
Cliff6/22/2009 2:21 PM
Yes Jean deVilliers and Jacque Fourie are both brilliant centres, but they do lack game time due to all the injuries during the super 14. The in form centre is Wynand Olivier - good on defence and able to score tries and he would have been the man for the occasion on Saturday. The less said about Adi the better - you do not use players carrying injuries in test rugby!!
MACK6/22/2009 2:20 PM
Have Adi replaced ,he is clearly avoiding tackles ,put Olivier in ,and when will Div understand that the Boks need Morne Steyn at 10 , and Kirchner at 15.Coughing up the highball will cost you , just when you cant afford it.Francois Steyn should board a plane for France !Brussow untill Burger is healed is ok ,but only until then.I would also be in favour of Kocket and no January - he is fat ,slow ,and a liability.One could even use Fourie at 15 , but not Francois Steyn ,please !!!!!!
TheGreenMan6/22/2009 2:20 PM
@ uncle ... Mate were you watching the same game as the rest of the country? Aside from your silly comments about Spies I am not sure if you noticed that Sheridan wasn't even on the bench, let alone the field of play!
LeonB6/22/2009 2:19 PM
Pity about Jacobs having a few bad games cos when he fires he runs rings around the opponents.Jacques Fourie must surely be called on to start on Saturday to bring the fire and spark back to the center.I will no doubt be crucified for including both players in the same sentence but Luke Watson and Pierre Spies seem to play brilliant Provincial rugby but fail to carry this form through to Test rugby? Pierre Spies has everything from physicality and skills to speed and agility yet fails to make an impact on International level - any thoughts on why? He is simply too good a player to be left out but how much longer can he get away with underperforming? He must get his game up to scratch do to the damage with his pace and size. As for Beast - well .... fantastic!!!
GeePMB6/22/2009 2:19 PM
Sadly, Adi is out of form due largely to his shoulder injury, therefore on that basius, he should be sent home for an operation and rehabilitation. He is a classy player and the break will do him good. However, PDv seems hellbent on forcing his selection of certain players (read Earl Rose) to his squad. He has Wynand Olivier and Jacque Fourie in the wings, Use them they will do no worse than an injured Jacobs. Pienaar can cover at scrumhalf because his current 2nd choice scrumhalf is looking porky and played a poor game on Saturday (One miracle try in a tri-nations match does not make him a game-breaker every time he plays). Let's hope that PDv looks pragmatically at his team slections and the at mistakes he admitted too and picks a decent mid-field paring sorts out his loose forwards and doesn't bring on "fresh legs" for the sake of it!
Shaun Brock6/22/2009 2:16 PM
Here we go again... lets pick on the coloured boytjie for the lack of defence. Never mind the fact that the loose forwards in the backline missed more tackles than Adi. Pierre Spies is a disgrace. Those who believed the coughing blood story should have their heads read. The boy was on steroids which is why Jake withdrew him under the excuse of an illness. Not even 12 months after this life threatening condition, he turns out for the Bulls and no cries of ITS A MIRACLE!! THANK THE LORD.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 2:14 PM
Old Butchie...... Boy was he a ferouscious tackler.
@ uncle6/22/2009 2:09 PM
Uncle, are you high? Sheridan didn't even play. I watched the game twice this weekend, and I LOVED that Spies was not that visible.. He was in the tight game with Bakkies and Matfield. The Lions had no go-forward ball for the first 50 minutes, because Spies comitted to the rucks. No here's your challenge: Name ONE occasion when he was in the backline on attack..? Nuff said old pooper.
Shakes6/22/2009 2:08 PM
Am I lying or did JF slip 3 tackles for the short time he was on. No word of it.Unfortunately the spotlight is always on the players of colour (PDV included. Gavin your utter disregard for PDV is well scripted but do yourself a favour and analyse someone like Spies when we have real test matches (not minnow opposition). Time to pick a real 8th man, maybe Watson should be in the side (match 22 at least) and allow Spies to compete where he belongs on the wing. The afrikaner myth "groter, sterker, vinniger" is a load of crap and if it was true we would have been world beaters in the olympics.
Lennard6/22/2009 2:02 PM
We had Frans at inside centre at the World Cup. We need him there now for attack, and to bolster the defence in what is a weak channel. But this is not probable as the selection for fullback was already made. His effectiveness and creativity is needed in the backline where at the present we have none. Over and above the shocking rate of replacements on Saturday, and despite Steyns ok performance on Saturday, you can be assured the French isnt going to use him at full back. I think our original selections are still out. Everybody saw how our backs were exposed on Saturday. I hope we'll learn, and not pay for it.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 2:01 PM
Okay... I agree that we need Fourie in there.. but what about Wynand?? Did'nt he prove himself to be the best defensive centre South Africa's got during the recent S14?? If they do put Fourie in Jacobs place.. I really do hope they think it through properly and put Wynand on the bench then.. instead of Jacobs.
Pieter G6/22/2009 2:01 PM
Seeing that we have so much depth in our loose forwards, what about considering Piere Spies in the role of centre?
keith6/22/2009 1:59 PM
Bring in Olivier in place of Adi and use Jaques on the wing...replace Habana and see how it goes...I don't think it can go wrong. The backline needs line breakers...add Morne to the equation, 10, and I think you have a way better option than what is being used at the moment.
BasilT6/22/2009 1:59 PM
I am a Sharks fan and Adi is our boy. He never gives less than 100% - but it's time to realise that we cannot leave the world's best centre sitting on the bench. Jacques MUST be in the starting line up
Gert6/22/2009 1:58 PM
uncle... you've got the logic of a 5year old!!! Pierre was a bit more quiet than ussual, but that doesn't mean that he did nothing!! Go watch the game again... watch the line-outs... the cleaning at ruck time... and just listen to how many times his name was brought up by the comentators whenever he did something...Jeezzz... if I did'nt know better I could've sworn I can see the jealousy in your comment... And you know what they say about jealousy... it makes you nasty..and fat!!!
Anonymous User6/22/2009 1:52 PM
Did Mr. Spies play in the first test? Nobody even mentioned his name during the game or in the news afterwards. Wasn't he suppose to be our biggest weapon? Nr 8's are suppose to make the cross cover tackles, but I never saw Mr Spies make a tackle on Roberts/O'Driscoll...just asking
Peanut6/22/2009 1:47 PM
Based on Super 14 performance Olivier should be alongside De Villiers, Fourie on the bench and Jacobs having tea and biscuits with his gran.
Jack6/22/2009 1:47 PM
Great article, most people have been saying this since the start of the Super 14 season during which Adi was mediocre in a strong sharks side, but Jaque was great in a struggling Lions side. It's common knowledge that every coach has his favorite players; even the great Jake White had his favorites and at times was quite stubborn about admitting that some of his players weren’t on form. This undoubtedly almost cost him his job at one stage and I don't think ou Snor wants to follow that path. A lot of people have been hinting that Adi's inclusion into the starting line-up is a racial choice, which I don't think is the case or at least I hope it's not, because Adi is a quality player. The unfortunate reality is that it's starting to look that way and PDV should do what's best for Adi at this stage and that would be to show enough confidence in him to rest him and to allow him to word & earn his way back into the side. Jaque is in my opinion the best outside centre in the country at the moment and on form Wynand should rather be on the bench. We need a strong defense and when Adi's on form he's adequate, BUT out of form he's a liability!
Gavin6/22/2009 1:45 PM
Spot on I think. Even as a Sharks fan I can agree Jacobs is past it....Lots of good centres out there though. An interesting call to be made. I'm not holding my breath though, the management are are terrible.
Pierre6/22/2009 1:45 PM
Watching the game I do not agree. I am a big fan of Adrian's, I just believe the Lions have two of the best centres in world rugby. You cannot tackle what you can't catch, and to be honest I think Jacques will not be a miracle cure her. I agree rather that the defensive structure need to be reveiwed we are between "rush and waiting for them" defence which is dangerous.
Anonymous User6/22/2009 1:43 PM
Jacques Fourie is the best man for the job, he has definately outperformed a struggling Jacobs this year, trust that Peter Helium will get it right for Saturdays match, learn from your mistakes or be eaten by the Lions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
MikeH6/22/2009 1:40 PM
The position of a replacement for Jacobs is obvious.Wynand Olivier. How he was left out in the first place defies logic
uncle6/22/2009 1:38 PM
Why has there been nothing constructive said around the non-entity known as Pierre Spies? The man has absolutely no claim to the no8 jersey. He was never in the game on Saturday and I think the only time he was in a ruck was when he tripped over Botha and got fallen on by Sheridan. I I know it would be silly to leave out Schalk, so why not move him or Juan Smith to no8? At least they can actually play rugby. I know the legions of Bull fans would never agree, but if they opened their eyes and looked past their stomachs they wouldn't be so quick to defend the bodybuilder.
Blou Bul6/22/2009 1:33 PM
Yes we can debate the selection process at lenght and whether or not players should or should'nt have gone for operations...the biggest problem on Saturday were the three dafts who call themselves coaches who should have been admitted for emergency brain surgeory!
Anonymous User6/22/2009 1:32 PM
Jacobs showed on saturday that his defence is not up to scratch. We need Jaques Fourie in the team to tighten up the midfield defence and take the series on saturday.
MAC6/22/2009 1:30 PM
Agreed. Jacobs surprised all of in 2008 and made a lot of detractors eat their words, but against the likes of Roberts and O'Driscoll you need strong defenders. Hell, put Bakkies in second centre.
Your Name
Email
Comment

Please enter the text below:

Super 14 - Stormers v Cheetahs

Super 14 - Highlanders v Sharks

Super 14 - Crusaders v Lions

Featured Blog

Well what we saw on a fine Friday night at Fort Loftus was the pure class of a championship team led by an amazing captain, says Brigadier

Latest blogs

Some know ......some don't 3/21/2010 6:57:58 PM

The 6 Nation, Nation-by-Nation Round-Up 3/21/2010 2:49:50 PM

Commentators 3/21/2010 11:27:50 AM

Vote

What will be your lasting memory of the 2009 British and Irish Lions' tour of South Africa?

Who is your hero?

Nominate your hero and win R 10 000!

RSS Feeds

RSS Feeds Sport news delivered really simply.

Mobile

Mobile Sport24 on your mobile phone - WAP, alerts, downloads, services

Free Email

Free Email Get a free 24.com e-mail account and stay in touch

Blogs

Blogs Yes your opinion counts. Get it out there

TV

TV schedule Plan your couch time with our searchable sport TV guide